We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Short and sweet”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

No problems with Kakadu Lodge at all, it was extremely clean and tidy and the kitchen was well equipped. We were able to do our laundry here which was great. Staff were polite and friendly. It had everything we needed. We did not eat a meal here however so unable to comment on the menu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeloveNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge we value all feedback. It was great to read you had a pleasant stay during your time in Kakadu. Our staff were especially pleased to hear that you consider them to be polite and freindly, it really does assist in keeping their spirits high at this time of the year when the temperature can make working conditions a challenge.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties.
Kind regards

Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    206
    74
    12
    17
See reviews for
139
213
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the studio room was comfortable (and nice and cool!!) and the swimming pool and bar were awesome. It was above what we expected from a caravan park. We had no problems during our short stay, and highly recommend the lodge as a base for a Kakadu adventure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessandJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you had an awesome time with us. Thank you for making our staff feel proud of their efforts during your stay. I trust the rest of your experiences in Kakadu were full of great adventures and lasting memories.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge.
Kind regards

Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very friendly staff and very informative on the local area, clean, beautiful cool pool and lovely bar and restaurant. Lovely shadey camp sites well worth staying at. I would recommend it to all fellow travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JenniWoods23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We value all feedback. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently refurbished the studio living areas and plan to refurbish the bathrooms in the next few months to make your stay even more enjoyable. The staff appreciate your comments on their friendly and helpful service.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties.
Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The studio cabin was excellent and sound proofed so sleeping wasn't a problem. The lagoon-style pool and spa are simply relaxing and was perfect for my husband to relax after each day of his golf competition. My son was impreesed with the beautiful rock/water feature at the end of the pool and the lush gardens. The bistro was very inviting. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We'll definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was great to read that you were impressed by our facilities and our staff are grateful for the positive feedback.
We look forward to you returning to Kakadu Lodge be it for golf or to explore the vast beauty of Kakadu national Park.

Kind regards

Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was a great place to stay; The staff were very friendly and willing to help, the food was lovely, accommodation cabins were clean and well kept.

My only small complaint was that the aircon in Cabin 23 took so long to cool the room down. We ended up having the the bedroom and living area aircon on to help it cool down. It took 3 - 4 hours for it start working.

Besides this we had a great time and will be looking to book there again in the future - Thank you :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff were pleased to read your comments about the cleanliness of your accommodation. I apologise for your airconditioner complaint. It is company policy to have airconditioners turned on for rooms arriving as we appreciate that most people visiting are climate challenged at this time of the year in our region where it is extremely hot, unfortunately your room was missed, which is extremely rare. We trust that your friends also enjoyed their stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties.

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in a studio cabin and it was perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and helpful, meals were restaurant class and the lagoon-style swimming pool was welcome at the start of the Wet season. As residents of the Top End, we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins which are near the entrance. Little traffic meant that it was extremely quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kakadu Lodge. We value all feedback. Our staff are particulrly pleased to receive your positive comments. It is great to see NT residents exploring their back yard during the build up when the bird life is exceptional and the attractions of Kakadu are not too busy as the tourist season draws to a close.
We look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties.

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are a family of five and we stayed in a two bedroom cabin. We were all comfy in the cabin and were not left wanting for anything else. Jabiru is central to most of the attractions of Kakadu and looking at the other accomodation I think we stayed in the best spot. The kids loved the pool area as did I. We ate one night at the bistro/ restaurant. The food was good though a little pricey as was the beer. Everything in Kakadu costs more though. We got our Coronas and most of our food in Darwin before heading out. The other nights we cooked our own in our cabin which had all of the appliances we needed. We would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhh, General Manager at Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review on our property. It was pleasing to read that you consider us to be the best accommodation option in Kakadu. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We endeavour to keep our prices as reasonable as possible, but it is a difficult excersize because of freight costs associated with our location as well as our policy of not purchasing ready to go food. Our chefs take pride in being able to supply fresh, Australian produce rather than processed imported options.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again at Kakadu Lodge or one of our other Aurora properties.

Kind regards
Peter Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park

Property: Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Address: Jabiru Drive, Jabiru, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Jabiru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jabiru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also 286 Caravan And Camping Sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kakadu Lodge And Caravan Park Hotel Jabiru
Kakadu Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing