We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Villa Marinera. Can't wait to return”
Review of Villa Marinera

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cayo Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Marinera
Ranked #1 of 2 Cayo Largo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well I took a chance on this place and so glad I did. There weren't any current reviews but the price was right being new for Hola Sun and Gran Caribe. Had an ocean view room so got the older rooms. Other than a musty smell (was gone after a few days) it was fine and super clean. There is a smell to the water but they are on well water I believe. Air conditioner did it's job beds were comfy. Had only 1 outlet with 110 the rest were 220 including the bathroom 1. This was not a problem. Location suberb. Close to Marina for shuttles to Sirena. Marina has great food and bar as well. Bank, store, disco and turtle hatchery as well as dive shop all within a 5 minute walk. The place is like a big family. Loved all the staff. Food was delicious. Lots of flavor. Selection is not what you get at a big resort but what was there was amazing. Breakfast adequate. Juices, coffee, breads, eggs, cheese , ham etc. Never went hungry. Pool was super clean. Only put my feet in it once. Too busy. Guests can use Playa Blanca resort as well and we did this. Pay for 1 and play at 2. What a deal. Loved that there were only 30 guests at a time. Made some friends. No waiting in line for anything. Joey the waiter will take your heart. So witty and not hard on the eyes. LOL. Barbara, guests services, Boss(Lachy) Chef(we called him Charlie) Juney the maid. All wonderful kind hearted people. I know the price will be more next year but I plan to go back. I miss it already. Any questions please send private message.

Room Tip: Ocean view are older but you have a small private area to sit and watch the boats. The others are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank slyone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 120 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

I have been in Cayo Largo for two times in this year: the first time i stayed in Sol Meliá Cayo Largo and the food and service was crap! The second time i stayed in this small and simple place and i loved! The service, the food, everything was very good! Beyond that, made cuban friends were not only interested in the tips, but also to talk and talk about the life. Super recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank Gilmara_Carneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Three is the magic number. Definitely.
This past vacation in Cayo Largo, my third visit to this tiny island in the past 18 months or so, gains the majority of positives thanks to a perfect stay at Villa Marinera.

Just after my first visit to the island – and even before that- I started gathering information on how and if it was possible to live there or buy a property on the island. Sadly, I had to reconsider my plans. But happily enough, after spending my 1st vacation at Sol Pelicano (far too big and standard, considering such a small Island) and my 2nd at Lindamar (smaller, but maybe a bit too small with regards to common spaces), I found the perfect place to stay in Cayo Largo on my 3rd vacation. So, if I'll ever go there again, this would definitely be my first choice.

Since the very first moment, I felt home, it was like being at a summer house with a nice garden and a private beach. The wooden bungalows are perfectly set at the waterfront, and are amazingly big and comfortable. Whilst, I noticed previously that space is not really an issue when it comes to hotel rooms in Cayo Largo, I did not realize the meaning of “space” until I was at Villa Marinera. Here my friend and I had an entire house all for ourselves!
Each house has 2 rooms, connecting internally through a double door (one for each room). We had rooms 106 and 107.

My room had 3 beds (2 queen size beds, one single bed) and my friend's had 2 queen size beds. Then, for each room, we had 2 chaise longs (perfect for the patio in the back, with an ocean view), 2 armchairs, 2 sun beds for the beach, and a big bathroom (with bath tub) and a massive wardrobe. And of course a safe.

As soon as we arrived, we met the entire Villa Marinera staff: Mauro, the only Italian (I'd love to be the 2nd! ), Boris, Yuni, Dani, Yoelbi (his Mojto is the best!) and Yosbel. All with that gentle genuine smile I am used to finding on this island.

If you have already visited other resorts in Cayo Largo, and would like to understand what's different, just forget about them. No comparison is possible. Villa Marinera is a win-win choice, whatever angle you see it from. First of all – sorry to say so, but for those who want to relax I think it's a shareable thought- no kids allowed. Secondly: no entertainment, shows, tournaments, etc. Pure silence and relaxed atmosphere. But this doesn't mean you are in a monastery. This actually means exactly the opposite! Given the small dimension of Villa Marinera (7 bungalows, with a maximum capacity of a maximum of 30 people), it's all left to the guests.
We have been lucky enough to find 9 more people in the village, all of similar ages, and all wanting relaxation, but not disliking a bit of fun..

So every day we organized something, from a simple "aperitivo", Italian way (drinks and food), to music (bring your iPod and pc cables: there's a pc for charging your pics on memory sticks, sharing music, etc. No internet connection though). You can plan your own day as you like it. Exactly like if you were at your summer house! And there is a pool inside for those who like it, and table tennis by the swimming pool.
If you are a scuba diver or a fly-fishing fanatic, this is definitely the place for you. Avalon, who owns the diving and fishing activities in Cuba is located inside Villa Marinera. Please keep in mind you need to reserve these activities from your travel agencies. No way to buy them straight at the Villa.

And the nicest thing was actually feeling home and part of a big family: we all had breakfast, lunch and dinner together, at the same table. Which is great if you love getting to know new people like I do.

Villa Marinera, for those who are familiar with the island, is located near small harbor at "La Marina". It is 3 minutes walk away from the "Movida" (or Carpa), whose music can be heard from your rooms and sounds like a salsa lullaby (occasionally like a reggaeton lullaby). Villa Marinera is just next to the Taverna, and the tiny and only commercial area of Cayo Largo and "pueblo", where Cuban workers live.

You will see what life is like for locals working in Cayo Largo. They start their days very early and don't stop working till late in the evening. Whatever thought you may have about lazy Cubans, they are definitely not those working on the island!

The place, like every other in Cayo Largo, is absolutely secure. You can always see a security guard walking near the bungalows. It's like having your very personal bodyguard. So if you have any, you can leave him at home

Likewise other resorts, transport to Playa Sirena and Playa Paraiso is included for Villa Marinera guests. But the best part of this is that Villa Marinera is located in the canal just behind Playa Sirena. So it takes literally 2 minutes by fast boat (please bring my greetings to Pedro and Laci when you go there!) straight from the garden of Villa Marinera to Playa Sirena. And if you want to go snorkeling to the natural swimming pools, or go to cayo iguana or any other beach or place you can go to with the catamaran trip, you just need to ask the fast boats drivers. Surprisingly enough it's free! As usual tips are much appreciated though.

Food is great as well. I usually get quite sick of having the same choice for my entire stay in resorts. We found we could actually ask – or better "express a desire" for something and the cook, Yosbel, was kindly open to our requests or suggestions. Choices span from fish to chicken, to meat and lobster (as usual you have to pay for lobster and the price is the same as any other place). A good point is that if you are lucky enough (and we were!) you can find Italian red wine on the table for dinner. And for an Italian, that's definitely not a minor value!

Cakes were good as well, especially those I found for breakfast, very similar to the best Italian pastries. I am not a dessert lover, so I cannot add much on that. I definitely loved that pizza at 5pm, just back from the beach and with a Mojito or a Pina Colada was definitely fantastic!

And now that I finished sharing my comments, I really miss that place. Can you please ask if any of the bungalows are on sale?

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
47  Thank cinziacoccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JuLYaLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valentina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vanadium2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
187.9 mi away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,993 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#2 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4,497 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.7 mi away
Casa Particular Mario Garcia Rodriguez Mayito
42.4 mi away
Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular
42.5 mi away
Hostal El Castillito
Hostal El Castillito
#3 of 18 in Playa Giron
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marinera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marinera

Address: La Marina, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cayo Largo
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing