We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Alan and Lisa are wonderful hosts. The room was 5 star and the friendly atmosphere when I turned up was second to none. Would highly recommend you stay here. Thank you so much and will see you again soon.

Steve Goddard

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Equestrian Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 506 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband Don and I were pleased to have his son out in NZ from the UK and so we took him to Motueka along with our boat. Joining us was Don's daughter, son-in-law and three grandchildren AND Don's ex-wife and her partner. We took three units sued by side. This complex is very well appointed and the staff are just lovely. There is a huge area of grass for the children to play on, a BBQ with outdoor dining space nearby, a fenced and heated swimming pool - and all of this is just a five minute drive from the most beautiful golden sand beach.

We all had space to do our own "thing" and there was space enough for all of us to get together for the dinners cooked on the BBQ.

It is a fabulous and inexpensive holiday destination and provides everything right there whilst also giving you access to all of the Abel Tasman National Park area which has to be one of the most idyllic places on thus Earth.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TutuSwannanoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at Equestrian 2-bed room unit for two nights with my elderly parents. This is the most spacious, peaceful and clean motel I've ever stayed. The design of the unit is very considerate and convenient! Big bedrooms, big lounge with good furniture! There's a big well maintained green space in the middle, and all the units look out to the garden. The utensils in the kitchen are very convenient. We found all we need to make simple cooking. My parents would love staying here for the whole trip. So we look forward to staying here again! The hosts Alan and Lisa are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: the two bed room unit at the end is very quite and spacious, and have good privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chch_fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here which were organised by friends who had stayed before. The motel is in the middle of a residential street but is lovely and quiet with beautiful gardens and quite central to the towns main street. The accommodation was very clean although,as the rooms are like "pods" you can hear people moving about next door very easily. Continental breakfast is also supplied in your rooms on request. The hosts - Lisa and Alan- were lovely and friendly and I'm sure they would have helped with any query. It's still a bit of a drive to the Abel Tasman park but there are various transport options available in the town.

Room Tip: Most rooms look onto the gardens and are accessed from ground level
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CURTIS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay, Lisa and Alan were very friendly and welcoming. The two bedroom room was very spacious and comfortable, and modern. Would very highly recommend staying here! There is plenty of space in the grounds and a nice view to the gardens from the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMYLEWIS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were welcomed by the very friendly owners, with a big smile and ansering all questions we had. Units are great, very modern, well maintained, very well looked after and very clean. The place doesn´t have a landscape to look at (like many of the other motels around the country), but they have managed to create a landscape for the motel, with a very beautiful garden, a nice swimming pool, beautiful lights at night and a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. We had a great BBQ the night we stayed there, and sleeping quality was perfect (quiet and relaxing). We will definitely be back, a big THANK YOU! to the owners

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The very high standard of the accommodation and the gardens reflects the commitment and attitude of Lisa and Alan. They are constantly working to enhance what is already a lovely place to stay, but our strongest memory is of just how helpful and friendly they were.

As has been said by others already, the rooms are of a very good size and beautifully equipped, the grounds are spacious and very attractive and there is an excellent swimming pool and a spa. The shops are very close, as are restaurants.

Our stay at the Equestrian Lodge Motel was a highlight of our holiday in New Zealand and, along with all the other reviewers, we would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickandRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
17.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
20.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
263 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
65 reviews
6.3 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equestrian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equestrian Lodge Motel

Address: 2 Avalon Court | Off Tudor Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Price Range: $93 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Equestrian Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in our peaceful oasis just 5 minutes short stroll from Motueka high street. Our 15 ground floor units open out to our 2 acres of landscaped gardens. There is plenty of off-street parking for cars, boats and trailers. BBQ, dine or picnic in the shade of trees and sun umbrellas. Our facilities include children’s play area, solar heated swimming pool (seasonal) and private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Equestrian Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equestrian Hotel Motueka
Equestrian Motel Motueka
Equestrian Lodge Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing