We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice.”
Review of Hotel Pelicano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pelicano
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice.”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I jumped at the chance to go to Cayo Largo in late January 2011, having read up on the island's attributes some months in advance. At Cayo Largo a vacationer has most of the advantages of a Varadero trip, with few of the Varadero drawbacks (i.e. loud party activity interfering with a good night's rest). The travel agency had an unbelievably low price if I booked on this one 6AM departure. (Hint to airlines: passengers would be less cranky if the departure on flights like this were a little more reasonable in the hour.)
My primary goal was to see at least one fish, underwater, each day of this getaway, and I succeeded, first at Sol Pelicano's beach the day of my arrival, and subsequently at Playa Sirena and on two catamaran reef excursions that I indulged in.
I was shifted over to the Sol Cayo Largo 3 days into the trip, to help out the Pelicano with an incoming group who wanted to book a block of side-by side suites. There is a big difference between the two lobby bars: in Sol Pelicano the lobby bar is generally deserted, and is really just a passageway to the pizza restaurant. However the El Cavito lobby bar at Sol Cayo Largo is the social center of the complex, especially in cocktail hour where many of us are waiting for the buffet to open. The bartender there knows how to mix a proper drink (definitely a rarity at most Cuban and Dominican all-inclusive resorts!)
One advantage of Sol Pelicano is that all suites have several 110vAC outlets and are clearly labeled as such, so keeping laptop and Ipod charged up is easy; Sol Cayo Largo is an older complex with only 220v service, so you'll need to bring a voltage convertor.
I only took the free beach shuttle once: it has negligible suspension, and the seats are just hard wooden benches which are injurious to humans when going over that road, which is more pot-holes than surface material. The taxis, one the other hand, had comfy seats and air conditioning, and only cost 2 pesos, so I took them and was free from the tyranny of the hotel shuttle's rigid schedule, which forces you to miss lunch at the hotel buffet.
On Cayo Largo they don't believe in clocks; there's an old historical timepiece on the wall in Sol Cayo Largo and it is stuck at 10:08. Perhaps a memorial to Hurricane Michelle in 2001?
But Cayo Largo is the best of all worlds. I would go back in a moment.

Room Tip: Cuban Hotel has 110v outlets in the room!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank studentjohn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    1,185
    416
    114
    62
See reviews for
601
1,491
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Sol Pelicano was incredible! Wonderful staff (I really can't say enough about them), clean rooms, great food, unbelievably beautiful beaches, and crystal clear water. This was the perfect place to kick back, relax and soak up the sun.

This was our first visit to Cuba and we'd definately go back to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTownTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, General Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
Dear Mrs,
We are glad to have reached our main objective: excellent vacations and relax.
It would be great to see you again in Cayo Largo to enjoy with you family our unique Caribbean beaches and sun.
Sincerely,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Sol Pelicano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Cayo Largo is a potected nature reserve, a remote sandbar 20+ km long. Very little land is developed, the airport is 10 minutes from any of the hotels. There is one road on the island. Cayo Largo is nothing like the mainland of Cuba, and you will need to fly to get to the mainland (alternative is a 4 hour boat ride). You will not find everyday cuban people living on Cayo Largo, no farmers, no artists, no entrepreneurs plying their trade on the beach. It is an exclusive resort island, with mainly two types of people there: hotel employees, and hotel guests. If this island were in Bahamas, it would cost $80 for a tomato. But it's in Cuba, and they barely raise prices as compared to the mainland. Costs for services and excursions are very reasonable. If you like nature, this is your paradise. If you prefer the hustle of Cancun, this is your nightmare.

Sol Melia owns at least 3 of the hotels on the island. Very cool because you can eat at any of their resorts as though you were a guest of all of them. Sol Pelicano is the oldest, but it is modern and survived the 2001 hurricane. It was packed full to capacity (week before March break) and fully staffed. Some overbooked guests were transferred to the emptier Sol Club Cayo Largo. The biggest multi-resort dance party of the week was a mix of employees and guests, all walks of life, maybe 100 people tops.

The food was limited by what was shipped to the island. The food quality was world-class, in that everything tasted like it came from organic free range farms (that is how Cuban farmers operate). The lack of simple additives like food colouring can scare away 1st worlders from something as simple as fruit punch (brownish-green). My one caution about Sol Pelicano is to vegetarians: Sol Pelicano's kitchen has nothing for you. Nothing at at all. There is chicken in the black bean salad, lard in the rice, potatoes are cooked in rendered bacon fat, a cheese sandwich will be delivered with ham unless you speak at least rudimentary spanish. The more modern Gran Caribe Playa Blanca kitchen did understand vegetarianism, and had a good selection of veggie-only dishes at each meal, given an identical supply of ingredients.

The staff had an approach to work in keeping with a small-town feeling. The 1st world dining experience does not transfer easily. The wait staff will help with requests, but do not appear as though by magic when your drink is empty. The trip to Cayo Largo was the first time I have ever seen evidence of Cuban affluence in the working class. The wait staff is not going to be bowled over by a 1 peso tip, as can happen on the Cuban mainland.

Beach-based snorkeling is very good, but there is no coral immediately in front of Sol Pelicano. The reef is close to surface and shore about 300 m east of Sol Pelicano, at the next hotel over with the flagpoles. From the beach, you can see reef structures about 75 m offshore. If you don't know what to look for, you can meet a guide at 2 pm at the activities hut and he will charge $5 to swim with you to the coral.

The single road on the island terminates on the West at the Marina town with the employee residences. The road terminates on the East at the island dump. This dump is the only immediate improvement that needs to be made on the island. There is a recycling facility, but it appears to service mainly cardboard/paper. The dump is a burning pile of melted plastic beer cups and rusted kitchen cans, with sizzling food waste throughout. The island birds seem to be attracted to the smell of open bbq and the toxic smoke can't be good for them. The dump really is an eyesore.

To the hotel management: we will recycle. We are used to separating plastic, paper, and metal. We even do it at McDonald's. Please bring some of the educated farmers from the mainland to deal with the organic waste, and turn the dump into a properly composted garden on the Eastern side of the Cayo Largo development. A garden will be almost costless, and it will attract more eco-tourists. The island needs more soil nutrients, and the food waste is a good source for it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DefiningSound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 22, 2011

My family and I just returned from spending a week at the Sol Pelicano. One word to describe our experience, AMAZING! We has two ocean view standard rooms that we spacious enough for two, clean and in good shape. The room service was excellent. The grounds are in good shape although you still can see signs of the devastation from the last hurricane. The beach was beautiful with fine white sand that still felt cool to your feet even in the mid-afternoon sun..

The service was excellent and the staff was very nice, extremely helpful and always with a smile. Vey friendly and approachable. The found was standard. A good choice of Cuban style meets, fish, rice and vegetables. With a great number of Italians present, the pasta bar was popular and suprisely good. The fruits were fresh and a good varity was always available. One does not expect Club Med quality.

For sure we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, General Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
Dear Client,
We are very pleased to know that you have spent a nice stay at Sol Pelicano hotel.
The personnel in contact will be grateful in knowing your positive impressions.
It would be a pleasure to have you back in our hotel or in other one of Sol Melia Cuba chain.
Regards,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Sol Pelicano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is the perfect place to relax and leave time behind...This was our first trip to Sol Pelicano in Cayo Largo for myself, my husband and my daughter. We didn't know what to expect and it was just as well because we were left in AWE with this island. For those who are expecting the moon and the stars well I can guarantee you will get it here! The natural beauty, calmness, and serenity are left to be desired for this is a jewel among the priceless. The people are humble yet friendly. Smiles are exchanged endlessly. We were treated as well as anyone could pretend. The staff with its animators, bartenders, pizza maker, waiters, chamber maids, and lobby staff were always ready to please. Yes the "fruit" might have been lacking however the choices weren't (after all it it winter for them). These humble yet educated people did the BEST they could with what they had. Again if you are looking for the "big city" stay away and don't destroy this natural wonder - CAYO LARGO. My family WILL go back we LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

the trip was Fantastic and the food was better than expected when things were available,
this was our first trip to cuba in 19years so we did not expect this...pool, resturants,all good the beaches were good and the snorkling fantastic. Not alot to do outside resort, unless you went on excurions, but that is anywhere you go very traquil people and service were very good we will go back in the future. 4stars for sure

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIGGS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, General Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
Dear Sr,
Thank you for let us know your comments about our services in general at the hotel besides about Cayo Largo.
We are lucky to have friends like you who become family of Sol Pelicano`s hotel and its staff who makes possible all the good things during your stay.
Best regards,
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Sol Pelicano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed at the Sol Pelicano from March 4-11, 2011. Had never been to Cuba before. Read and browsed a ton before going and picked the Sol Pelicano based on what I read. Wasn't disappointed. Was 5 minutes from the airport. The resort was fine. Had a lot of activities. Horseback riding is cheap, only 6 CUCs for an hour. Food at the resort was actually pretty decent for Cuba. I've got a sensitive stomach and I was absolutely fine. Only food criticism: stay away from anything beef as it was awful. Fish, chicken or grilled pork are ok. Best drinks and grilled chicken were at the beach grill and bar. Buffet restaurant pancakes were a favourite of mine, too. They went fast. Buffet's pasta bar was popular and you had to stand in line and wait.
Room specifics: I had a standard ground floor room in block 5600 (which is west of the lobby). It's a quieter area, you won't get disturbed by any bar patrons, or pounding music and antics from the evening show. Air conditioning wasn't the best but I could live with it. Depending on your room orientation, if doors face north and south you can open the patio and room door around 7/7:30 a.m. to catch the cool morning breeze and air out the room.
If all you want is beach and sun and don't care about anything else, Cayo Largo is fine. If you want to do excursions, arrange them ahead of time or as soon as you arrive. Don't wait as you may not get anything. Reserve your beach lounger early in the a.m. or you may not get the spot you want. While I was there, beach got a strong westerly wind and I think more people preferred the sheltered pool area. Pool is salt water, not heated. No drink service on the beach, you have to get your own.
Take the free train car trip to other beaches, Playa Paraiso and Playa Sirenas, it's worth it. Playa Paraiso has only a few loungers, so you need to bring a towel. Can rent a moped to get there. Also fine to take the taxis (either taxi minivans or taxi buses) as they go by pretty frequently on the dirt road and only cost 2 CUCs a ride one way. Playa Sirenas is the better beach option: has more loungers, has a bar and restaurant + bathrooms where you pay for toilet paper, bigger beach volleyball area, and you can swim with dolphins (90 CUCs).
Or, go to the village/marina. There's a turtle sanctuary where for 1 CUC they'll explain what they're doing and you can hold a turtle. If you go in April and talk to your tour rep in advance, you can arrange to be a volunteer to help gather turtle eggs on local beaches. That's really worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solpelicano, General Manager at Hotel Pelicano, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
Dear Ms,
Thank you for to have chosen our Sol Pelicano hotel for your vacations in Cayo Largo and also for your helpful the explanations in order to advise travellers.
We would like to welcome you back soon or in other hotel of Sol Melia Cuba.
Best regards
Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Sol Pelicano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
0.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
174.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,344 reviews
175.2 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
112.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
361.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,521 reviews
175.0 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelicano

Property: Hotel Pelicano
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pelicano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star Resort with 307 rooms. Its comfortable accommodations offer guests the chance to enjoy a peaceful and calm vacation. The property faces 600 meters of beach, famous for its perennially cool white-sand. Fun-packed recreation programs for both children and adults. Recommended for families.Guest Rooms307 rooms: 259 Standard, 36 Standard Ocean View, 12 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 2 Cafeterias, 2 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Pelicano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicano Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing