We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Exceptional and Friendly Service At Thie Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Caribe Club Coral

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Largo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gran Caribe Club Coral
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Great Value, Exceptional and Friendly Service At Thie Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Gran Caribe Villa Coral-Soledad. January 6-13, 2012.

Tour Operator and Carrier: We booked our vacation with Nolitours Vacations, we booked for two weeks in Cayo Largo. Our first week we spent at the Gran Caribe property, which I am reviewing here, the second at the Pelicano. We flew out of Toronto on a 6:10 a.m. Canjet flight, we arrived in Cayo Largo at 10 a.m.. We were well fed and watered on a very quick and comfortable flight. We liked flying with Canjet and if the opportunity arose, would do so again. We were through the airport pretty quick and before we knew it, we were on our 10 minute bus ride to the Gran Caribe Villa Coral.

The Gran Caribe Cayo Largo Villa Coral-Soledad: Is an older, smaller, compact resort. It has a very nice cozy layout of buildings, pool, and dining area. This resort is a great place for a very quiet, no frills, reasonably priced, value for money, rest and relaxation holiday. The layout of this place makes it is so easy to get around. The beaches are just wonderful and there is lots of shade palapas on the beach. We were very happy a couple of years ago when they offered this property again to the Toronto market. Last January we were at Villa Coral for a week, although before that, we had frequenly vacationed at this place from 1991 until 1997. It was just wonderful to come back and stay at this property again.

Hotel Check-In: As there were only about 10 of us for this property, it was a pretty quick check-in. We had requested Villa Soledad from Nolitours as we had never stayed there before, the hotel obliged us with a beautiful ocean view room. Great service from guest relations and Nolitours.

Our Room: Wow!! When we seen it, we were ecstatic. We were 20m from the beach with great views of the ocean and sunsets. The room was quite spacious and had very high ceilings, It had a small, very quiet, air-conditioning unit, the AC worked very well and provided great air circulation when needed. We had a nice bathroom with shower, tub, and toilet, lots of hot water all the time. You did have to let the water run quite a while to get it hot. The wash basin and marble vanity was separately located outside of the bathroom, we really liked this. The closet was quite a good size and housed a safety deposit box, you could open the safe with your room key. The room was simply furnished with two wicker bedside tables, a small wicker table and chairs, a fridge, television, luggage bench, writing table. The room didn't have a lot of drawer space but that really didn't affect us in a negative way. There was lots of room for our suitcases in the closet. Yes, the room was very simple but very comfortable. We had good housekeeping all week long, the room was kept immaculately clean every day.

Dining: There was one buffet dining room for the Villa Coral and Villa Soledad guests. The buffet was in the Villa Coral section. We really enjoyed the homey laid-back atmosphere here. The dining room is quite small but large enough for the size of the complex. We enjoyed our simple but tasty food. We mostly enjoyed exceptional and friendly service here at the buffet.
Breakfast: You could have your eggs cooked to order and most days there was bacon, sausage, pancakes, breads, pastries, fruit, cereal. You could have a good substantial breakfast to start your day.
Lunch: Everyday we chose to sit in the open air, back patio section of the buffet. What a beautiful place to have lunch, great views of the ocean and beach. Lunch was very simple with the usual choices of fish, chicken, pork, sometimes burgers, and a small variety of assorted vegetables. They served different pastas on different days, we never did see any potato dishes all week. There were salads of shredded cabbage, lettuce, shredded carrot, olives, cold beets, tomatoes. You had a choice of white or red wine or beer with your lunch. For dessert they had fresh fruit, fruit pies, a variety of sponge cakes and of course some different flavored ice creams.
Dinner: Dinner was a mirror image of lunch, the back patio was usually closed in the evening and you had to sit inside.
Snacks: There wasn't a lot of snacks available at this resort this year. Mostly it was pizza, it was mostly served in the late afternoon. We would have really enjoyed some french fries or burgers from time to time.

Pool and Bar: The small intimate pool was quite nice. We did go for a dip a couple of times, I have to say that the pool water was more than refreshingly cool!. Despite the cool water, we enjoyed our swims anyway. The pool had a swim up bar, this bar was the only one officially available to Villa Coral guests. There was a very nice shaded seating area behind the pool bar, there you could have a wonderful cold beer or cocktail of your choice served by amiable and friendly bar staff. The bar patio was a great place to read a book or play a game of cards, or have good conversations with other guests you just met. The pool bar was open from about 7 a.m. until very late at night or early morning. It was supposed to be open 24 hours but really wasn't, well, not much before 7 a.m. anyway.

The Grounds: They are quite sparse in vegetation, a fair amount of palm trees growing, very lacking in the smaller tropical landscape shrubs though. I would say that they could do a better job on the grounds of the Villa Coral. Both the Lindamar and Isla del Sur properties, which are both run for markets other than Canadian, are really kept in far superior condition than the Villa Coral and Villa Soledad. The Villa Coral and Soledad sidewalks and some other public areas definitely need some TLC.

The Beaches: This year again, absolutely wonderful. The beaches this week were quite wide and the sand was, as always, hardpacked and easy to walk on. Our holidays here are a must do. It is here, that both Karen and I embrace our passion for walking the beautiful white pristine beaches and enjoying the wonderful warmth of the crystalline turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea.

Our Holiday Overall:

Pros: We found this hotel to be a fairly good solid 2 1/2-3 star property. We loved our room at Soledad, the cabana was always delightfully cool overnight, we only had to use the air conditioner on one evening just before dinner. It was always wonderful laying there on our veranda in the afternoon sun, listening our music and to the thunder of the waves on the beach, it kind of reminded us of when we used to stay just down the beach at the old Capricho property, we had same that feeling that we believe Robinson Crusoe would have had, that is if he had an Ipod to listen to and a refreshing Mojito in his hand.
We had a room at Villa Coral last year and loved it also. The Villa Coral property is a laid-back, very quiet, relaxing place to be. It has absolutely beautiful beaches and wonderful wonderful staff. We already have plans to stay at this resort again next year. The front desk staff at the Isla del Sur where we checked in were very welcoming and really went out of their way to please the many returning guests.
You can our photos of the hotel and area by googling Joe and Karen Cuban Travel Photos or at our photo site
http://joeandkarentravelphotos.ca/grancaribecayolargo/index.html

Cons: Last year in January 2011 when we visited this property we had limited all day use of the lobby bar at Isla del Sur, and for lunch, the Ranchon at Lindamar. This wasn't the case in January 2012. There was no mention of these changes when we booked our vacation. We would hope that next year, when we come back to this property, that they will again include that limited use of the lobby bar at Isla del Sur and lunch snacks at the Ranchon at the Lindamar. The Ranchon at the Lindamar is such a beautiful place and it was so great to just go there for a burger and fries and a cold Cervesa and just gaze at that picture postcard ocean and beach, those small added perks are just one of the many experiences that rounded off a wonderful stay. We certainly missed that this time . Also, as we are early risers, having our early morning coffee at the Isla del Sur 24-hour bar was such a great way to start the day, we really missed doing that this time as well. These aren't deal breakers, but they do go a long ways toward making a nice holiday a wonderful holiday.

Our Flight Back to Toronto: After spending our second week at the Pelicano we headed back to Toronto on the 20th of January 2012. We left Cayo Largo on time, but right after takeoff, we were informed that the flap on the front door was loose or making a noise and that we would be making a landing in Varadero to look at the problem. I guess we had to burn off a little fuel before landing and circled out over the Atlantic. We got some great views of Cameleon Villa Jibacoa and a lot of the Cuban coastline. We were delayed at Varadero for two hours, but the remainder of the flight back to Toronto was uneventful. It really wasn't too bad as the time went by pretty quick. The crew of the aircraft did the best they could to keep us all happy. It was rush hour in Toronto and almost took us the same time to get home as it did to fly from Varadero to Toronto LOL. We are now looking forward to our next vacation at Villa Coral or Villa for Soledad in Cayo Largo.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Paliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    176
    84
    29
    26
See reviews for
110
238
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We vacationed at the Gran Caribe Villa Coral in Cayo Largo, Cuba (VC for short) from April 8-15, 2011. This was our 7th trip to Cuba, 2nd to Cayo Largo, 1st to VC and we are a married couple in our 40’s. This trip was for our 21st anniversary. Here is my review and findings of what my wife and I consider a simple but perfectly acceptable resort and one that we will happily return to. When considering a resort, we want; a small complex, friendly staff, edible food, clean rooms and a beautiful beach. I can honestly say that this resort pleasantly surprised us by exceeding our expectations.

CHECK IN: Check in for the VC is at the Isla del Sur (Eden Resort) which is the main building in the Gran Caribe complex that encompasses Villa Coral, Villa Soledad, and Villa Lindamar. While we were checking in, everyone’s bags were being unloaded. We were given our Villa Coral wrist bands, room key card and towel vouchers and were told to walk to our room and wait there and a gentleman would bring our bags to our room. It was about 10-15 minutes for the bags to arrive.

ROOM: The VC is a small complex of 2 storey bungalows which amount to about 55 rooms total. It was a short 5 min walk to our room which was on the far west side of the resort. We were given a second storey room with a large balcony. Our room had a small 3 piece bathroom with a tiled floor. The shower floor was sunken about the thickness of a tile and had a curtain you pulled closed on 2 sides. Unfortunately often when finished a shower we’d find a wet floor in the rest of the bathroom. The sink was mounted to the wall with little space to set any items on. We always had lots of water pressure and lots of hot water. The toilet also worked well. There was not a hairdryer. The tiled floor continued into the bedroom where we had 2 single beds pushed together with fairly comfortable mattresses. The room was cooled by a small air conditioner that was mounted through the wall with wood trim surrounding it. It was slightly noisy but worked well. There was a closet to hang clothes which also housed the safe. The room also had a small dresser, 2 night tables and a TV set upon a small cabinet that housed a small fridge. The entrance to the balcony was through 2 poorly fitting wood doors. The balcony itself was beautiful and had views of the ocean from either side. We did have a few ants crawling around the room but nothing we needed to worry about. The bedroom and bathroom had 110v receptacles so there was not any need for a converter.

RESTAURANTS AND BARS: The enclosed air conditioned buffet is open 7:30am-10am for breakfast, 1pm-2:45pm for lunch, and 7:30pm-9:45pm for dinner. The buffet also has an outside area covered just outside the doors as well as a small trellis covered spot over-looking the ocean. Keep in mind that you can also get pizza to the left of the buffet starting at 4pm. You have 2 a la cartes per week at the Ranchon over at the Villa Lindamar and you must make reservations in advance. We were only able to eat there once during our stay due to being booked up quickly. Although the buffet food selection is small, it is of fairly decent quality but can be repetitive. In fact it was better than what I was expecting. During breakfast there is; an omelette station, a station set up of pancakes, scrambled and/or hard boiled eggs, sausage or bacon, A pastry station with very tasty pastries, as well as a toaster with slice-your-own bread to toast and a fresh fruit station. Unfortunately fresh orange juice was rare to find. I usually drank mango juice at breakfast. During the evening there is a main station set up with the dish of the day. This often was roast pork, roast beef, and sometimes a fresh catch of the day. There is also a station set up of roast beef slices, pork slices, roasted chicken pieces, garlic mashed potatoes...yes, I said garlic! I did find the beef slices and chicken slightly chewy and dry. Sometimes there was a soup, and even spiced calamari rings, yes again, I said spiced. For those of you new to Cuba, it is commonly known that the food in Cuba can be described as bland. Often this is true, but sometimes you will find some that is not. Carlos, the main Chef here at the time we stayed, was quite good. Unfortunately we never came up from the beach to eat at lunch. I can honestly say I was surprised by a few dishes like the spiced calamari, soup, and garlic mashed potatoes. As well, I was surprised to find the roasts done fairly well, especially at a 2 1/2 star. We did splurge one evening and paid 20 pesos each for the lobster dish for our anniversary dinner. While the lobster was tasty, it was not something to rave about. On the other hand, the whole shrimp that accompanied the lobster were very tasty.

I have to talk about our anniversary dinner more. Apart from the dinner itself, our waitress Daima went out of her way to make this a special occasion for us. Not only did she set up a nice table on the outside patio of the buffet, but she gathered flower petals to surround a tea-light candle and arranged for the house band to serenade us with a couple of songs. If that wasn’t enough she arrange for the pastry chef to make and beautifully decorate a delicious cake for us.

RESORT GROUNDS AND BUILDINGS: When you first enter the resort from the Isla del Sur, you walk past the massage/medical rooms on the right and the main building on the left, and the pool in front of you. The main building houses the buffet, public washrooms, lounge area and club house where you get your towels. The so called club house is no more than a small room with a sign hung on it with times of availability between 8am-12pm. I point this out because it took us a day to find this room as no one told us this upon arrival. To the left of the buffet is a little seating area where you can get pizza, fries and sometimes hamburgers starting at 4pm. The grounds here are sparse, mainly sand covered with some ground cover, small bushes, and taller palm trees that provide shade throughout the resort. The buildings are painted in coral pink or turquoise and at close look, definitely show their age. There are concrete and interlocking stone walkways around the resort some of which have small pieces missing. Although it is sparse, the grounds are well kept and always clean. The maintenance/gardening staff seemed to be on top of things picking up old palm branches and leaves. I would say that for the most part it is guest friendly, except for anyone with a wheelchair or any trouble with stairs. Since it’s not a large resort you don’t really have too far to walk for anything. The beach was beautiful, but the entry into the ocean was hampered by coral/lava rock in the shallows. On a wavy day it could be difficult to find the few narrow pathways in.

POOL: A salt water pool with a depth of about 4 1/2 feet, not huge but well kept and cleaned every morning. Times are from about 7:30/8 am to around 1 am. It is set within the square shape of the pool bar, buffet and club house sections. It does have a swim up bar where you can get most of your typical Cuban drinks, such as; Mojito, Ron Colins, Pina Colada, Daiquiri, and Rum Punch. It even had a whiskey which did not cost extra. There are some drinks that may be extra. You can also get an espresso and cappuccino here. The pool bar also has an extended covered area behind it where one could sit and enjoy a drink out of the sun.

THE STAFF: All staff at this resort were very friendly and accommodating to us, always with an hola and smile when passing. Carlos one evening even brought my wife and I a small bowl of soup each over to the pool bar without us even asking for it. I happened to mention to him how much I enjoyed it the evening before. The pool bar bartenders, Vladimir and Yosvani were very friendly and a lot of fun to be around.

I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a very simple resort and does not need/demand 5 star food and accommodation. If any of the points I made above caused you to wince, this is not a place for you. Price will certainly drive my decision to return, but with the right price we will happily return. If you want to get on that amazing Cayo Largo beach without breaking the bank, this could be the place to do it.

You can also see pictures of this resort on my Webshots page at:
http://travel.webshots.com/album/580062822leDXdt?vhost=travel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank geoff62757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Traveled Dec 2011 as a couple for 12 days. The resort was rated 2.5 star so we didn't expect too much. We had stayed in 2.5 star resorts in Cuba before and had good success so we weren't expecting anything spectacular.

Airport to Hotel was super quick. 10 minutes tops and check in was fast. The gal at reception didn't speak much english so it was a bit confusing at first when she handed us an envelope with two tickets inside. She couldn't explain what they were for (turns out they were for beach towels). We figured we'd get answers from our rep next day at the briefing. We missed our briefing though. We were confused as to where it was being held and who our rep was. So we had to figure a lot out for ourselves the first few days. We were feeling 'disoriented' since half the resort was designated as being for Italians only but it turns out that that side was closed at the time. We weren't sure if we were 'allowed' to go in certain areas. If we'd had our briefing it would have been best but all in all it worked out.

There weren't many at the Villa Coral resort so it was super quiet and relaxed. That's what we wanted and that's what we got.

We had asked for a room close to the beach when we booked online and with a king bed. The room we were given totally surpassed our expectations! It was a stones throw from the beach with two doors that swung open onto a patio with chairs and off to side was a semi-private cabana overlooking the beach. We were mere steps to the water! Unreal. It was heaven. The rooms are spacious, we had a double bed and it was quite comfortable and the rooms were clean, clean, clean.

Our chambermaid was Juiba and she made the most amazing animals, flowers and birds for us during our stay out of towels and always fresh flowers to enjoy each day.
The water wasn't hot for the first week no matter how long it ran but then they did some maintenance and it was just like home for temperatures. Very good.
The in-room safe is free and is operated using your room key.

The beaches are incredible. Lots of rocky areas ON the beach which made it quite interesting but the sands were soft and cool. We enjoyed that contrast of rock, sand and ocean and climbed all over with our beach shoes. Fun.

Signs of the hurricanes that destroyed some resorts are still visible. Cement stairs end in nothing, buildings ravaged, complete resort areas devastated. We got to explore and it was impressive just how strong the wind and waves must have been. They have repaired a lot it seems but there are still many that aren't rebuilt. So much to fix.

Everyone was friendly. We enjoyed being able to walk the beaches or roads and just explore on our own. We went looking for horses to rent for a ride and found the nursery where they grow the flowers and trees for the resort and a very lovely woman named Engracia who took us to see CROCODILES living right there at the stone tower (old water pump house of sorts). That was a highlight and we returned a couple of times. To be able to stand within 8 feet of a wild crocodile, no fences, was a thrill to say the least. She would call for the turtles and they would come to the sound of her voice for food. Crabs and birds came as well to get something to eat. Very neat. A large iguana named 'Lola' that's 10 years old lives there too and is very friendly.

No horse riding. They were sickly and we didn't want to endanger them any further. We were told that 4 had dropped dead from being ridden hard by tourists and not getting enough sustenance just before we arrived and the other two were on their last legs. We saw them one day and then never again. VERY sad. :(

The dining room was clean and there is a great variety of food and salad options to choose from. You can only get coffee in the AM in the dining room and then you get it at the bar the rest of the day. . Good cappucino and espresso at the pool bar..

Urbano and Alina in the dining room were super and we enjoyed meeting them. They were always friendly and very helpful. Urbano gave us a special 'flambe' light show on our ice cream one evening just for fun. It was awesome and a vase of fresh flowers. Very sweet. We appreciated the kind gestures. It made our trip very memorable.

The first week we thought we had arrived at a 5 star hotel for the food. It was outstanding. We didn't bother to go to the a la carte restaurants because the food was so good. Also, there were Italian tourists our first week that were staying due to an overbooking at a higher star Hotel. We truely believe that the better food was for their benefit. Sadly with a hotel staff change and the Italian tourists gone home the food went downhill quite a bit the following week. It was still good for the most part but we missed what we had gotten used to previously. The new kitchen staff may not have been as 'gifted' in food preparation but we had some questionable options on the buffet. Our fresh melons and papaya became canned peaches and pineapple! Most of the time we simply had white or pink grapefruit and canned peaches offered. The food preparers seemed to get lazy too. Even the squash wasn't peeled. It was chunked but the skin was left on and cooked. Disappointing.

The chicken was normally very good as was the beef which was offered quite often. That's something different for us. Normally we see mostly pork in Cuba. There was a night where a beautiful fresh caught fish was offered on the buffet (Red Snapper) and it was delicious.

We didn't go in for the entertainment much but what we watched was quite good and the entertainers were very talented. The music was very good.

The biggest complaint was the times for the meals, especially the supper hour.
Breakfast was 7:30 - 10 am which was great. Lunch ran 1:00 - 2:45 which was just fine bu supper wasn't until 7:30 pm. Much too late for us to eat. They did have a snack bar but no menu so we didn't know what they offered. We tried the pizza once but it was a flatbread with sauce and cheese only. Not great in lieu of supper.

We were told by our rep Andre (lovely and very helpful woman from Nolitours group) that we could eat at the beach bar which was open until 5pm for hamburgers, hotdogs, sandwiches and fries besides drinks. We stopped to get a cold drink a couple times. It was very quiet with few patrons. Our last day we were going to get a bite to eat there mid afternoon but we were turned away! We were told that the hotel decided that the beach bar would be for the Italian tourists only except on three nights when they offered a la carte to our hotel - Villa Coral. Very strange but it was our last day so we didn't worry about it. It was listed on our sheet from Andre as an option for snacks.

Our first week was a bit uncomfortable at times as there was a LOT of nudity right in front of our room and one person would constantly come nude from the beach and shower at the wash station and also lay nude in the cabana area outside our door. Since we were practically on the beach it was unavoidable to have them directly outside our door. That wasn't hotel policy of course. Nudity is supposed to be reserved for the outer areas off the resorts. Some people took liberties for sure. The last part of the trip we didn't have to deal with that as much since we didn't walk in the areas where those sunbathers were. However, it was uncomfortable in some areas of the beach as certain people would try to make themselves noticed by all, standing directly in your path as you walked the beach and were quite profane in their actions with certain male body parts. That wasn't the fault of the resorts, that was simply crude tourists.

The playa Sirena beach was unbelievable for beauty. It's a must see. Crystal clear, warm and calm waters for the most part. The sand is silky soft and cool.

The two captive dolphins there are fun to watch and you can swim with them for $10 CUC

The train ride out to the beach is an experience that we enjoyed once. It was 25 minutes on the roughest and bumpiest 'road' you can imagine. Fun. We would have gone again but it got very windy the last part of our trip and we didn't return to the beach since the waves were too much.
We took a taxi back to the hotel later from Playa Sirena and it was another adventure. Same sandy and bumpy road but riding at breakneck speed sliding around corners and being catapulted to the ceiling when you hit a bump. We wouldn't have traded that experience though. Great fun.

The trip to the Pueblo (Village)/Marina was outstanding. We paid a taxi to take us and he charged us a lot even though we had already walked part way there. On our return we decided to start the walk back to the hotel (which would be about about 7 kms or so) because inevitably a bus would come along and they would always stop and pick us up. We had gone about a mile when we were picked up. That was awesome! We should have caught one to go the town in the first place if we'd thought of it.

At the village/marina we loved the restaurant for their delicious ham and cheese pizza but the TURTLE SANCTUARY and Alexandre are a MUST VISIT. You can learn about the green sea turtle and handle them. We saw 1 week and 1 month old baby turtles and got to hold them. That was a great experience. The work done there to save the turtles is amazing. If you plan to visit, please take along a LARGE jar of NUTRAFIN Turtle pellet food. It's incredible to see the rich color of the young turtles eating this supplemented food compared to those eating fish only. They can't get this food on their own. They need tourists to bring it.

There's a museum and other sites to see in the village. Arrange a visit with a guide from the hotel. That would be better than going alone. When we got to the village we had to wait 1.5 hours for someone to show up and sell us a ticket to get into the turtle sanctuary. They never came and finally they just let us in and we paid the caretaker - Alexandre our 2 pesos. There were so few tourists, no guides were working when we were there. Best 2 pesos we ever spent!!

It was a trip to remember. The value for the price was unbelievable for this time of the year. We would return for sure. There is still so much to experience and do there. We enjoyed many adventures, met lots of great people and the beaches are unsurpassed for beauty. We highly recommend this if you aren't looking for constant entertainment and excitement. This resort is absolutely our choice over the higher rated hotels. We toured them all and we love the quiet ambiance and charm of the Villa Coral Resort.

Next time if we return with friends to show around and experience the resort it will be twice the fun.

Internet service is very good as well.
The shops were expensive. It's a tourist island so the prices are quite a bit higher than other resorts we have been to. Even the artisans charge a lot for their wares.

The airport shop is VERY small with little selection so if you see something you want to buy at a resort store or in the town, definitely buy it. We missed buying some very nice wine from Argentina and Chile thinking that they would have a greater selection at the airport to bring as gifts.

Room Tip: We loved room 4031 which was the closest to the beach in the whole resort. It was further from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank occupied247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa ontario
Level Contributor
198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

We were lucky enough to be assigned a villa room that was right on the beach with a porch and hammock. No complaints about that. Be patient with waiting for hot water, it does come eventually. Pool is small but has a swim up bar that sometimes later in the day ran out of specific items. Food in the buffet was better than other places we have visited in Cuba. Since it is a small resort, the variety of food dishes was small but it was quite enjoyable. They even offered for 20 Cuban pesos a lobster/shrimp dinner which was excellent. Snack bar was okay, the pizza which we had was pretty good. The allacart restaurant was excellent. Fixed menu, which consisted mostly of fish dishes and was served and present very well.
The island itself is so beautiful. The beaches are not crowded and you can walk and walk forever. The catamaran trip for the day was excellent. The stops at Iguana Island, the natural pool, snorkelling and beach were excellent. It also included a lobster or chicken lunch with unlimited drinks. We saw star fish and the snorkelling was excellent. Take the shuttle train to Sirena Beach as it is just beautiful and must be seen. There are change facilities available at the beach. Also the horseback riding was good.
While at Sirena Beach we had lunch at the restaurant there and it was very good. We had the grilled fish and it was excellent.
Great value for what we paid and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank bobisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Service and food beyond our expectations . Superbly clean ..including pool area , bar , rooms and restaurant . Not for those wishing 24-7 pampering ..but perfect for those of us that are a little more independent minded . Staff was very accomodating and pleasant . Would definitely return . Shout out to our new friends Ivan , Joanne , Julie , Faed .. you were all a blast !!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank JIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dover
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

Good food but not great at buffet until hotel big shots and airline people came. Perfect ,most convenient setting.Great Massages.Best employees ,the 'maletero.Manuel,and Roberto from reception.All other employees here were fickle and distant. I would stay at this hotel and then pay for excellent food at Cayo blanco. The Ranchon was superb for luncheon,with Sergio and staff. They were at least personable If it weren't for the friendliness and helpfulness of Manuel, I probably wouldn't return.Cayo Blanco , I think is more reliable,pelicano,sol cayo largo, much larger with lots of service staff.Pretty far away from beach and ocean view.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank snorkelerDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

I stayed at this hotel March 21-28 2010.Having been to Cayo Largo once before, I knew what to expect of the island. I did not enjoy my hotel last time around. This time I was very happy with my choice.

Room
4052 – 1st floor which at first I was disappointed. I had a small patio in front – no patio in the back like some rooms. Two single beds pushed together were fine. Room did not smell. Bathroom had a small shower and perhaps the only con was not any space to put toiletries. Most sockets I saw were 110 volt. Mini fridge with 1 bottle of water upon arrival only.

My room was located close to the buffet, swim up bar & not far from the Isla del Sur where the main reception desk was. I went there every day as my card would not open the door daily so the reception staff would have to reset it. I did not keep it anywhere near any magnetic strips so it must have been the door but they could not locate the technician and I really didn’t care after awhile.

Food
Main buffet served breakfast, lunch & dinner. Food was good – not many vegetables except cabbage but I was happy with the food.

Ranchon at the Lindemar hotel was nice. It would turn to the ala carte certain evenings and personally I think that is a waste of a reservation. It started out good – prosciutto with toast & tomatoes, nice cream soup – then you’re told to help yourself to the salad bar – cucumbers, tomatoes & shredded cabbage and the main course – rice, pork, fish and cabbage which you lined up for. Had I had a 2nd reservation I would of cancelled.

I was told you can get sandwiches between 3:00-4:00 in front of the buffet but I never tried them. They do have pizza after 4:00 – 6:00 which was nice. I always had cheese only but saw some with ham.

Bar
You could get drinks at the main lobby Isla del Sur bar but would have to pay for beer. The Villa Coral bar was at the swim up pool. Waiters were great.

Staff
I found the staff very friendly at all times. They all spoke English.

There was a mixture of people from Quebec, Ontario, Argentina that I noticed. A few children , couples and singles – due to the no single supplement I’m sure.

I found this hotel very cozy and truly enjoyed it. I would not hesitate to return.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank lesab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
177.5 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#7 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1228.3 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Largo
Sol Cayo Largo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,216 reviews
174.8 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
174.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Club Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Club Coral

Property: Gran Caribe Club Coral
Address: Archipielago de los Canarreos | Cayo Largo del Sur - Isla de la Juventud, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Caribe Club Coral 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Villa Coral Hotel Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing