We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart-warming, inviting and delicious”
Review of Villa La Lodola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa La Lodola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We would only be repeating what everyone else has already mentioned about La Lodola but the experience was so delightful and the hosts so deserving of the best possible reviews that we had to comment. The B&B is tastefully decorated and charming with spaces full of character. The garden is scattered with trees and flowers lovingly grown, has terraces and also a pool with views over a great Tuscan landscape. Their osteria is one of those gems that you would be proud to have discovered on your own and was packed with locals every night. The entire family is so attentive, kind and friendly that we were happy to cut our days short to go back and spend more time at La Lodola in the evening. We can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DidemUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodola, Proprietario at Villa La Lodola, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for her nice words. It fills us with joy to know that your stay here its stay has been beautiful.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Villa La Lodola
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to stay in a central locale during our visit to Tuscany...and as luck would have it...we chose La Lodola. I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was with Mario and his family. I knew we had chosen the right place, when upon our arrival, Mario took us on a tour of his farm. I had never seen pomegranates growing on trees before, or taken a fig off a tree and popped it into my mouth. Mario is one of the most delightful people I have ever met. There is an Osteria attached to the B&B and we decided to eat there every night, as we felt such a part of the family. The food was outrageously good....the locals all gather there.Mario's son and daughter-in-law, Carlos and Manuela, run the Osteria and they are beyond talented, kind and accomodating. Carlos food is amazing! Breakfast was sublime with Mario's homemade jams and cakes. Our last morning, he brought us into the kitchen to show us how he made his jams. Our room was a Jr. Suite, bath attached on the first floor with a private door into the backyard....if we'd been there in summer we could have popped out of our room and into the pool...but it was a little too cool for that in late October. Miranda, their dog, kept us company as we sat by the fire in the wonderfully comfy common room. And we did day trips as far as Volterra and Assisi...easily. A perfect locale and perfect home in Tuscany. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myyodacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a wonderful little B&B, very centrally located to most Tuscan sites. Mario, the owner and father, is a pure delight. ALways smiling and helpful with regional info. He makes the most delicious cakes for breakfast as well as fresh fruit and his homemade jams. His son Carlo is the chef in the attached Osteria and his wife, Manuela, is a waitress. The food was amazing, reasonbly priced and at the end of the day the place became a small party as the inn's guests ate dinner and shared their days experiences. After ordering the house wine, Manuela showed us where the wine barrel was so we could help ourself. The rooms are spacious and filled with antiques. We stayed in the Junior Suite that has an attached bathroom that is bigger than some bedrooms in Italy!! The family dog, Merenda, lounges around all day and is happy to get a belly rub. There is a lovely pool that we didn't use due to the time of the year. We drove to Lucignano, Cortona, Montepulciano and Montalcino easily from Foiano. You truly will be treated like family here- and what a great family they ALL are. Grazie!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelRBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this place. Mario was so attentive without being intrusive. Very helpful in choosing sights to see and in how to get there. Room was very comfortable, B&B was set in the middle of beautiful Tuscan countryside. Ate at the Osteria 4 times, the food was so good. Osteria is small, holds only about 20, so menu is somewhat limited especially on Secundi Piatti. But Chef Carlo is terrific. Best Gnocci I have ever eaten, and I have eaten a lot. Ate there 4 times because of the social experience. Felt like part of the family......

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed up the road at Villa Fontelunga and they sent us to La Lodola for dinner. We fell in love with this family restaurant and the food was outstanding. The menu changes every day but think small Italian kitchen, authentic cuisine, personal service. We went back for a 2nd visit before we left. This was a true Italian foodie experience and I'm grateful we stumbled upon it. Ask for the chocolate cake :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meesh8325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For couples this is a perfect place. The host, Mario and his family, made every effort to make this a great stay. Our room was small but in good condition and with A/C. Surroundings are just magnificent and the breakfast and overall service perfect.
While the closest town, Foiano, is very small you the restaurant at La Lodola is great. The only day the restaurant was closed, Mario took us to Pienza for dinner - just outstanding.

Food, wine, hospitality, surroundings - all top class.

Johan & Erica

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan8706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the third year we have visited La Ladola, previously we have only been to the restaurant which is fabulous. This year we decided to stay too and it did not disappoint, it's a beautiful place full of lovely antiques, the pool is beautiful and peaceful if you need a day off from sightseeing. Most of all staying somewhere where you are welcomed by the whole family is wonderful, they do an amazing job.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmaydew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foiano Della Chiana
23.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Borgo San Pietro
Villa Borgo San Pietro
#15 of 24 in Cortona
184 reviews
17.3 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas
Fontelunga Hotel & Villas
#1 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
263 reviews
3.5 mi away
Albergo la Foresteria
Albergo la Foresteria
#1 of 5 in Sinalunga
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Lodola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Lodola

Address: Via Piana 19, 52045 Foiano Della Chiana, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Foiano Della Chiana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Foiano Della Chiana
Price Range: $99 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lodola is an old farmhouse dating back to 1700, restored with attention to detail and period furnishings from the owners Mario and Beatrice. The Villa Lodola, over the years, from a private house has been transformed into a charming B & B, opening to guests five en-suite bedrooms: Basic, Classic I, V Classic, Junior Suites and Suites. Spacious and welcoming, each one has its own personality, so the stay at Villa Lodola will never be the same.The Bed and Breakfast is nestled in the Val di Chiana, with view over the gentle rolling hills, a private horizon that guests can enjoy from the garden of the villa. The B&B is charming with a beautiful swimming pool, a restaurant where the chef prepares delicious Tuscan dishes and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Villa La Lodola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Lodola Italy/Foiano Della Chiana, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing