We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little hotel in quiet town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our room was sweet. It was also air-conditioned, which was unusual in Tuscany, but given the 80 degree days in October, it was much appreciated. We stayed at a number of accommodations during our stay and this was probably our favorite. If you can ignore the church bells every 20 minutes (they cool it overnight) Monte San Savino is very quite after dark. The rooms in this hotel are very comfortable and nicely furnished. Our bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was larger and better layed out than the other we stayed at.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 26pt2runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 111 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

A nice little hotel situated right in the middle of the walled hamlet of Monte San Savino in the Arezzo area of Tuscany. The town is a jewel and we were fortunate enough to be there during their annual festival held in June.

Our room was nice and very clean with a huge terrace (second floor - can’t recall the room number) that overlooked the town garden and red tiled rooftops.

Monte San Savino was a great home place for visiting other lovely close towns such as Castiglione Fiorentino, Cortona, & Lucignano to name a few.

If you’re looking for a hotel in town so that you can walk to restaurants and shops, yet travel the area during the day, I recommend Logge dei Mercanti.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the very large terrace that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Fairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

While driving from Florence to Rome we simply decided to turn off and experience a bit of Tuscany. And that's how we ended up in Monte San Savino. A quaint little village hidden behind a 20 meter high wall. It was so beautiful that we half expected it to have not have any power yet.

After a stimulating conversation with the locals, using our hands and feet, we were sent to see Gian Carlo at the Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti. Gian who spoke just enough to check us in for the night and he even walked us down to the local restaurant for an authentic Italian meal.

This was the kind of experience that made you feel like the world was a better place.

Room Tip: pick a high one for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurkhardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed by chance in this lovely hotel in June 2011 in a 3 persons room. The hotel is in an old pharmacy in the center of the town.The room was standard of a 3 stars hotel with all the necessities, including flat screen TV. The bathroom was excellent as well. The doors of the rooms are painted with floral decorations, which give the hotel a very special charm. The furnishing of the room was simple, but comfortable and the decor classic. Had a room facing the street with a interesting view over the tiled roofs and the old buildings of the town.

The nice atmosphere of the hotel was enhanced by the very pleasant young lady receptionist and the wonderful breakfast, served in the carefully and tastefully restored basement/cave of the building.

The town itself is a small Italian town with plenty of impressive old buildings and a town wall with towers and gates, from where you enter to the center. Very atmospheric with daily life and little tourism. Car traffic is not allowed in the center of the town, but you may bring your car for off- and onloading your luggage at the hotel. Parking - with time limits - on the town square just inside the city wall. Unlimited parking outside the walls.

There is a good number of restaurants in the town in walking distance from the hotel. We chose Trattoria del Forno, and were very pleased with our choice. An authentic Italian restaurant where we were the only non-Italians, with all the life you expect from a popular, local restaurant. The food was excellent and so were the wines, aperitivi and digestivi.

We will definitely go back to the hotel, the restaurant and the town, if we should be in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti for just one night. The man on the front desk was friendly, and as previous reviews stated his english wasn't great but we also got by. Rooms were OK and comfortable, but pretty basic and a bit shabby in places. Personally we weren't too keen on whoever it was smoking downstairs, as this made the whole hotel smell of smoke.

There wasn't much to do in the town itself at this time of year, and we struggled to find anywhere to eat dinner, but there was a good little take-away pizzeria down near the carpark we stopped in.

We booked a few days in advance, and although it was fine and we got a good night's sleep, the brochure for another hotel just down the street next to our TV made us think we picked the wrong place as it looked much nicer. Not sure why they put it there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davepovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

The Logge is a gem. Gian Carlo, a permanent fixture at the front desk, was friendly and helpful (though he didn't speak a lick of English, but who cares! We figured it out) and twice walked us to beautiful sites and restaurants. The rooms are charming, though, in true Italian tradition, a little chilly. The place has a B&B feel with an amazing breakfast room in the cheery cellar. The beauty of the town itself is not to be denied and, give its size, it's difficult to get lost, so go explore!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NaimaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

found this hotel by accident, staff welcoming, room clean,view great,excellent local restaurant, all in all a place to be recommended,

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chintonBasford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte San Savino
0.4 mi away
Hotel il Monte
Hotel il Monte
#3 of 5 in Monte San Savino
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sangallo
Hotel Sangallo
#1 of 5 in Monte San Savino
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Domenico
Hotel da Domenico
#5 of 5 in Monte San Savino
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
335 reviews
2.6 mi away
Il Castello di Gargonza
Il Castello di Gargonza
#1 of 8 in Monte San Savino
337 reviews
6.7 mi away
Alle Terme B&B
Alle Terme B&B
#3 of 19 in Rapolano Terme
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti

Address: Corso San Gallo 40/42, 52048 Monte San Savino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Monte San Savino
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Monte San Savino
Price Range: $80 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti in the heart of Tuscany is a very beautiful hotel in a historical building dated back to 17th century.The rooms are all different, with very romantic frescoes or with a beautiful Tuscany wood finishing and furniture.Rooms of Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti are provided with safe, satellite tv, bathroom with hairdryer, air conditioning and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti Italy/Monte San Savino, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing