We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-friendly, very comfortable, super chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Eco-friendly, very comfortable, super chic”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

When you say "eco-friendly", everyone knows what you're talking about. But this resort takes it to another level.
Plastic is virtually "banned" from the premises (except of course for hygiene items). There's no painting on the walls, and all the clothing materials (from staff uniform to table cloths and towels) are organic. There's very little waste of food (in comparison to other resorts). The amenities are made by a brazilian industry specialized in local products and known for its social and environmental responsibility.

"Very comfortable" is also self-explanatory - rooms and bathrooms are beautiful and spacious, and the common areas invite you to lay around and enjoy the pool, the ocean and the excellent service (I can't say enough good things about Isabelle and her team!).

But chic is a concept that is hard to define. You'll just have to take my word for it.
And if you do, please send me good vibes when you're sipping your drinks at sunset!


P.S.: Be sure to take the "oyster tour" - champagne, oysters, beautiful scenery and friendly locals await you!

Room Tip: Even the simplest suites are marvelous, but if you want (even more) privacy, take the ocean-front, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSchlaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    41
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
184
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Yes... the positive comments you will see shared by many visitors are completely true and I would be redundant repeating them.

Yes it is a small resort and that's the beauty of it. Yes all the good things about the place are true including the Spa and the cuisine, the cool ecochic design, the small special details that surround you are all there but what makes it really special is the service...... Asian style with brasilian smile.

PLEASE Note - if you are one of those guests that cannot seat for more then ten seconds and just enjoy the serenity of the sea waves sound, the pleasure of the warm sun and the taste of a cold " agua de coco" please try other places......

It's true that honeymooners are the typical guests and they are really pampered but I was there with my wife and seven years sun for 10 days and I really enjoyed it, and even my son got in the mood with some surf lessons and the extreme care of all the staff who took good care of him in many occasions ..... simply superb and something you will never find in a big hotel. I felt like family and I will get back again.

just one small note.... please improve the wifi.... even when relaxing we need to send an email sometimes

Room Tip: always choose a villa with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysmovinglisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent a week at Kenoa with my wife celebrating our 25th anniversary ... it couldn't be better!

The resort is located in a quiet and beautiful beach, the pool facing the sea is spectacular and you really feel as a special guest. Service and staff were excellent, a surprising fine wine list, and they made a lot of effort to attend any request and dinner specials. Beautiful morning walks followed by an amazing SPA. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZecaMendonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

First thing to know: it is not luxury you are paying for but a nice boutique hotel away from almost everything - even a calmer sea. I liked the surroundings, the infinity pool, the staff, the environmental awareness, the interior design and the cocktails at sunset.

What I didnt like: (i) the beach in front of the hotel (it is not calm at all, but nice to try surfing for the first time - lots of fun and the surfboard is for guests use only - nice touch), (ii) the small gym, (iii) food prices are too high - I felt like a hostage, nowhere to go nearby and the hotel only includes breakfast, (iv) they accept children but they dont have the structure to accomodate them well (the room is full of traps for 1 year old babies - I was with my 1.5 year old niece) but the villa pool (if you choose this type of accomodation) was perfect for my little niece.

All in all, it is perfect for a romantic getaway, but not so good for solo travelers and families. And watch your expenses (including the hotel transfer, just google other options, cause it is far beyond reality).


  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LucilaPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro_kenoa, Owner at Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa & Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Google Translation
Lucila,

o conceito de luxo que o hotel promove baseia-se na paz, tranquilidade e foge do luxo onde a ostentação prevalece. Estamos num nível de luxo onde o importante é a experiência, o contacto com a natureza e onde criatividade sustentável é exuberante. São tipos de luxo diferentes e definidos de forma clara internacionalmente.

Realmente o Kenoa não é um hotel para crianças essa informação é passada logo no acto da reserva, contudo aceitamos crianças caso as queiram trazer já depois de avisados que o hotel tem de manter a tranquilidade proposta pelo conceito do hotel.

Informamos logo antes da reserva pelo respeito para com os hóspedes e para que possamos garantir que não vamos perder essa tranquilidade necessário para a proposta do hotel.

Temos muitas actividades para serem feitas fora do hotel para quem tem esse interesse, desde caminhadas, mergulho, canoagem, passeios de bicicleta, pesca entre outros.

Espantou-me seu comentário sobre o preço dos alimentos&bebidas, pois é algo que temos mantido baixo para que nossos hóspedes tenham total liberdade de escolha. Para ter como dado de comparação um ticket médio no hotel está cerca de 50% abaixo de um restaurante em SP da mesma qualidade. Um prato principal de frutos do mar frescos custa em média R$45,00 e uma água custa seja no quarto como nos pontos de venda R$4,00.

Acredito que sejam preços justos e nivelados por baixo exactamente para dar essa satisfação no hóspede quando chega.

Nossa academia é pequena também por conceito pois incentivamos a pratica esportiva na natureza, contudo gostaria de dar uma novidade, estamos remodelando a mesma para que possamos atender melhor nossos hóspedes.

O mar na frente do hotel é aberto mas ainda assim propicio para banho, contudo caminhando cerca de 15 minutos pode encontrar o mar fechado por recifes formando piscinas naturais onde até pequenos bebés podem desfrutar de nossa água morna o ano inteiro.

Finalizando não queria esquecer de mencionar o transfer onde o preço é determinado pela utilização de carro de luxo e um serviço totalmente diferenciado.

Fico feliz de apesar destes detalhes tenha gostado de sua estadia connosco e espero a poder receber de novo em breve.

Queria também agradecer suas sugestões pois somente com elas é que podemos melhorar a cada dia promovendo uma experiência cada vez mais autentica cercada de muito conforto, privacidade, tranquilidade, paz e muito carinho na atenção com cada hóspede.

Pedro Marques
CEO&FOUNDER

desperte seus sentidos | awaken your senses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Loved this place! It could not of been more beutiful, spot on service, amazing food, and decent value for the location. They staff was seamless, you didnt have to ask for anything , they almost read your mind ! They had it all taken care of without even bothering you, and they were very happy to help and seem to enjoy making the guests happy.
Truth be told, it was rather empty , so i hope the level of service will keep up with a full house, but I have confidence it will. Great job Kenoa !!

Thanks ! Blake

Room Tip: ask for an ocean side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWBrooklynNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedro_kenoa, Owner at Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa & Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Blake,

We also loved to have you two here. It makes us very happy to have pleased you in every way.

We had more than half a house and the idea is to the guest feel that the hotel isn't full always even when it is.

We are already hopping that you can return soon so we can provide even a more detailed service.


Thank you :)

Pedro.

CEO&FOUNDER

- awaken your senses -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Excellent spa, nicest crew I've seen in a long time. Everybody was concerned with our well being. The food was a pleasant surprise! We had fish, shrimps, lobsters and a variety of cocktails and snaks. The near by natural pools are a bonus. I hope to return here soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afreller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was by far the best hotel experience I could ever imagine. My husband and I made a stop here during our honeymoon in Brazil. Everything was perfect; the ambiance, the details, the food, the room. However it was the staff that stood out the most because while there are many beautiful hotels in the world we've never experienced staff of this caliber. They were professional, going above and beyond, and made interesting conversationists. They seemed omnipresent yet never intrusive. We felt so pampered our entire stay. i.e. the hotel was aware it was our honeymoon and gave us a spa foot massage for free. Upon returning to our room after the spa we found it showered with rose petals and candles. They also left us chocolate fondue with strawberries! Another cool thing was during check-in we filled out a food/music/drink preference sheet in order to personalize our experience--so if we were on the terrace they would play the kind of music we liked, same with food and cocktail options on the menu. We were the only guests there on the first night so not sure if they're always able to do this, perhaps we were a bit spoiled. At any rate it was such a magical experience I can't imagine finding anywhere else! We literally felt like royalty on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melodianyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barra de Sao Miguel
1.7 mi away
Village Barra Hotel
Village Barra Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barra de Sao Miguel
648 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Ponta Verde - Praia do Frances
Hotel Ponta Verde - Praia do Fra...
#1 of 1 in Praia do Frances
642 reviews
24.8 mi away
Pratagy Beach All Inclusive Resort - Wyndham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Maceio
15.0 mi away
Meridiano Hotel
Meridiano Hotel
#6 of 58 in Maceio
2,783 reviews
24.8 mi away
Pousada Casa Caiada
Pousada Casa Caiada
#2 of 58 in Maceio
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa & Resort

Property: Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa & Resort
Address: Rua Escritor Jorge de Lima 68 Barramar, Barra de Sao Miguel, State of Alagoas 57180-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Alagoas > Barra de Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barra de Sao Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa And Resort
Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Hotel Barra De Sao Miguel
Kenoa - Exclusive Beach Spa & Resort Brazil/Barra De Sao Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing