We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SOL PELICANO...”
Review of Hotel Pelicano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pelicano
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Aylmer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SOL PELICANO...”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My wife and I traveled to Sol Pelicano from April 2nd to April 16th 2011. As I was reading various comments about this place, I just wanted to rectify some stuff. yes the A/C was not working in the rooms for the first week but the overall resort was pretty good. The staff is wonderfull and so polite. They are ready to help you, please you and they are so great and always with a smile. Juny, Jesus, Bella, Mike, Victor, Giovanny, Anita, Kico (Roberto) and his dog Lola,Isabelle, and I'm missing some, they are all FANTASTIC! The resort needs a bit of refreshing and they will do so I'm sure. The beach in Cayo Largo is the best and the people are the best.

Great food for a 31/2-4 star hotel. We've been to Cuba more than once and that place is great and very relaxing.

There will be always people negative and not happy. If it's the case, well, I'm sure that everything was not so negative....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dakota05Aylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    1,185
    416
    114
    62
See reviews for
601
1,491
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Having read numerous positive reviews, my wife and I booked the Pelicano back in January for our second visit to the simply stunning Cayo Largo but our first to the Pelicano. This was our sixth visit to Cuba and for us our expectations are quite realistic regarding food, service and accommodation. We always email the hotel a week before our arrival and make our room request. We have always been given what we asked for. We were very excited. We didn't hear back from the hotel, which was a bit puzzling as we have always had very cordial and timely responses in the past. However they did eventually respond, after we had already been there 3 days.

Three days before our departure we started seeing quite alarming reports of no air conditioning, water problems, staff issues. Needless to say we were quite concerned. We immediately emailed the hotel, the tour operator (Holasun) and our travel agent to see what our options were. Our agent relayed our concerns to the hotel, we were given the option of switching to the Playa Blanca (which we stayed at our first time), but decided to take our chances and stick to the original plan.

When we arrived at 11am our room wasn't ready, we had a quick snack at the pool and our room was ready at 1pm. Nervous time...

Room 4213 on the south east side of the resort turned out to be fantastic for us. We were so relieved to find a very cute, very cool and very clean room, right near the beach. The AC worked perfectly, we had hot water and always had one or two bottles of water every day. Our maid was friendly and very conscientious... we left our safe open one day and she was very concerned, she waited for us to return so that we could check that all of our valuables and cash were still in place, which they were. She earned a generous tip.

The stuff that wasn't great we are usually willing to overlook but we do take notes. Mattress was hard and lumpy. Towels and sheets old and worn out. Water was usually shut off in the very early a.m. Buffet was not the best for selection, but as usual with Cuban hotel food, we didn't starve. The Ranchon a la cart was basically uninspired buffet food. The staff and service were mostly just adequate and ranged from mildly indifferent to downright aloof... unusual from our past experiences at other hotels in Cuba. One day at lunch at the pool our waiter took our order and then... promptly forgot about us, we waited 20 minutes and then headed to the buffet... HO-LA! Maybe moral is low as they are closing until October.

The stuff that was great: We had a fabulous meal at the La Yana a la carte. The pool is awesome. The gardens and landscaping were lovely. The cappuccino were fantastic. Contrary to other reports the hotel was very clean. The beach was spectacular. We always got loungers in the morning and if we couldn't get a palapa, a beach umbrella was always provided. Our weather was perfect!

Cayo Largo is our favourite beach destination and we will return next year. We would return to the Pelicano, but will watch the reviews closely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed in the resort first week of April. It was terrible experience.
We are living in Toronto and usually going Caribbean couple times per year - Cuba, Mexico, Dominican, Jamaica. This resort was the worst we visited for many reasons.
1. Rooms
- Rooms are old and clearly need renovations
- The air-conditioning was NOT working all the time we spent there
- Only one bottle of water per day
2. Food
- Repetitive food all the times
- Only a few fresh items: meat, cucumbers, bred, 2-3 kind of fruits
- No fresh salad, no fresh vegetables, no variety of cheese
3. Restaurants
- Buffet - very basic food, not very clean
- Food at the buffet not very appealing and not always fresh
- Breakfast was exactly the same every day
- Very hard to make a reservation for a la carte
- Pizza restaurant - we had some stomachache after eating pizza
- The waiters like some guests better than others. They reserve tables for some guests and serve them a lot better then others
4. Bars and drinks
- Long line up for drinks in the bar at night (only one bar is working after 10 pm)
- Only red and white cheap Spanish wines
5. Animation team
- Animation staff during the day were almost non-existent
6. Tips
- We tipped at least a CUC with each meal and trip to the bar. You pressed to do it or no service at all.
7. Beach
- It is the best beaches we saw
- Umbrellas on the beach were always taken - not enough and not easy to find it after 9 am

We wouldn't go back to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank murzik123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, General Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for to have chosen our hotel to your vacations and we are truly really sorry because we don`t have fulfill your expectations; we apologize for every situation happened not according with it.
We have read carefully your comments and we are still working for to solve all that you have mentioned as possible.
It would be a privilege to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. In that case we beg you to contact us directly to give you special attentions and it will be a commitment to fix last experience in our hotel.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Fabrizio Testoni
Sol Pelicano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We also were at Sol Pelicano for one week, April 1-8th and had no air conditioning for the entire week. The staff kept saying tomorrow and our Rep told us too that it was the whole island. Which it was not as we went to Playa Blanca to have a look at their rooms, which had air conditioning. When asked to be changed our Rep told us that was not possible.
We have been to this hotel twice before and love it there. The staff is great usually and the island and beach is terrific. We don't mind the tired rooms as we love the beach! Our days were wonderful but the nights were absolutely dreadful. Also had to leave the windows and doors open and was eaten alive.
Very disappointed with the Rep's attitude with our issue.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlejeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, General Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear guest,
We are pleased because your preference for our hotel, that is the reason we regret much more that your stay have coincided during an unfortunately situation with air conditioning system which it have been solved already.
We hope that we could have another opportunity to compensate this bad memory and we will be at your total disposal if you would like to visit us in the future.
Regards,
Genaral Manager
Fabrizio Testoni
Sol Pelicano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

If you haven't left yet, you may want to reconsider....the Sol Pelicano has no air conditioning and this is a very hot spring. It was very uncomfortable for sleeping since leaving the windows open also meant getting bitten by the mosquitos. If you can't tolerate 24 hours a day of heat....look elsewhere. The resort itself is very nice and very naturally - beaches are gorgeous and the people are wonderful. We'll consider going there again but only if the repairs are done. We felt cheated by our tour provider since we paid for a room with air conditioning....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lise_from_Barrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, General Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear guest,
We are deeply sorry because at the same time during your vacations we suddenly had this unfortunately situation with air conditioning which we have fix already.
If you decide to come back some days forward we will be at your disposal to attend any request and attentions for a very nice stay.
Best regards,
General Manager
Fabrizio Testoni
Sol Pelicano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Just got back from a week in hell at this hotel. No air-conditioning in the entire complex and a 40 degree humidex all week. Couldn't sleep or breathe in the room. Complained to the hotel staff all week to no avail. The hotel staff lied to us continually, promising to fix the A/C problem, move us to another hotel etc. and never did. We were given the run around and told to come back and forth to the office and wait for invisible repairmen in our room until the trip was over. We were told by our Nolitours rep that the entire island was without A/C and this was a lie as we spoke to friends at other hotels who had ice cold A/C all week. Had to sleep with the windows open and we got eaten alive. No breeze, just dead and humid air. Slept 1-2 hours a night X 7days. This hotel lied to every couple we spoke with. The A/C was down a week before we arrived.

The water was turned off continually throughout our stay. We washed our hands with bottled water we bought from the store there frequently. When the water did work it was cold. Then there was the cockroaches greeting you at your door, constant bodily fluid stained towels and sheets, a toilet that could hardly flush. Good luck getting a drink from the only open bar in the evening, the lobby bar, with 2 employees and a couple hundred thirsty people. We had to buy our own drinks from the store. You could wait in line and sweat for 30 minutes for a tiny glass of beer after being ignored by the staff do to regulars being given priority if you wish, but why? I could go on but just thinking about this place makes me ill. This resort had it's day and it's now a dump. It appears they are squeezing every last dime out of us hard working travellers looking for a reasonable vacation before they shut it down. If suffering and risking serious illness or worse is your idea of a vacation than this may be the place for you. Learn from our mistake and STAY AWAY FROM THIS DUMP!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nutnbutthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, General Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear guest,
We sincerely would like to apologize about the inconvenient during your stay in Sol Pelicano. It is good to know your impressions because our job will be lead to offer the best service as possible.
We hope to see you again and it will be a pleasure to organize nice attentions in order to compensate the nuisances on your last visit.
Best regards,
General Manager
Fabrizio Testoni
Sol Pelicano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

The good...

Cayo Largo is still an exceptional spot
The hotel is very well located and small enough that you do not feel in a huge tourist machine
The staff is still wonderful and friendly and make you feel at thome
The rooms although simples, are clean and tidy.

The BAD
- The place is aging fast and badly. Need more thant just a pain job. From the building to the boardwalks there are cracks, missing elements etc.
- Sleep quality: Beds, bedspreads, and pillows are and tired. and smelly (maybe the humidity because the AC was not working)
- The airconditioning was NOT working for 6 out of the 7 nights we spent there. I was told by the hotel staff that it was a repeating problem and they could do nothing about it but hope... NOT FUN in +30 weather.
- The restaurant is cutting cost, No more theme nights. No more rose wine, other wines have been replaced by cheapo spanish wine

Overall from visiting the other complex in the same price range. We would do better at the neighbouring hotels now.

Room Tip: SOL MAS frequent guest program
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixiematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
0.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,302 reviews
174.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,349 reviews
175.2 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
112.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
361.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,524 reviews
175.0 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelicano

Property: Hotel Pelicano
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pelicano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star Resort with 307 rooms. Its comfortable accommodations offer guests the chance to enjoy a peaceful and calm vacation. The property faces 600 meters of beach, famous for its perennially cool white-sand. Fun-packed recreation programs for both children and adults. Recommended for families.Guest Rooms307 rooms: 259 Standard, 36 Standard Ocean View, 12 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 2 Cafeterias, 2 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Pelicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicano Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing