We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foresteria Il Giardino di Fontarronco
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Foresteria Il Giardino di Fontarronco for two weeks in September, 2012. The location is terrific; it is in a fruit orchard just outside Arezzo, a short drive to Siena, Cortona, Montepulciano, Pienza, Perugia, Firenze, etc. Marian, the co-owner, and Magdelena, her assistant, were terrific hostesses, always ready to solve any little problems that we might have and to make recommendations for places to eat or see. In the mornings, there is coffee and a sweet cake or crepes set out for the guests and a local baker shows up around 9 o'clock with breads, pizzas, and a variety of buns for sale. The rooms are furnished simply but well, the property is beautifully landscaped, and the pool is lovely - a real treat after a day of touring.

Room Tip: The apartments with stairs can be rather noisy as the wooden stairs transmit noise through the walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnAndLaryssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for a week this summer at Foresteria Il Gardino. It was absolutely spectacular and beautiful. Our host Marian and her staff were so very pleasant, welcoming, accommodating and helpful. The agriturismo exceeded my expectations in its tranquil setting amongst fruit orchards and vineyards. Our apartment was so quaint in Tobbacio 2, fully equipped to prepare meals and a little yard space outside with our own picnic table. The grounds including the pool were so well maintained and beautiful. I would highly recommend this agriturismo to any vacationer to Tuscany. It was also well located to many of the hilltops towns, the super mercato and fruits and veggies just across the road. All of which Marian informs you of upon your arrival. Make sure you put this on your wish list!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pooner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent two wonderful weeks there in the fall of 2008. Marianne and the staff are terrific and the Foresteria is so well located...everything that you want to see is within easy reach. Or just sit and chill by the pool! The local baker shows up every morning at 9 with his van loaded with goodies for you to choose from. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. This is a COUNTRY experience, so a car is mandatory. Stay here...you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank datthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were excited for our Agriturismo in Tuscany. We stayed in Il Fienile - a one-bedroom unit - charming bedroom, bathroom, and sitting areal We had a place for our car and an outdoor table. Marian gave us all the information we needed - made us reservations for the Accademia - helped us with train info for Florence. Since we did not want to drive at night, we had a nice lunch at whatever place we drove to. When we came back to our lovely home away from home, visited the farm store down the road; got a bottle of wine and something for dinner. We have many fond memories of Foresteria.

Room Tip: there is a unil to please everyone. They are pictured on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We just returned from a week at Foresteria and it was wonderful. The accomodations were charming and the staff is extremely helpful and nice. The location is perfect for touring all of the hill towns in Tuscany and day trips by train to Florence and Rome. The views of the mountains and the abundance of roses adds to the magic of the place. We will definately return and bring our friends!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ksbunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

What can one say about Foresteria... other than the fact that it is absolutely beautiful in every way!

Myself and my oldest sister stayed there for 4 nights and I wish we had stayed longer. Mariann and her partner as well as all other staff must be commended on creating a holiday experience that is truly Tuscan. My parents as well as middle sister and her husband have been and hence the reason my other sister and I decided to visit.

We stayed in Tabaccaia 2 - a 4-sleeper unit. It had a small kitchen downstairs with beautiful crockery and all necessary cooking equipment. It also had a little sleeper couch. Upstairs there was a bedroom with double bed and bathroom. Bathroom is small, but gorgeous. Above the bedroom on a mezzanine level there was another little bedroom with a single bed. My sister stayed in the double bed and I stayed in the single bed on upper level. We were both very comfortable - lovely beds and bed linen. Only negative would be that I felt that the rooms didn't have enough storage for clothing, especially if we had been 4 in the unit.

The hotel itself is perfect - traditional, comfortable, clean, cosy. We had continental breakfast one of the mornings which was great! Every morning coffee and some type of sweet, yummy thing is set out on the patio outside reception - wonderful! Not to mention the little baker man who comes every morning in his little white van with all sorts of amazing stuff to buy - croissants, ciabatta, doughnuts, pizza, etc!!! The hotel surrounds are perfect - set in the fruit orchards with the mountains in the background and Tuscan villages in the distance.

Unfortunately it rained from our second day there, so we were unable to enjoy the pool area or take a bike ride from the hotel into the orchards and beyond, but maybe next time :) Also, because we were not there in high season we could not experience the dinner that the hotel does during the week :( i had been looking so forward to that - have heard wonderful things about it!

Hired car here essential - especially to enjoy all the other little villages scattered around. Arezzo, Cortona, etc all lovely. Some advice - this is rural Italy - when you see a Spar (or similar) do yourself a favour and savour the opportunity to get your shopping done. We battled to find shops open when we wanted to shop for food. There is a wonderful pizzeria just to the left on the main road... Otherwise there aren't lots of other restaurants locally, unless you go to Arezzo. Also, people here do not speak much English, so take a phrase book or a class in Italian beforehand! We did battle a little with the language barrier. Surrounding villages were so beautiful and added to the charm of the whole place.

Overall - perfect, wonderful, amazing, beautiful. Mariann is a family friend now... I hope I can return one day! Thank you for a great time...

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PoisonIvy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We spent a week here with 7 friends staying in 2 apartments (one 4 bedrooms and one 3 bedrooms). Marianne is a wonderful manager -friendly, helpful planning day trips, recommending restaurants, and just an all around wonderful hostess. The accommodations are old fashioned and pleasant but not luxurious. Bathrooms are functional with small showers. The scenery, fruit orchards, and location bucolic. We had a wonderful week. An unfortunate water leak caused us to have a few days with little/no hot water but we managed and knew it was an unusual circumstance. We headed out most days to travel around Tuscany, maps in hand,and had fun getting lost several times. The location requires driving and learning the Tuscan road system which was an adventure. One day we drove to Arezzo (about 20 minutes) and took the train to Florenced, another new experience - trains were on time and comfortable and a good way to travel. Another day we drove to Siena to spend the day. On day of arrival, we were able to eat at the restaurant at the villa - excellent food and service, expensive. It was a wonderful week and we highly recommend to all.....

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spengle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte San Savino hotels
7.7 mi away
Il Castello di Gargonza
Il Castello di Gargonza
#1 of 8 in Monte San Savino
337 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel il Monte
Hotel il Monte
#3 of 5 in Monte San Savino
101 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti
Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti
#2 of 5 in Monte San Savino
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sangallo
Hotel Sangallo
#1 of 5 in Monte San Savino
193 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo La Colmata
Agriturismo La Colmata
#1 of 13 in Monte San Savino
87 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Baldovino di Monte
Bed & Breakfast Baldovino di Mon...
#5 of 8 in Monte San Savino
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresteria Il Giardino di Fontarronco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresteria Il Giardino di Fontarronco

Address: Localita Chiana 255 | Alberoro, 52048 Monte San Savino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Monte San Savino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Monte San Savino
Price Range: $150 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Foresteria Il Giardino di Fontarronco 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique hotel agriturismo in Tuscany near Arezzo.10 suites of different configuration with restaurant and pool. Surrounded by a beautiful orchard and located on the heart of Tuscany,this century farmhouse has been meticulously restored. Now it is a great resort where to enjoy your Tuscan vacation. Wonderful base for exploring Siena, Florence, Arezzo, Cortona and Chianti area. 7-day Minimum stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foresteria Il Giardino di Fontarronco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresteria Il Giardino Di Fontarronco Italy/Monte San Savino, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing