We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed for a week recently and could not fault this property. The hosts Alan and Lisa are very friendly and helpful and you can see they take great pride in their property. The motel is in a quiet location and only a short walk to shops, restaurants and the golf course. There is a nice swimming pool and spacious gardens which gives a very relaxing feel. This would have to be the cleanest motel we have stayed at, a real credit to Lisa and her team.
We highly recommend this motel and will definitely be staying here next time we are in Motueka.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantLarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Equestrian Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 506 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great rooms and facilities, cleanliness second to none, beautfiul gardens, perfect location and to top it all off... friendly helpful hosts!

We really couldn't have asked for more and, in comparision to other accomodation we've stayed in on various trips around the north and south islands, the Equestrian Lodge Motel is easliy one of the best places and really good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the lovely Equestraian Lodge last year during our travels through New Zealand. Alan was so very instrumental in helping us plan our hike in Abel Tasman the next day. He arranged our water taxi and advised us on the best way to see the park. He even let us store our luggage in his garage and our food in his fridge while we hiked and pick it up way past checkout time. It was nice to feel like we were 'home' even though we were halfway around the world! The suite was perfect for us, with a well-stocked kitchenette and lovely place to dine outdoors. The grounds are breathtaking and well maintained. Thank you for a most wonderful memory!!

Room Tip: Book early!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were very lucky to book into Equestrian Lodge - especially when our arrival time was quite seriously delayed, it was so nice to see a friendly face at the end of a long journey! Everything had been thought about in these spacious apartments, a lovely kitchen and lounge and comfortable beds. Would have loved to barbecue in the gardens - the weather was against us so we went in the hot tub instead! Be sure to ask about what to do in the area, the information about the Abel Tasman water taxis and the local vineyards was very welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed in many motels through New Zealand in recent years and this is right up there with the best of them

The hosts Alan and Lisa provide a great service right from the moment we arrived and could not have been more helpful during the stay.

In terms of location this is spot on for exploring Abel Tasman national park and Alan was only to happy to help with bookings.

The motel itself has excellent rooms, of good size and they are spotlessly clean, which Lisa clearly prides herself on. The grounds are lovely with a very nice swimming pool and the laundry facility is excellent.

A first class place to stay. Hope we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I wish we had known about this place the first time we went to Motueka but we are really pleased we have found it now. Lovely clean, comfortable and well equipped accommodation in beautiful grounds. Great amenities, with a lovely swimming pool, spa, laundry and gardens and in a nice quiet spot. To top it off, wonderful hosts. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great clean and comfortable self catering accommodation set in lovely gardens with pool. All rooms have decking with furniture. Facilities included laundry and drying area and a library of over 100 free DVDs. Owners very friendly and helpful. We extended our stay to 5 night as we liked the accommodation and Motueka is a great base for Abel Tasmen but also has its own beach, wet lands, fabulous walks, cinema and good places to eat. Would stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground level. We experienced no noise at nigh.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
17.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
20.5 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
263 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
65 reviews
6.3 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equestrian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equestrian Lodge Motel

Address: 2 Avalon Court | Off Tudor Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Price Range: $93 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Equestrian Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in our peaceful oasis just 5 minutes short stroll from Motueka high street. Our 15 ground floor units open out to our 2 acres of landscaped gardens. There is plenty of off-street parking for cars, boats and trailers. BBQ, dine or picnic in the shade of trees and sun umbrellas. Our facilities include children’s play area, solar heated swimming pool (seasonal) and private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Equestrian Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equestrian Hotel Motueka
Equestrian Motel Motueka
Equestrian Lodge Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing