We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too short a stay... !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

we would have LOVED to stay longer...
yet again I would recommend this perfectly lovely place to anyone who enjoys real warmth from the hosts whilst remaining hugely professional- they are so expert..
views are sublime,excellent mattresses even for those with bad backs, delicious food,utterly helpful in helping to plan a day out--
there are NO negatives-- well done Paolo and Philip

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

thank you kindly ! next time we have to make sure that you will be staying for longer !
all the best
PAolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Fontelunga Hotel & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 263 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Villa Fontelunga as part of a 3 week Italian holiday back in June 2012 (a bit slow to write our reviews!). I could not fault this place, it is one of the most relaxing, amazing holidays we have had. We had problems locating the villa as we had no GPS (we came from Florence). But, once we finally arrived we were greeted by Rob who was managing the villa as Philip and Paolo were having a well deserved break. Rob was so welcoming and we arrived just in time for dinner party on Friday night, what a fabulous way to start a holiday in Tuscany! From the second we arrived, we felt completely relaxed, the villa and the surroundings are just beautiful. The food was delicious, with freshly baked cakes and pastries for breakfast!! Rob was a wonderful host, so entertaining and just made us feel so relaxed and "at home", nothing was too much trouble. Philip and Paolo have put so much thought into the place, there are directions for absolutely everything you could think of and so many restaurants recommendations. We just had the most amazing time at Villa Fontelunga, we tell all our Australian friends about it and recommend it to anyone heading to Italy. I just can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Fiona , thank you for the lovely review .
We know that Rob always look after our guests very well when we are not around , but he will very happy when i will tell him about you .
This winter Philip and myself came over to Australia for a holiday and we fall in love again with Sydney , Melbourne and Kangaroo island .

All the best ,
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent a few days at Fontelunga last August on our honeymoon and had a magical stay. The hotel is beautiful decorated and it feels like a luxurious version of home away from home! The views around the house are stunning and the location is just super! Breakfast was always delicious and the lunch we stayed for one day was sublime!

Whilst we were staying there, an accident occurred involving our car in the car park. Our bikes were slightly damaged but the hotel arranged to fix everything. Our bikes were repaired before we left by a local shop and the hotel were happy to pay for the damage to our car on our return to the UK. Paolo couldn't have handled it better (despite me taking so long to arrange the repair when back in the UK)! Thank you very much for making it so easy to get it sorted and have the minimum impact on our honeymoon! It was greatly appreciated and I do believe that these sort of situations and how a hotel deals with them, really shows those with superior customer service!

Thank you again, we won't forget your hotel in a hurry and hopefully will return back there very soon!

Louise and Andrew Allen

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Louise and Andrew , thakn you for the review and the kind words . I m Pleased taht in the end all has been sorted and even with the accident in the car park you had a good honeymoon at Fontelunga .
Hope to see you again in the near future .
all the best
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Decided to spend Easter yet again at this beautiful Villa. This was my 13th visit and it certainly wasnt unlucky for me!!!
The guys were attentive, as ever!. We met new guests who have become friends. The food was fantastic and the company brilliant!
The villa has had improvements since my last visit. A lovely designer jacuzzi with a built in bar!!!!!, you dont even have to leave the jacuzzi to have a drink.........my kind of venue!!
The swimming pool has been totally refurbished and looks absolutely stunning!
Already trying to book a visit again this year if work allows although I know for sure I will be back there again for next Easter!
Keep up the good work guys!!!

Angie.

Room Tip: Ametista is a must!!!....fantastic views of the mountains...first thing you see when you open your e...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddybear0070_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Angela , thank you kindly for your comments . Philip and myself are very pleased that you like the new & improved pool area with Jacuzzi and bar .Eatser week has been a lovely period with various returning guests and friends . Thank you again for choosing Fontelunga for your holiday in Tuscany .
we hope to see you again this season !
all the best to James as well
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to Fontelung during March, specially Easter time. It was our honeymoon, and we could not have choosen a better place.
Tuscany is a lovely place, and the location of hotel is awesome.
Fontelunga is a very beautiful Vila, set in Tuscan hills. Over there you just feel like home. Paolo and Phillip are fantastic people, helped us with everything we need.
The breakfast was ammazing, Paolo made a specially and delicious italian cake, and also we had Easter bread... well everything was great.
Now me and my husband want to come back very soon, but this time to spend summer time. When we were there the pool was under construction, and now I saw some pictures on facebook and pool looks perfect.
Well I am totally in love with Fontelunga!!!!!!!
:)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Stephanie and Felipe , thank you for your review !
we are happy that you had a good time with us at Fontelunga during your honeymoon in Tuscany.I see that you saw the finished pool on Facebook .
You will have to come and visit again so you will be able to relax there and soak the Tuscan sun , have a little swim , read a book or just sip a lovely glass of white wine !
all the best to both of you ,
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Staying in Fontelunga for Easter was a beautiful and restful experience . Charming house with delicious food and moreover very welcoming hosts . It's a great location to visit the gorgeous region of Tuscany

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remilft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hello Remi, Philip and myself are very pleased that you had a good time at Fontelunga at Easter . Please come back and see us again in summer time so you can enjoy the new pool !
ciao
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I mean....really???? My Easter week could not be any better than this! Thank you so much guys!
The place is just phenomenal, managed superbly by Paolo and Phil plus the entire staff of professional, friendly, competent people. Rooms are a dream, food is just to die for....everything from the little details just adorable! The soundtrack, the decor, the menu, the company....I am in LOVE with Fontelunga!!!!!! xxx

Room Tip: they are all GREAT but I love the Turquoise!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneE84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Simone , thank you ! both Philip and myself are very happy that you had a good holiday at Fontelunga and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future .
all the best
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foiano Della Chiana
12.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
746 reviews
22.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
8.2 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
543 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
486 reviews
11.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontelunga Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontelunga Hotel & Villas

Address: Via Conicchio 5 | Pozzo della Chiana, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range: $232 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontelunga Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our holiday villas, owned and run by English and Italian friends, provide a stylish and relaxing retreat in Italy. Our Guests are warmly welcomed at their holiday accommodation and invited to treat their Villa as their "home from home" in an atmosphere of informal luxury. The elegant Villa Fontelunga is set above the Val di Chiana enjoying panoramic views across the countryside of Tuscany towards the hilltop town of Cortona, whilst the Villas are nestled close by in the historic Scannagallo valley. Crafted from traditional materials, the holiday villas are now a marriage of traditional Tuscan style and contemporary design. "Until now it has been difficult to find more than 'rustic charm' when it comes to villa rental in Tuscany; with our unique "Fontelunga" concierge service and luxurious contemporary styling, at last there is something more for the discerning traveller, your tailor made, perfect home away from home." Our holiday villas portfolio in Tuscany includes: Villa Fontelunga sleeping 16 to 18 (also run as a luxury "B and B") and within 10 minutes walk at Fattoria di Scannagallo in the Scannagallo valley, two new villas; Gallo sleeping 4 and Galletto sleeping 2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Priceline so you can book your Fontelunga Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel Foiano Della Chiana
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas Italy/Foiano Della Chiana, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing