We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
300
18
10
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
18
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinner party other guests at home olive groves our honeymoon honesty bar boutique hotel friday night local restaurants perfect hosts recommend villa nothing is too much trouble owners and staff the main house tuscan countryside whole experience spectacular views
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 335 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September for our Honeymoon. The Villa is set in the Tuscan hills and is a perfect setting for a relaxing break. Service was fantastic with Rob and Paolo always on hand for help and advice when we needed it. The relaxed and informal atmosphere encourages guests to mingle over breakfast in particular so it was nice to meet people but never overwhelming seeing as its only a small Villa. We attended the dinner party on our first night which was fun and food was great. They made extra effort to cater for my wife and I as we are both vegetarian which was much appreciated.

A great benefit here is that the hosts know everything there is to know about the local area so all of their recommendations for places to visit and eat were spot on. Another good addition at Fontelunga is they that have written guides for a number of the local attractions and restaurants complete with directions and with multiple copies of each one, you can help yourself and take them with you on your travels so no need for a guide book.

Overall we had a lovely, relaxing trip for our honeymoon which is exactly what we needed so thanks to the guys at Fontelunga for being such great hosts.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCMLXXVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

thank you very much for the review ! I m very pleased that our directions tovarious places are appreciated and our suggestions for local restaurant and winery taken into consideration.
All the best Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a joy!!!!!!!!!!!! An absolute highlight of our two weeks in Italy! From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. Paolo and Philip welcomed us effusively, introduced us to Charlie and Lucy (their little dogs whom we got to know and love), gave us welcoming drinks and a chance to see the villa and the lush surrounding grounds. Philip then escorted us to our own private cottage somewhat away from the main villa. Our "little house" had a kitchen, washing machine, sitting room, bedroom and bath, all well-designed, and was well stocked with a welcoming hamper, Proseco and wine in the frig, and very importantly, the leather binder which came to be our "sidekick" for our stay....enormously helpful with directions and information about the surrounding medieval towns and restaurants. So we had our privacy and also the opportunity to hang out at the main villa at breakfast (delicious juice, rolls, eggs, cappucino, etc.), cocktail time, and an impromptu dinner where we mingled with guests from all over the world. Villa Fontelunga is perfectly situated for day trips, in all directions, to the nearby lovely Tuscan towns.
Toward the end of our stay, we also met Rob, who is an absolute delight.
If you're looking for a small casual yet informally elegant atmosphere, this is the place to be! The best part was the friendliness, helpfulness, and gracious hospitality of our hosts, Paolo, Philip and Rob!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soos106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFontelunga, Owner at Fontelunga Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

thank you thank you for the lovely words. Informal elegance is spot on !! I m really happy that you enjoyed your stay in one or our smaller villas and that you like Philipìs interior design .
Charlie and LucyLiu are well and happy that the new season is started so they will have many guests feeding them at breakfast time !
All the best ,
Paolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The views, hospitality and experience at Villa Fontelunga was the highlight of our accomodation experiences during our 2 1/2 week trip through Italy. We were there with 2 other friends for 5 nights. Every day was like looking at a Tuscan-landscaped postcard from our bedroom window and when we went downstairs for breakfast, we were met with fun conversation, delicious food and helpful advice on what to see and do in the area. It's an area that you will need a car to get around and optimally, a navigation system as it is in the countryside. I would highly recommend making Villa Fontelunga a stop in your itinerary! I'm very confident that it will be one of your highlights too!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Highlight of our holiday! We booked in at the recommendation of friends who stayed here last year. The moment we arrived, Rob gave us a warm welcome and after a refreshing drink he showed us around the villa and grounds. Just so Beautiful. The Villa is in a gorgeous setting, on a hill, has a 200 year old olive grove in front of it, pebbled patio, shutters on the windows, beautifully decorated throughout with bedrooms named after jewel colours - that live up to their names, fabulous modern marble bathrooms, .......and so on! Within half an hour of sitting on the patio, drink in hand, stress rapidly dissipaiting, and drinking in the view (think olive groves, pencil pines, rolling hills) I knew that we had to double up on our time at Villa Fontalunga. Thankfully the request was granted! We spent 4 fabulous days at Fontelunga. Had lots of advice from Rob, Paolo and Philip as to places to visit, and where to eat, and typed notes were handed out on how to get there. Once a restaurant was decided upon, Rob kindly made bookings for us. We were even offered advise as to where to stay for our onward journey to Rome. The Villa was a fabulous base from which we did little sorties out into the surrounding countryside and to the medieval towns. Late afternoon it was great to return to the villa, freshen up, and have a predinner drink on the patio whilst watching the sun go down, and the lights start to twinkle on the hill town of Cortona in the distance. Fellow guests would appear and it was interesting to chat and swop notes on our days adventures and catch up with Rob, Paolo and Philip. Then off to one of the nearby restaurants (La Lodola was our favourite) for a superb meal, and then back to the villa to find a fire had been lit in the loggia, candlelight glowed on the tables and Diana Krall played gently in the background. Such attention to detail! Thank you Philip, Paolo, Rob and your fabulous team (not forgetting Charlie and Lucy). You are fabulous hosts and have set a new benchmark in hospitality. My Tuscan dream holiday was made into a reality, friendships have been made, and we have such amazing memories for our 30th wedding anniversary. Regrets.....we have all said far too much and now will never get another booking in! Quick, pass their phone number!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and i stayed there for 4 nights for our honeymoon. We loved it tremendously! We can attest to all the glowing testimonies said on this site, and for fear of sounding like a broken record like all the other reviews we would just like to highlight an additional point.

The hospitality was simply amazing. The feeling you get when you enter is as though you stepped into a beautiful tuscan home, and Paolo, Rob and Philip were wonderful hosts. Philip even brought us to the antique fair at Arezzo and we have an excellent time! They even helped us with a sticky situation with our car shortly after we arrived which we are eternally grateful for! Lucy and Charlie were also great for fellow dog lovers like us.

We would love to return in future!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faibud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews