We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sogging during the wet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very sogging during the wet”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Although the facilities are good, and the location is great we stayed during the wet season (April 2013) and found the campsites to be all very soggy. Stayed one night and moved on to Cooinda. Grass sites are large and ammenties are clean - but jumping out of the camper into ankle deep soggy grass was not very fun during the night.
Will stay again - but not during the wet season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read that you thought our facilities were clean and well maintained, unfortunately we cannot control the weather. During the time you stayed with us we had 700mm of rain in 3 days. Our grounds normally dry very quickly after heavy rains. We have several high areas of the caravan park that do not get affected by flood and these areas would have been the closely mowed areas that get highlighted by our reception staff on arrival. We cannot mow in flooded areas for obvious reasons.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    203
    70
    10
    15
See reviews for
137
202
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Similar to my comments about visiting Litchfield National Park, there are not a lot of accommodation choices in Kakadu National Park if you don't have a camper or a tent. However, if you are looking for hotel style lodging, then Kakadu Lodge is a very good choice. Sure, it's a container style room, but inside it's really nice. A simple, but fresh and updated style, with plenty of room. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but spotlessly clean, and there were plenty of towels and supplied bath products. The kitchen area had everything you need to do a little self-catering (minus the stove). On top of everything, I got 20% off coupons for use in the on-site bar/restaurant, which was a plus since there are not a lot of dining options in Jabiru. The bar/restaurant/pool area is very nice, with a great tropical feel and surprisingly good food. Overall, I would very much recommend the Kakadu Lodge when visiting Kakadu National Park.

Pros: clean and comfortable accommodation, with a great onsite bar/restaurant

Cons: none

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff were very pleased to read your positive comments. We trust that you enjoyed touring through the wonders that Kakadu has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great for a night or a few while on your travels through the Kakadu. Cabins are clean and fully equipped. Friendly staff. Close to all the sights such as Ubirr that surely has some of the finest rock art around. The Kakadu is great to visit during the ' Build Up', just before the rainy season.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruskiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you spent time taking in the sights of Kakadu. We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge.
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the campground and despite the fact that the campground is so big, we were not bothered by any kind of noise. The bathroom was clean and best of all, the pool was COOL !! Which after a whole day of sweating and feeling hot, feels just like paradise....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We were glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We trust you enjoyed the wonders that Kakadu has to offer even though the afternoons this time of the year can be very hot.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable find after a day on the road. We phoned a few places first and Bevs happy and friendly telephone manner won us over..Excellent value, excellent staff hospitality and cannot speak highly enough regarding the standard and cleanliness of the cabins. May have to stay longer than planned, work can wait.. Thank you Bev (and Peter). Karen and Greg, Alexandra Headland Q

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. Bev was very pleased to receive your positive comments and our cleaning staff always get a lift when they receive recognition of their hard work in 40C temperatures.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maningrida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a fantastic stay in a clean, comfortable room, actually still laying in bed enjoying the cool and looking forward to brunch! Shared amenities were kept sparkling. Chose the best deal with a $90 room and 20% food and bev discount. Staff are super friendly, let us check in early due to the rooms already being cleaned and ready to go, which was a bonus. Happy hour between 4 and 6, with an excellent choice of meals available after 6pm. All five of us can't wait to come back again. Worth a 7 hour round trip EVERY weekend!

Room Tip: The shared amenities are excellent, so don't be too concerned to get a room without the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestonFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff are continuing to provide good quality service to our valued guests. We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Kakadu Lodge was fantastic. We got a lodge which had a bed, fridge and aircon and the bathroom block was just outside. It was all really clean. The pool and bistro area was really good.
The staff were just incredible - really went out of their way to help us.
Great value!
The location was a really convenient spot for exploring all over Kakadu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff were impressed by your positive feedback on their customer service.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jabiru
0.2 mi away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
1,114 reviews
23.9 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
410 reviews
140.0 mi away
Litchfield Sunset
Litchfield Sunset
#2 of 2 in Litchfield National Park
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Property: Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Address: Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Jabiru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jabiru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also 286 Caravan And Camping Sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakadu Lodge And Caravan Park Hotel Jabiru
Kakadu Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing