We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor - not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We flew into the town of Jabiru in a light aircraft halfway along our trip, a cross country lap of Australia.

The day before arrival, we tried to get accommodation somewhere in Jabiru, and the Kakadu Lodge was the only place with any availability.

We paid $250 for a night here, and the accommodation consisted of a small cabin, which would be described as sparse. We had requested twin accommodation and the fold out sofa bed (which was not folded out on arrival) had a terribly uncomfortable bar across it that created the effect of sleeping on a train track.

Worst of all was the customer service. The staff we encountered were unfriendly, and did little to help with any inquiries. As we arrived by plane we asked if there was some way of getting a lift to the airport on the morning of our departure, and the guy at the reception suggested hitching a ride. He told us that no one has a car he can't really do anything as the manager was still not in. He did not do one thing to assist us - this is just after we paid $250 for a night's accommodation.

We have been in the hospitality industry for nearly 50 years and can definitively say that the Kakadu Lodge experience was extremely poor value for money. Even at half the price we paid - it would still have been poor. A shoddy cabin with shoddy service in a nice part of the world. Unfortunately when the destination justifies a price, companies can get away with this sort of service.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank halfcab1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2009

The property has undergone a change of management along with a significant change in staffing structure. Whilst there are no transfers or taxi service in Jabiru to ferry people to places within the township. Your situation should have been dealt with far more empathy than what appears to have occurred. Staff employed at the property now have clearly deliniated responsibilities and a well structured chain of command to handle unusual and difficult situations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 460 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2007

Basic rooms, but neat and fairly clean. Our room had aircon and a mini-bar fridge. We had a double bed and a bunk bed. Linen was clean.
Shared bathroom facilities were adequate. Pool looked fine (did not use) and was busy. Bar/food on site was fine. We were exhausted from our trip into the park so all we wanted was something to eat, a couple
of cold drinks and a clean and cool place to sleep and this place met all those requirements adequately.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derreque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

I stayed for one night in the lodge room (one double bed and a set of bunk + small fridge). I had booked here because the other accomodation options were full. The room was decent (however the ceiling was very very high and therefore could not easily be cleaned : as a consequence there were quite a few spiders on the ceiling). The toilet/shower block was OK, and we shared a kitchen with the other lodge rooms. You could borrow a set of cookery and cutlery from the reception, which was very useful. The kitchen was clean and spacious. The reception was also a small shop with internet access (quite useful). Overall, I thought it was decent, but maybe a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank elo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

From the website we thought that these cabins were MUCH better than Lakeview (the only other cabins in Jabiru) but we were wrong - kakadu Lodge's cabins are overpriced and dingy. They are not cabins - they are trailers - and are small and pokey.
On the plus side the pool and bar and nice. Stay at Lakeview!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2006

Stayed here on a group tour...
The lodges are all shared facilities, they are decent but not as nice as other ones we had for the rest of the Top End and Outback. The rooms are spacious and the beds are decent,, and the airconditioning and fridge are a definite plus. All in all, for budget travelling it's just what you need and I will stay here again if I'm still on that tight budget ;)

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank redmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2004

I stayed in a lodge room with central bath. The room could sleep up to 4 since it had one double bed and a bunk bed. In addition there was a refrigerator and an air conditioning unit that worked well. The room was basic but clean and functional. If you don't mind the shared bath, then this is a good choice and it's probably less overpriced than the lodging alternatives in Kakadu National Park.

1  Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2004

Budget: shower, toillets, bedroom all a bit dirty (but what do you expect from a budget accomodation).
What made our stay so horrible was the not so friendly staff.
After returning from a trip into the national park, we found our room empty. Our suitcases where missing and being in terrible shock, it seems the kakadu lodge staff decided it was time for us to check out (we already paid for 4 nights!) and had removed our suitcases, swim wear, toiletries etc. etc. from our room.
It seems they had made a mistake, but no appologies were made and we did not receive anything for all the items (out of the fridge) they had trown away!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ascime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Address: Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Jabiru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jabiru
Price Range: $83 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also 286 Caravan And Camping Sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakadu Lodge And Caravan Park Hotel Jabiru
Kakadu Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing