We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Castello di Gargonza
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding venue”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a great time there for a friends wedding. The Count was super helpful and very nice, rooms are lovely and the vibe for a wedding is brillant. The only negatives are that the pool is rather cold but I guess that will always be a problem with an outdoor pool. Perhaps they could do something with solar panels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrisTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Friend,

thanks for your words. We put a lot of effort in creating a good atmosphere among us who work here and the fact that this is apreciated makes us more than happy.
I totally agree on the swimming pool. We have many restorations to do but it is certainly something we could do and would improve the chance of having the possibility to use the pool longer. Thanks for the inteligent suggestion.

Kindest regards,

Neri Guicciardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    65
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
131
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's the third year we keep our company sales department meeting in this awesome castle and every single year it'been better than the one before. The castle manager and the personnel are nice and kind and very supporting even if you have the weirdest request. The place do the rest being one of the most beautiful castle i've ever seen. Absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thenicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
It's the third year we keep our company sales department meeting in this awesome castle and every single year it'been better than the one before. The castle manager and the personnel are nice and kind and very supporting even if you have the weirdest request. The place do the rest being one of the most beautiful castle i've ever seen. Absolutely amazing!

Dear Nic,

thanks a million for your interesting revue. We have never had many revues regarding for meeting place and I thank you for this. We have indeed many meetings and some like are happy to return and that is the most important thing. Gargonza is very good for meetings because we are not in the down town New York where people can go off everywhere. Participants stay all together and have time to know each other and to tema building activities together like the one we organize also.
Very honoured for your positive feedback on the assistance we gave you all, I hope to see you for the 4th time!

kindest regards,

Neri Guicciardini

thank you and kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding which was amazing.The rooms are lovely with a nice bathroom and a little fridge.The roads are very uneven around the place which was fine for us but not the oldies who were unsteady on their feet.The lemon garden is very pretty and nice place to have an afternoon drink.The breakfast was tasty with plenty to choose from as was the wedding dinner we went to.Thank you for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaijai35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Jai Jai,

thanks a million for your revue and for you postive comments on the breakfast rooms and the rooms. I know Gargonza is a little uneven but hope the oldies could go still explore all stones of the village. It is indeed a little harder for them.
I hope to see you soon and have a glass of prosecco together in the Limonaia Garden.

ciao ciao

Neri Guicciardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

There's a school of thought that says you should never go back to the places you've enjoyed, well we came here on our honeymoon 25 years ago and loved it so we thought we'd break a rule.
There are two businesses here, the restaurant and the hotel. They are 100 yards apart and stout shoes are beneficial as it is rough going between them. Totter ye not, ladies, you'll have a disaster in heels. If there's the threat of rain, take a brolly. Frankly, it's not a good place if you are unsure on your feet.
Both businesses are outstanding, with provisos. The bathroom in our delightful little suite had a low, sloping ceiling and head banging is easily possible. Everything else was fine, perhaps the bed was a little hard for my liking. Breakfast is excellent.
The food and the service at the restaurant range from very good to outstanding. Order a 700g steak on the bone between two, it's quite arrestingly good.
Now, Gargonza caters for a lot of weddings, so if you're looking for somewhere quiet and intimate, this isn't it. We knew this and were not inconvenienced at any time, in any way.
The service at the hotel is good, from the cleaners up to the owners. The pool is big and clean with lovely chairs and loungers.This is the end of the hard-headed part of the review.
If you want to know how good the hairdryers are, need air conditioning and a lift because you don't like stairs then you'll not understand this place, don't go. The location is nothing short of magical, it's a hilltop village, for Pete's sake, the entire place is the hotel. The terraces, streets and gardens are all accessible and a joy to be in. It is very, very special. We'll not leave it so long before going back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helios105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear friends,

A jubilee is a jubilee! Thank you for your Beautiful review full of emotions of coming back after 25 years. Some teachers I heard say that choosing a place to stay is like finding intimately your home, so we are very happy you find your home again after 25 years. Time is not important, 1 month, 1 year, or more. We are very happy for you that you could still find your home after long.
I regret you found maybe a little more confusion but that this didn't disrupt you too much and we appreciate the way you comment our lows: stairs, stone steps, it is exactly like this because it is our sign of history. I hope you had the good walks as well and that there where finally not too many horseflies.
I hope we can see each other again but not after 25 years!

With our warmest wishes,

Neri Guicciardini and all of us at Gargonza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed hear for a few day for our best friends wedding. The castle and the grounds are stunning. Very well maintained and the staff were very friendly.
It was a beautiful place to stay. Rooms were clean, pretty and had a large king bed and a fridge.
Breakfast was lovely, nice simple options, the best bit was the fresh coffee served to your table.
Would definitely return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GKNev81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello,

thank you very much for your kind message which we are very happy you shared with everybody. I am glad you had a good time with us and that coffee was good. I think is one of the five most important things an italian hotel must have. We have every year the world championship barman for coffee to come and refresh all our staff for the making of the best cappuccino!

Hope to see you again!

Kindest regards,

Neri Guicciardini

Myself and my husband stayed hear for a few day for our best friends wedding. The castle and the grounds are stunning. Very well maintained and the staff were very friendly.
It was a beautiful place to stay. Rooms were clean, pretty and had a large king bed and a fridge.
Breakfast was lovely, nice simple options, the best bit was the fresh coffee served to your table.
Would definitely return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Il Castello di Gargonza, located a short drive from Arezzo, is one of the most stunning hotel properties in Tuscany. The way the castle has been preserved, its grounds maintained, and the modern conveniences incorporated while keeping its old-world charm intact, is beyond what words can describe.
The entire castello used to be a medieval village. The houses / living quarters of the village have now been converted into individual rooms. There is a small chapel on the grounds, a well that used to feed the entire village, a gift shop, gardens filled with lush grapes and even a restaurant and a swimming pool.
Its a property ideal for weddings. I stayed in a room called Canapino - there were cellar style food storage spaces in the room. It was eerie, yet fascinating. The bathroom had every modern convenience, including lovely toiletries made of olive oil produced around the castle. Staying here is like living a dream.
There is a massive breakfast spread offered each morning. The restaurant here even offers cooking lessons to its guests. It would be ideal if you could stay for a few days and experience everything this wonderful place has to offer.

Room Tip: Every room is special, but the Bride's Room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archanachaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you very very much for your kind words on Gargonza and your very detailed review but especially the part on the preservation is the one we are most proud of. Over these 40 years my father has restored little by little all the property when the farmers left at the end of the second world war. He brought back life inside a medieval village and he always says: "no building are really restored until people are back in it". So again thanks for having participated as well to the rebirth of a tuscan village.

Warmest regards,

Neri Guicciardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a fantatstic stay at Gargonza, the appartment was great, clean and comfotable. Gargonza is beautiful with it's small medeval streets and pretty gardens. The swimmingpool is really nice and has a big grass field. We ate 7 times in the restaurant and we loved it each time. The food is very pure/fresh and tasteful and prices are reasonable. The winelist is also good and reasonable priced.
Breakfast was the way a breakfast should be, the coffee was soooo good.
What really made the stay memorable was the staff and owner, everybody was extremely nice (including the gardner and housekeepingladies) that it really felt like an italian home. We brought our baby simon and everything that we asked was no problem and they took care of it.
The mixture of guests was unique, we heard nobody complaining to staff in one week --> what a fantastic place on earth.
Highly reccomendable to basicly everybody who wants to enjoy the good life!!!

The area of gargonza is by the way really pretty and not very touristic

Room Tip: All appartments look really great and have special places /teracces View is spectaculair
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neri G, Proprietario at Il Castello di Gargonza, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Martijn and Jeanine and little Simon,

thank you very much for your positive comments on Gargonza. we are very happy you enjoyed what a hotel needs to have, good braekfast, good dinner and clean room. But we are very happy you enjoyed the ambiance of Gargonza and all of us. It is family owned and family runned and we are very happy of our staff who works in Gargonza as if it was their property. Thank you very much and hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards,

Maria Teresa and ROberto, Elisa and Neri Guicciardini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte San Savino
15.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
8.0 mi away
Castelletto di Montebenichi
Castelletto di Montebenichi
#1 of 1 in Montebenichi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
11.6 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Castello di Tornano
Castello di Tornano
#4 of 38 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
14.7 mi away
Castello di Meleto
Castello di Meleto
#2 of 38 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
6.4 mi away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Castello di Gargonza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Castello di Gargonza

Property: Il Castello di Gargonza
Address: Localita Gargonza, 52048 Monte San Savino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Monte San Savino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monte San Savino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Castello di Gargonza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle of Gargonza is the ideal setting for those who wish a quiet retreat, far from the fast pace of the city and crowded areas, where you may enjoy the pleasure of a good book, strolls amidst nature, and small villages rich with the artistic history of the Tuscan hills, as well as the opportunity to savor the delicacies of traditional Tuscan meals and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Il Castello di Gargonza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Castello Di Gargonza Hotel Monte San Savino
Il Castello Di Gargonza Italy/Monte San Savino, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing