We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for peace and friendliness in Motueka.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stay here for peace and friendliness in Motueka.”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

A wonderful place to stay just a couple of minutes from the main road but worlds apart in terms of lack of noise from traffic.Such a beautiful garden to sit outside on your deck and enjoy. Lisa and Alan are amazing hosts and take time to chat and recommend places to visit without being pushy. The units are exceptionally clean and well maintained with all you could wish for.
The Thai restaurant in the town is lovely we ate there both nights so I can't comment on the others, but there are plenty to choose from.
We went up to Able Tasmin and caught a sea taxi from Kaiteriteri which is only 15 mins away. It dropped us off up the coast and we walked back down to be met later in the afternoon, it's a beautiful coastline with many photo opportunities.
All in all it's a great area to stay and Equestrian Lodge is the place to go if you do.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlussa, Owner at Equestrian Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Although it was warm and dry when you were here, you'll be pleased to know the sun hasn't stopped shining since you left!! Thanks for the great review, lets hope you achieve your goal and we'll see you again in 5 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    54
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
152
242
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed for one night on the way to Golden Bay. Although it is right in Town it's in an 'estate' setting with lovely grounds with areas for picnics and barbeques, and spacious rooms..
We picked this Motel because of the hot tub - which we enjoyed. Hosts were very friendly and helpful and seemed to enjoy their work!.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleLakeInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We spent 7 weeks touring New Zealand North and South Island and we found this to be the best motel we stayed in. Lisa and Alan are the right people in the right job. All the postive reviews that you read here are true. The rooms are spotless, beds very comfortable, quiet location but minutes from shops and restaurants. The Abel Tasman Park where you can pick up a water taxi is a short drive away about 18 to 20 minutes. After a day in the park the beautiful garden is just the place to relax have a swim, and it`s one of the few places in NZ with comfortable sunbeds. We hope to return here one day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We were delayed by the volcanic dust cloud and so this was an unplanned extra few days to our holiday. Alan and Lisa were more than helpful and their motel couldn't be faulted. We were concerned as to what to do and where to go, they helped with plans and getting us back on our feet. The gardens were lovely, the room large, well equipped and clean, their company and help invaluable. If you need a base for this part of the world then come here, you'll not be disappointed. You could use the motel as a pleasant holiday base if you wish to visit the National Park nearby, or simply because its so comfortable in its own right. Well worth a visit. S and M L, Portsmouth UK

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahApril10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlussa, Owner at Equestrian Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Thank you for your kind review, we're so pleased you made it home ok - just in time for the General Election!!?
We really do appreciate the fact that some of our guests take the time to leave us great reviews - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

2 minutes from the busy Motueka main road this motel was a quiet haven in a 2 acre garden. Each unit was very large (I was shown 4 to chose from) and spotlessly clean. To sit on your own verandah overlooking garden and swimming pool at the end of long day sight seeing was fantastic.
The motel is well situated for Able Tasmin Park and Nelson. The owners Alan and Lisa were very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellers4549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed here as 2 couples sharing a unit. If you do this ask for the unit right at the end as it is a bit bigger than other double units and not that much more to pay. Good sized double rooms, good shower/toilet etc and a really large lounge/kitchen area. We used the BBQ 2 of the 3 nights we stayed. Realy good and there are tables to eat off outside. There was even plenty of space to cook for and entertin 2 other couples both outside and in the unit There is a small swimming pool and spacious grassy grounds - this being the best motel we stayed in. It is nice and quiety - not on the main road through Motueka like most other accommodation. Alan and Lisa run it and they couldn't have been more helpful. Very nice hosts. If you eat out try the Thai restaurant in town - not too expensive and fabulous tasting food.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2010

this motel was perfect genuinely close to shops and restraunts easy walking distance lovely grounds and swimming pool hosts alan and lisa very friendly and helpful we stayed seven days

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken83Warrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
17.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
65 reviews
5.0 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
171 reviews
6.3 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equestrian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equestrian Lodge Motel

Property: Equestrian Lodge Motel
Address: 2 Avalon Court | Off Tudor Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Equestrian Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in our peaceful oasis just 5 minutes short stroll from Motueka high street. Our 15 ground floor units open out to our 2 acres of landscaped gardens. There is plenty of off-street parking for cars, boats and trailers. BBQ, dine or picnic in the shade of trees and sun umbrellas. Our facilities include children’s play area, solar heated swimming pool (seasonal) and private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Equestrian Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equestrian Hotel Motueka
Equestrian Motel Motueka
Equestrian Lodge Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing