We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

What a lovely location. We decided to stay in Motueka as a base for our Abel Tasman trip. We found this motel through the AA New Zealand Motel guide coupled with Trip Advisor reviews. It didn't disappoint. My husband and I prefer to be away from the rat race of busy towns and this suited us perfectly. Our studio apartment was beautifully clean and very well furnished and like all the apartments overlooked the wonderful gardens and pool? The town is only a few minutes walk away. The owners Lisa and Alan were very welcoming and helpful. We only stayed two nights but could easily have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sunny garden and are single story. Parking is right outside the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 511 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here in feb 2012, and had a really great time. The units were refurbished beautifully and kept very well, the kitchen area had great facilities and the grounds of the units were just beautiful, lovely well kept gardens, great pool and even a BBQ area! The hosts were a really lovely english couple who made us feel right at home, offering great advice on the area and even NZ itself. Overall great stay, would recommend to others!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmAndAl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Arriving in Motueka after dark we came upon the lodge by chance. What a treat, friendly hosts, extra clean units ( and I would say older units that have been beautifully renovated) all set in beautiful gardens. The only downside for me was that it wasn't Summer as I would have loved to try out their fabulous pool. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YVONNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our tour "down under" and can honestly say it was the best motel we have ever stayed in. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and in beautiful gardens, full of flowers. We normally think of motels for 2 or 3 night stops but this was one you could easily stay for a week. Alan, the owner (we did not meet his wife Lisa) was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be similar and well situated around the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our family stayed in a three bedroom unit and it was well equipped, clean and spacious. Alan and Lisa were very obliging hosts with a clear and impressive desire to provide top quality service. They were most helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. We appreciated the information about restaurants in town and enjoyed a fantastic meal out as a result. The lovely hot pool was great, too and the grounds were ideal for the children to explore.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasMelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as a base for exploring Abel Tasman. I don't ordinarily mention owners by name in a review, but Alan and Lisa were great. Alan went above and beyond when our kayak company cancelled a half hour before they were supposed to pick us by calling another company that he knew we had spoken with to see if we could go with them. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is also only a block from a large grocery store so it's an easy place to provision yourself and then do some cooking back at the "lodge." There are also trampolines.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights. The owner called us before we arrived to check when are we expected to arrive and suggested to leave the keys somewhere in case we arrive after 10PM.. It felt good to know that we don't need to be in a rush. We arrived at 10PM and the owner was waiting for us with the keys and showed us the room with a lot of patience despite the late hour.
The family 2 bedroom room was very clean and specious with large a kitchen and a bath.
The gardens were tidy and beautifull. The pool looked nice but we didn't use it as it was too cold. The laundry room was clean with nice seets and magazines to read while waiting.
There was a trampoline for the kids to use. It felt like the owners are giving a thought to every little detail and providing a good quality accomodation for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAYSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
17.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
17.4 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
351 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
65 reviews
5.0 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equestrian Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equestrian Lodge Motel

Address: 2 Avalon Court | Off Tudor Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Price Range: $99 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Equestrian Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in our peaceful oasis just 5 minutes short stroll from Motueka high street. Our 15 ground floor units open out to our 2 acres of landscaped gardens. There is plenty of off-street parking for cars, boats and trailers. BBQ, dine or picnic in the shade of trees and sun umbrellas. Our facilities include children’s play area, solar heated swimming pool (seasonal) and private spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Equestrian Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equestrian Hotel Motueka
Equestrian Motel Motueka
Equestrian Lodge Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing