We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the little things...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Borro Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The estate is truly beautiful, however you don't realise just how isolated it is, until you get there. It is not within walking distance of a village, or anything else around. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon. Our apartment in the village was lovely, but had a stale dusty smell about it. I dont think it had been opened up all Winter. We opened all the windows to let in some fresh air.
The bathroom was very nice, but the shower was all mouldy! Not up to the standard of these estate!

The kitchen is fully equipped, however there was no coffee/tea/sugar. Oh, where can I get some? The nearest village is 2kms away, but its Wednesday afternoon and everything is shut!! Surely some satchets of coffee etc should be provided, for at least the first night anyway, until we can get organized. If not, then tell people on confirmation to bring their own.
I am an early riser, and the coffee shop doesn't open until 8am. So every morning I had to wait at least two hours till I could get a cup of coffee.

We were part of a conference, and a shopping expedition was organized for 14 people. When it was time two go, two vehicles arrived that only fitted 13 people! I was left out. No explaination was given as to why they brought a smaller car. They were clearly told 14. No apology at all, and to top it all the ladies who did go had to pay more, as it was one person less.

I find all this very poor for a resort of this calibre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirinoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 383 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a great choice if you are traveling to Tuscany and want to stay in a private villa. The town is an old medieval village which was purchased by the Ferragamo family (it was their family vacation spot, so why not just purchase the place, right?) The village has a number of apartments which have been renovated beautifully, they are quite large with living room and bedroom, and an extremely large bathroom that has a great shower and separate tub. The restaurant on property is one of the best that we ate at while in Italy, and our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about wine and food. This was really the perfect place to stay and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Stay in the medieval village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvaz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for four nights whilst attending a conference. The location is beautiful , historic and picturesque. Our one bedroom apartment in the Medieval village was huge, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and well appointed. The apartment had everything you would need to self cater your stay...it also had a washing machine and iron. The property is spread over around 800 hectares of beautiful countryside. The Medieval village is set up a hill that allows sweeping views of the surrounding area. The staff take you and your luggage via small cars to your room (it is a bit of a walk from reception !!), during your stay they are more than happy to come and collect you if it is raining or if you are unable to manage the walk to the restaurants or reception. The breakfast restaurant, VinCafe had a great variety of choices for breakfast and also had delicious lunches. The Osteria Del Borro provided the evening meals which were well priced and a delight. The Il Borro wines were excellent. All the staff were amazing...with special thanks to Luisa for all her help. We were lucky enough to witness a wedding in the village chapel....beautiful. We loved our stay here.

Room Tip: The apartments in the village were fantastic for couples or small groups. Apparently the farm house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marsbar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We attended a conference there in May. Conference facilities were pretty average but the food was outstanding for dinner and lunch. Really excellent.
Stayed in the Medieval Village and was very pleasant. Half Day trips to Montepulciano and Arrezzo were a highlight.

Would certainly stay again.

Staff were very professional. Not so sold on the Il Borro wine but the place is first class and so quiet.

It's all been said elsewhere.

Room Tip: Fabbiano is very quiet. But has very little natural light. Its a bit dark and nowhere to sit and adm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Borro Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,

La ringraziamo per la sua recensione e ci auguriamo di poterla presto riospitare presso la nostra struttura.

Lo Staff de Il Borro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I can not say enough about Il Borro. We had such a good time. We stayed in Gigilo in Poggio Piano and it was perfect. We were two couples and it was perfect. The Vin Cafe was one of the best and Steffino, Monica, Leonardo were just perfect as our servers and they seemed to love waiting on the people there. We ate at Il Borros fine Resturante and the food was magnificent however we ate at Osteria Oca Satolla and it was just a mile down the road from our villa and it really gave us the "down home" taste of fresh Tuscan food. Unbelivable. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Be sure the pools are working. Ours was being renovated. And bring jackets, it may have been April b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyZanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Borro Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,

La ringraziamo per la sua recensione e ci auguriamo di poterla presto riospitare presso la nostra struttura.

Lo Staff de Il Borro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in apartment Geranio in Poggio Piano in May 2011. Best experience in Tuscany. The apartments were of the highest quality and the staff are extremely friendly and professional. Kids has the greatest time with sight of wild boar and peacocks in the estate. Daily breakfast in Vincafe was excellent. Maurizio and Leonardo were very kind and helpful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family just returned from a week’s stay at Il Borro. What a gorgeous location --- perfectly suited for our day trips driving to the hill towns of Tuscany. Even without warm weather, the scenery and the setting were divine. Every staff member we encountered was warm and hospitable and our apartment in the Medieval Village was like a home away from home. When our travels bring us back to Italy, we’ll always return to Il Borro. Meanwhile, we’ll cherish our fond memories with every drink of the fabulous Il Borro wine that we shipped home as a reminder of our time there.

Room Tip: Apartments in the charming village area are like hospitable and feel like you're traveling back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giustino Valdarno
15.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
703 reviews
15.3 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
551 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
368 reviews
21.6 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
20.1 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borro Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borro Relais & Chateaux

Address: Localita Borro 1, 52024 San Giustino Valdarno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > San Giustino Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in San Giustino Valdarno
Price Range: $279 - $1,606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Borro Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Telling its stories, a place becomes part of those stories. The legend takes on a life beyond the place and becomes timeless.The origins of the village of Il Borro are lost in the history of medieval Tuscany and the famous people who established the reputation of the region. Every alley, every stone speaks of a time that once was, of flavours and scents that recall the memory of a rare and more authentic Tuscany.Surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, in the shadow of the cypress trees of the ancient Via dei Sette Ponti, (an area rich in art and culture between the three main cities of Tuscany Florence, Arezzo and Siena), Il Borro is an open window on history, a fresco to a far away world. The Medici dynasty, the Savoia family and now the Ferragamo family have safeguarded and preserved this precious oasis, making this place, suspended between past and present, a sanctuary dedicated to wellbeing and the art of hospitality. You are welcome - one thousand years of history are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Borro Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Borro Hotel San Giustino Valdarno
Il Borro Relais & Chateaux Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing