We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Borro Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Il Borro gives the true tuscan experience. We stayed at a 2 bed villa in the middle of the vineyards which had it's own pool. You have all the freedom of self catering with the comfort of hotel facilities back at the main complex which has a fantastic restaurant (michelin star quality),a spa and all day cafe (sandwiches there were not too hectic). A car is essential to get you around the estate. We did a cookery course which was really good fun and good value and we also did the wine tour which was interesting. The old medieval village is nice to stroll around and has some shops. It is definitely a place to relax and kick back, read a book and do nothing at all. You can drive to some interesting villages in the hills or go to Arezzo which was one of the nicer towns we visited. But do not hire a car with Firefly without reading the reviews on trip advisor, our experience was similar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

There are most definitely lots of good things to say about this unique concept.
First of all, its very uniqueness: primarily a medieval village turned into a hotel. Set on a lavish and impressive property, the place impresses right from the start by its size, luxurious entrance (a 5-600m long alley boarded by mediterranean cypress) and boarded on both sides by manicured lawned horse grounds. There are also farmhouses one can rent an a magnificent Florentine style villa that can be had all for rent with all its ten rooms, for special events.
The first contact, the hotel staff, was just as a nice surprise as the initial one, as everyone was extremely friendly and genuinely helpful, in a nice peaceful way.
But, that is in part because the place really offers them the opportunity to demonstrate how really helpful they can be.
We have arrived relatively late and, to our surprise, when we've asked where is the restaurant for dinner, we were told that there are in fact no available tables for dinner and that we should of make reservations in advance.
Now, you must know that this place is literally in the middle of nowhere. The next restaurant is about 15-20 min away by car, driving on deserted and dark country roads. The room service is mainly cold dishes at best and basically not set up as a real service (with the exception of breakfast of course). No other place is open at dinner time.
You must see why we weren't happy to hear this and looked the part too.
The hotel employee in charge with our welcoming and lodging offered to drive us in a hotel car to a nearby restaurant and drive us back after dinner and we gladly accepted. Dinner was mediocre at best at this off beat trattoria and far off what we have expected to have, but the hotel employee gesture definitely laudable.
Back at our medieval village house/apartment a bad surprise: it was very cold and thus unwelcoming. When we've complained we were told that the heat is off and something weird in our opinion, that they don't have approval from the city hall to turn the heat on at this time. It might also been a language barrier glitch.
That was the first, rather unsuccessful, evening.
We were a bit turned off also when we realized why there was no table available in the restaurant: the place was rented out to a function by a group traveling by bus (obviously from another place).
I wonder if this is fair to one's own guests in this remote hotel where dinner off premisses is inconvenient to say the least.
The next day we've told them we have already packed our bags and we are ready to cut our stay short on the account of the uncomfortable room temperature.
They've insisted that the heat will be turned on (city hall approval obtained?) and that we will, for sure, be having a table in the hotel's restaurant, so we gave it another chance.
The suite was indeed warm and comfortable this time when we've returned that evening but dinner was such a let down that we even thought we were lucky in fact not to eat there the night before.
It was the worst meal we had in our one week trip in Tuscany. Senselessly pretentious and apparently gourmet but in fact really poor. The restaurant itself though, a very upscale joint and the service correct. Staff overall was excellent throughout.
I suggest a different chef, a better and more flexible organization, and a certain priority for hotel guests ahead outsiders, or at least a feasible alternative solution on premises when a function occupying the main restaurant cannot be refused (that is only if they change the chef though!).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermes-Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just spent 3 FA-BU-LOUS days at IL BORRO a Relais & Chateaux near Florence, where we have been charmed by the medieval village where houses have been transformed into 24 suites and appartments! The restaurant enchanted us with delicious dishes rich in flavor and colors, the wine cellar is a must-see with 4 wines produced in the 850 hectares property of the Ferragamo family.
The hotel team speaks very good English and is mostly helpful to make an unforgetable stay.
The spa team performed a very nice body massage & expert facial, and I enjoyed particularly the yoga session with a private instructor.
The location is ideal to live the true "dolce vita" under the Tuscan sun, and be able to visit Florence, Sienna at less than one hour drive.
I highly recommend for couples or family who want to discover the area in a unique setting with the incredible surprise to find a copy of the Shroud of Turin in the village church of IL BORRO.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed 5 nights recently with a group of 10 friends at this beautifully- restored village. Management thoughtfully put us into three neighbouring apartments. The accommodation was perfect: comfortable without unnecessary luxury, with a good modern kitchens (some homecooked meals are a must) and bathrooms. The only 'negatives' are the relatively dark interiors and absence of private outdoor spaces but this was, after all, a medieval village. The homely accommodation comes with hotel-style facilities such as a substantial buffet breakfast, spa facilities (for which, oddly, guests are charged 15 Euros per visit) and twice-daily housekeeping services! These make Il Borro the perfect combination of self-catering and hotel. Staff are all very welcoming and accommodating and we enjoyed extra activities like a long, informal cookery lesson in the restaurant kitchen, a truffle-hunting demo in the local woods, and, on our first evening, a delicious and elegant dinner in the main restaurant. Rates at Il Borro are very reasonable for the high quality of accommodation and facilities and we would love the chance to visit again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank 17lydia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a treat after spending a few days in Rome. Incredible views, lovely staff, delicious food and wine. We traveled with children and you absolutely need a car to reach Il Borro. Once here, however, there is plenty to do on site- we took a tour of the winery, went swimming, rode bikes around the property and played tennis. Truffle hunting was also available, though we did not do. Nor did we use spa, though it looked nice. You can do as much or as little as you like. Have already recommended to other friends who plan to visit next year. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Stay in village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvc1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Something different to your usual holiday hotel room. My wife & I stayed during the same conference as previous reviewers. We shared the Aviatore apartment at the end of the old village. It has three bedrooms with very comfortable beds and two bathrooms so could easily handle six guests. The heating became necessary as the weather deteriorated during our stay. Yes, some tea & coffee would have been nice, seeing that a full kitchen is provided but NO sundries. The local village is about 15 minutes walk away which was very pleasant when the weather allowed but don't expect any restaurant of any quality - drive to Gello Biscardo for a better meal. The restaurants at Il Borro are very nice but we needed a change of scenery. Overall, a very enjoyable stay in the heart of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The estate is truly beautiful, however you don't realise just how isolated it is, until you get there. It is not within walking distance of a village, or anything else around. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon. Our apartment in the village was lovely, but had a stale dusty smell about it. I dont think it had been opened up all Winter. We opened all the windows to let in some fresh air.
The bathroom was very nice, but the shower was all mouldy! Not up to the standard of these estate!

The kitchen is fully equipped, however there was no coffee/tea/sugar. Oh, where can I get some? The nearest village is 2kms away, but its Wednesday afternoon and everything is shut!! Surely some satchets of coffee etc should be provided, for at least the first night anyway, until we can get organized. If not, then tell people on confirmation to bring their own.
I am an early riser, and the coffee shop doesn't open until 8am. So every morning I had to wait at least two hours till I could get a cup of coffee.

We were part of a conference, and a shopping expedition was organized for 14 people. When it was time two go, two vehicles arrived that only fitted 13 people! I was left out. No explaination was given as to why they brought a smaller car. They were clearly told 14. No apology at all, and to top it all the ladies who did go had to pay more, as it was one person less.

I find all this very poor for a resort of this calibre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirinoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giustino Valdarno
15.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
372 reviews
24.6 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#3 of 40 in Siena
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Toscana Verde
Toscana Verde
#1 of 2 in Laterina
905 reviews
15.4 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
559 reviews
13.8 mi away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borro Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borro Relais & Chateaux

Address: Localita Il Borro 1, 52024 San Giustino Valdarno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > San Giustino Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in San Giustino Valdarno
Price Range: $271 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Borro Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Telling its stories, a place becomes part of those stories. The legend takes on a life beyond the place and becomes timeless.The origins of the village of Il Borro are lost in the history of medieval Tuscany and the famous people who established the reputation of the region. Every alley, every stone speaks of a time that once was, of flavours and scents that recall the memory of a rare and more authentic Tuscany.Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, in the shadow of the cypress trees of the ancient Via dei Sette Ponti, (an area rich in art and culture between the three main cities of Tuscany Florence, Arezzo and Siena), Il Borro is an open window on history, a fresco to a far away world. The Medici dynasty, the Savoia family and now the Ferragamo family have safeguarded and preserved this precious oasis, making this place, suspended between past and present, a sanctuary dedicated to wellbeing and the art of hospitality. You are welcome - one thousand years of history are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Borro Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borro Hotel San Giustino Valdarno
Il Borro Relais & Chateaux Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing