We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the heart of Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Borro Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our second visit to Il Borro and we enjoyed our stay as much as the first time, in 2010. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which has maid service twice daily and has all the amenities of home. We did feel the Ciapi apartment could use a refresh of the living room furniture, perhaps some more comfortable seating, but overall we would recommend this property to anyone who wants to be in the heart of Tuscany. We took day trips every day to various places - Cortona, Siena, Montalcino, Chianti - most are 1 hour's drive and the farthest was 1 1/2 hours. The staff is great, the property is beautiful and the restaurant was renovated since we were there last and is excellent.
We also visited the Ferragamo art exhibit of art/wine etchings following our tour of the winery. I would highly recommend this as well.
Lastly, if you are at all inclined towards adventure, take the mountain bikes out on the trail ride. It is about 3 miles but is a fascinating tour of the property. The reception desk will give you a detailed description to follow and it was a breath-taking way to see the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonStewartClarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    50
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
87
132
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Four of us travelled. The village is restored to modern standards except for the stairs - they are high. Great workout going up and down. Location is pretty special as it is in the heart of 'Toscana'. Even though it was a drive to train station or an exciting (rally class roads) drive to visit some towns in the area I would go back. Even if to practice driving skills.
Staff was very professional, efficient and helpful. We did not eat in main restaurant as there were great local osterias, restaurants etc in area that we wanted to eat in - may have been an error as most other guests mentioned that the food and service were excellent.
This is a place to both relax at or to explore Tuscany.

Room Tip: Any unit in medieval village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAPLES
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Wonderful little enclave close to Florence, very friendly staff, beautiful property, quiet, relaxing and amazing restaurant! Painstakingly restored modern & comfortable accommodations, luxury bathroom cannot ask for more. Perfect little retreat to escape and see tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTip101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Il Borro gives the true tuscan experience. We stayed at a 2 bed villa in the middle of the vineyards which had it's own pool. You have all the freedom of self catering with the comfort of hotel facilities back at the main complex which has a fantastic restaurant (michelin star quality),a spa and all day cafe (sandwiches there were not too hectic). A car is essential to get you around the estate. We did a cookery course which was really good fun and good value and we also did the wine tour which was interesting. The old medieval village is nice to stroll around and has some shops. It is definitely a place to relax and kick back, read a book and do nothing at all. You can drive to some interesting villages in the hills or go to Arezzo which was one of the nicer towns we visited. But do not hire a car with Firefly without reading the reviews on trip advisor, our experience was similar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

There are most definitely lots of good things to say about this unique concept.
First of all, its very uniqueness: primarily a medieval village turned into a hotel. Set on a lavish and impressive property, the place impresses right from the start by its size, luxurious entrance (a 5-600m long alley boarded by mediterranean cypress) and boarded on both sides by manicured lawned horse grounds. There are also farmhouses one can rent an a magnificent Florentine style villa that can be had all for rent with all its ten rooms, for special events.
The first contact, the hotel staff, was just as a nice surprise as the initial one, as everyone was extremely friendly and genuinely helpful, in a nice peaceful way.
But, that is in part because the place really offers them the opportunity to demonstrate how really helpful they can be.
We have arrived relatively late and, to our surprise, when we've asked where is the restaurant for dinner, we were told that there are in fact no available tables for dinner and that we should of make reservations in advance.
Now, you must know that this place is literally in the middle of nowhere. The next restaurant is about 15-20 min away by car, driving on deserted and dark country roads. The room service is mainly cold dishes at best and basically not set up as a real service (with the exception of breakfast of course). No other place is open at dinner time.
You must see why we weren't happy to hear this and looked the part too.
The hotel employee in charge with our welcoming and lodging offered to drive us in a hotel car to a nearby restaurant and drive us back after dinner and we gladly accepted. Dinner was mediocre at best at this off beat trattoria and far off what we have expected to have, but the hotel employee gesture definitely laudable.
Back at our medieval village house/apartment a bad surprise: it was very cold and thus unwelcoming. When we've complained we were told that the heat is off and something weird in our opinion, that they don't have approval from the city hall to turn the heat on at this time. It might also been a language barrier glitch.
That was the first, rather unsuccessful, evening.
We were a bit turned off also when we realized why there was no table available in the restaurant: the place was rented out to a function by a group traveling by bus (obviously from another place).
I wonder if this is fair to one's own guests in this remote hotel where dinner off premisses is inconvenient to say the least.
The next day we've told them we have already packed our bags and we are ready to cut our stay short on the account of the uncomfortable room temperature.
They've insisted that the heat will be turned on (city hall approval obtained?) and that we will, for sure, be having a table in the hotel's restaurant, so we gave it another chance.
The suite was indeed warm and comfortable this time when we've returned that evening but dinner was such a let down that we even thought we were lucky in fact not to eat there the night before.
It was the worst meal we had in our one week trip in Tuscany. Senselessly pretentious and apparently gourmet but in fact really poor. The restaurant itself though, a very upscale joint and the service correct. Staff overall was excellent throughout.
I suggest a different chef, a better and more flexible organization, and a certain priority for hotel guests ahead outsiders, or at least a feasible alternative solution on premises when a function occupying the main restaurant cannot be refused (that is only if they change the chef though!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes-Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just spent 3 FA-BU-LOUS days at IL BORRO a Relais & Chateaux near Florence, where we have been charmed by the medieval village where houses have been transformed into 24 suites and appartments! The restaurant enchanted us with delicious dishes rich in flavor and colors, the wine cellar is a must-see with 4 wines produced in the 850 hectares property of the Ferragamo family.
The hotel team speaks very good English and is mostly helpful to make an unforgetable stay.
The spa team performed a very nice body massage & expert facial, and I enjoyed particularly the yoga session with a private instructor.
The location is ideal to live the true "dolce vita" under the Tuscan sun, and be able to visit Florence, Sienna at less than one hour drive.
I highly recommend for couples or family who want to discover the area in a unique setting with the incredible surprise to find a copy of the Shroud of Turin in the village church of IL BORRO.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights recently with a group of 10 friends at this beautifully- restored village. Management thoughtfully put us into three neighbouring apartments. The accommodation was perfect: comfortable without unnecessary luxury, with a good modern kitchens (some homecooked meals are a must) and bathrooms. The only 'negatives' are the relatively dark interiors and absence of private outdoor spaces but this was, after all, a medieval village. The homely accommodation comes with hotel-style facilities such as a substantial buffet breakfast, spa facilities (for which, oddly, guests are charged 15 Euros per visit) and twice-daily housekeeping services! These make Il Borro the perfect combination of self-catering and hotel. Staff are all very welcoming and accommodating and we enjoyed extra activities like a long, informal cookery lesson in the restaurant kitchen, a truffle-hunting demo in the local woods, and, on our first evening, a delicious and elegant dinner in the main restaurant. Rates at Il Borro are very reasonable for the high quality of accommodation and facilities and we would love the chance to visit again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 17lydia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giustino Valdarno
15.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
21.5 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
21.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borro Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borro Relais & Chateaux

Property: Il Borro Relais & Chateaux
Address: Localita 1, 52020 San Giustino Valdarno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > San Giustino Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in San Giustino Valdarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Borro Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Telling its stories, a place becomes part of those stories. The legend takes on a life beyond the place and becomes timeless.The origins of the village of Il Borro are lost in the history of medieval Tuscany and the famous people who established the reputation of the region. Every alley, every stone speaks of a time that once was, of flavours and scents that recall the memory of a rare and more authentic Tuscany.Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, in the shadow of the cypress trees of the ancient Via dei Sette Ponti, (an area rich in art and culture between the three main cities of Tuscany Florence, Arezzo and Siena), Il Borro is an open window on history, a fresco to a far away world. The Medici dynasty, the Savoia family and now the Ferragamo family have safeguarded and preserved this precious oasis, making this place, suspended between past and present, a sanctuary dedicated to wellbeing and the art of hospitality. You are welcome - one thousand years of history are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Borro Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borro Hotel San Giustino Valdarno
Il Borro Relais & Chateaux Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing