We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Beutiful - Highly recommend”
Review of Sol Cayo Largo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Cayo Largo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly Beutiful - Highly recommend”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The rooms are a bit dated and beds not comfy at all, but this resort makes up for it with excellent, freindly staff, very clean facilities pool and eating. The beach is lovley and the staff is so frendly they make you feel very at home. The food is pretty good at the snack bar and buffet. The second pool was being redone while we were they - but it looked amazing. There are lots of cats and kittens around - which I enjoyed and they were all freindly but not too bothersome at the buffet. The ping pong table and activeties were pretty good. They could work on more advertising of activities. The island is great and the main beach away from the hotel is definatly where its at. If you have to choose between here and Varadero - definetly pick here if your looking for a relaxing nice time at the beach.

Room Tip: Our only regret is that we did not ask for an ocean room- Its probably worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanaJurgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Clients
We are thankful for been chosen for you to enjoy your vacations in our Hotel .
About the presence of cats and uncomfortable mattress,be sure we are managing the solution soon.Also we will let know to the staff your positive comments about their good job.
It will be a great pleasure to receive you once again and that you can enjoy the attractions of the island and virgin beaches like no others in Cuba.

At your disposal
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,495
    1,728
    730
    256
    121
See reviews for
629
2,567
212
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I Just came back on May 24th from this resort SOL CAYO LARGO,
The site and the beach in front are beautiful , also Playa Paraiso and Sirenas.
The hotel is not new but many effort are done to keep it very clean and nice.
The food and beverage is good for the ressource of the island, but more taste and spices may help. The service is very good and the people working on this place are so nice, they are the best point of this hotel.
The room we received was spacious, bright color, very clean and bathroom was perfect, air conditionning was doing very well the job.

The bemol is on the night entertainement, it is calm, more music and light around the pergola can be a good idea before the night show of 22h00.

The a la carte restaurants are doing well to offer quality and the F&B MANAGER at that time PACO is very present on supervising all that.

The repeat business of this hotel is hight and the customers are all mixed, but more adults.
If you go with a baby to rest and enjoy you will be treat like a princess...

I Highly recommending this hotel.

GINETTE

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 951ginetteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Ginette:,

Thank you for to have chosen our hotel to spend your vacations, besides for to recommend our hotel and destination. We are pleased to know we have reached your expectations and hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englehart, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ten minutes from the airport. Our room was in the 1500's, centrally located near everthing as we requested, but we could still see the ocean from our balcony. I would have rated this resort higher if the pools had been repaired when we were there.

Our 9 month old got sick two days before we returned home and was treated at the clinic in the small town. The doctor was very nice and offered to come to the resort anytime during the night it he got any worse.

All the staff at the resort were wonderful. Especially Anibal Hernandez Caminas. This gentelman was able to get our little guy to laugh as sick as he was everytime he came by. Get a massage if you get a chance it is well worth it.

Yes I would return to this resort after the pools are repaired.

We did not get a chance to try the a-la-cartes but the buffet was good.

Our only complaint was the exchange rate for Canadian money at the hotel was $10 on the $100. We went to the bank in the small village and it was $3 on the $100.

Room Tip: 1500's if you want to be near everything and not much walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kittyminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Clients
We are thankful for been chosen to enjoy your vacations in our Hotel .About rooms and pool we are working hard in order to completion of repairs as soon as possible.
In relation to the exchange of money, always the hotel price is higher than banc considering it is a facility that offers guests without transportation to the city, available 24 hours, also taking account that the hotel incurs expenses for custody, security and money management.
Thank for your kind words about our staff, it will be a great pleasure for us to receive you once again.

Best Regards
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

As someone who has spent over 9 months in total in Cayo Largo since '98 I can say that we still love it. It is a quiet more mature adult kind of place with a wonderful staff, great beach and soothing ambiance. It is more lively near the pool, which by the way is undergoing repairs so if you are a pool person now is not the right time to visit as the one that had the swim up bar is bare cement and empty and the second has a ripped liner but is still in use. There is another pool that is for the fish and therefor not chlorinated.

The rooms are simple and functional, all the balcony hammocks are gone and the towels are worn and a few have stains but they are clean. This will no doubt be rectified when they upgrade to a Melia in the near future.

I would say the food is not as good as some years in the past. We had no salad greens for weeks but made do with cabbage. They were also nearly always out of ice cream. Small things. But one of the changes I did not like was the quality of the included wine has gone down now that one can purchase better wine by the bottle..... However the wine in Las Trinas was fine.

Cayo Largo has many many repeat guests that come for the quiet, the beach, and the ability to beachwalk for miles. If you want gourmet food, great shows or wish to meet the locals on their own turf this is not the place for you. (a one day excursion to Havana was $199 per person).

But for us it is a wonderful place with exceptionally friendly staff and friendly guests from many diff. countries. I would commend the manager on his staff. They always make out stay a happy one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fishingforinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear clients:
We really appreciate your opinion that you have published on Trip Advisor. It is important to know your experiences to improve our work and services.We are managing the solutions and we give you our apologies about the quality wine ,variety of meals as to the disrepair of towels.
Thank for your kind words about our staff ,your loyalty and we are grateful to welcome back.

Best Regards
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My teenaged daughter & I just returned from Sol Cayo Largo. Best way to sum it up is be sure you know exactly what you want from your vacation. Rooms are adequate, food is average - fair and part of the pool during our visit was under construction. If you desire luxury, pampering, and high class service do not stay at Sol. We experienced wonderful service by almost all staff. They are willing to make the most of what they are able to offer. Book your a la cartes early as both meals were superior to the buffet offerings. Snack bar is open and prepares sandwiches, fries burgers, salads, & pizza fresh. The real star at the Sol is the beach, superior to any I've ever set foot upon. Powdery white endless & clear you will not be disappointed. If you are content by complete relaxation, quiet environment for reading or spending with family or partner this will be ideal for you. Recommend bringing your own cups to obtain larger sized drinks, lots of sunscreen, and bug spray. The resort is sprayed at approx 7:00 p.m. each night but the mosquitos are pesky and obviously difficult to keep under control. Yes there are feral cats throughout the property and they do enter the buffet area. We met some people who have been coming to Sol for over 20 visits. We enjoyed ourselves and knew exactly what we wanted and it's exactly what we got for this vacation. Tip your servers & chambermaids . . . they work hard & you will be recognized & taken care of!

Room Tip: 8 Block was wonderful 2nd floor, had an ocean view without paying for it! Also a quieter end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank londoner1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Clients
We are thankful for been chosen for you in vacations and for to be part of your comments, we will keep on working hard in order to increase the quality and maintain the best standard for the clients who choose us several times as beautiful destination.

Kind regards,
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I went on Cayo Largo during our honey moon. We stayed at the hotel Sol Cayo Largo and we can say we are fully satisfied of our choice.
Our room at the hotel was clean, well equipped and huge.
Foods on the self-service weren't good for Italian standards, but if we consider we were abroad, we appreciate that there were a big variety of thinks to choose for nourishing us.
The snack bar near the swimming pool was perfect to have fantastic burgers and sandwiches and we also appreciate free bar.
We loved the two "à la carte" restaurants, Cuban style and international style.
The hotel beach is perfect for relaxing and if you want to see Paradise beach is very near in 1 hour walking you can swimm on a natural swimming-pool.
People who work in the hotel were kindly and lovely and they also organized a special dinner for honey mooners on a gazebo near the beach, very romantic!!!
thank you Sol Cayo Largo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pulce8324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear:
I am very delighted to read your positive comments about your Honey Moon in Sol Cayo Largo . Our aim give a good service to our clients and make their stay memorable. Thanks for choosing and we hope to welcome you back in our property.

Best regards,
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Loved this hotel, don't expect any Carribbean luxury, this is Cuba.....but it's clean, the rooms are huge and well equipped. Food, there's plenty to choose from, it's not Michelin star dining, but your not going to starve. The snack bar at the pool has some really nice basics, burgers, salads, toasted sandwiches etc.......we went to the a la carte restaurant one night, it was okay, but we did feel that they were pushing you through quickly to get rid of you, but the pool snack bar becomes a Italian by night, well Cuban style......but far more relaxed and a much friendlier vibe.
The hotel beach is wild, huge waves and rugged, but nice all the same, or catch the land train to serena beach, now your talking.........a fabulous calm, quiet (if you walk more than 100 steps from where the land train and taxi's drop off) beach. We dragged 2 sun beds from the busy part a few hundred yards up the beach and had our own private paradise for two weeks. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, if you like to sit on the balcony. And top floor (only two storeys).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MaryAnnDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGeneralManager, General Manager at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Clients
It is very nice to receive your comments about your stay in Sol Cayo Largo and our amazin Islan . We are pleased to know your positive opinion that make our effort valuable.
Thank you for your kindness and we are happy to welcome back.

Best Regards
Thomas Lehnhooff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,817 reviews
174.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,441 reviews
175.7 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
112.8 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
110.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,302 reviews
366.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Largo

Property: Sol Cayo Largo
Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Largo 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the middle of the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star resort with 296 rooms. Ideal for enjoying its pristine environment and for exploring its idyllic landscape and crystal-clear ocean bottom. The resort faces 600 meters of beach renowned for its perennially cool white-sand. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and groups.Guest Rooms296 rooms: 244 Standard, 34 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior Ocean View, 8 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Prodigios Interactivos SA so you can book your Sol Cayo Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel Cayo Largo
Sol Hotel Cayo Largo
Cayo Largo Cuba
Cayo Largo Sol Hotel
Sol Club Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing