We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to experience the wilderness!!”

Abel Tasman Canyons
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in Motueka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Abel Tasman Canyons provides exciting guided canyoning trips in the popular Abel Tasman National Parks, the wild and remote Kahurangi National Park and the more accessible Mt Richmond Forest Park. We take you to our stunning places and help you to take a step (or two) out of your comfort zone. Slide down water polished chutes, jump into crystal clear pools and abseil through showering waterfalls.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had such a great day in 'Torrent River' canyon with Toine and Lee as our guides and we had a lovely bunch of people in our group. I wasn't sure whether I would be brave enough for this trip but everybody was very reassuring and it was clear that the guides knew exactly what they were doing. I suprised myself and enjoyed every minute!
We got to abseil down, jump off, wade through, swim, slide and zip wire our way down the canyon- amazing fun! This is a fantastic way to literally immerse yourself in the pristine natural environment of NZ- could really appreciate the unspoilt nature of the place.
Great lunch and refreshments too - especially the hot Raro!!
I would recommend this company to anyone!

Thank katyp49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasmanCanyons, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Awesome! Thank you! Loving the fact that heaps of people mention the hot raro! Great to hear that you felt that you challenged yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"torrent river"
in 90 reviews
"zip lining"
in 44 reviews
"comfort zone"
in 21 reviews
"new zealand"
in 64 reviews
"canyoning experience"
in 13 reviews
"abel tasman"
in 78 reviews
"great fun"
in 22 reviews
"water taxi ride"
in 11 reviews
"photos and videos"
in 9 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 5 reviews
"wet suits"
in 5 reviews
"cliff jumping"
in 4 reviews
"hot drinks"
in 4 reviews
"slippery rocks"
in 4 reviews
"perfect balance"
in 4 reviews
"big jumps"
in 6 reviews
"canyon tour"
in 5 reviews
Filter

331 - 335 of 362 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went with our 4 kids and had one of our most memorable experiences ever. Our kids are ages 11 - 15. Toine and Lee were great with them. Beware if your kids are at all timid, this is not for them, but if you have kids with some guts and a sense of adventure, they will go crazy over this trip. My husband and I were thrilled as well. It is a true adventure with jumps, slides, zip lines and hiking. We did the Torrent River which is perfect for your first time, and if you want a taste of all the different activities. At the end of the day, my family was exhausted and exhilarated. Thank Toine and Lee for a fantastic day.

Thank packerfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasmanCanyons, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks Packer Family! Really happy that it worked out so well for everyone in the family. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

In my opinion the best way to see the Abel Tasman national park. In one excursion you get a boat ride to a magnificent beach, great walk into the national park to reach the start of the canyon and pure fun canyoning your way down. The guides are playful but very professional - a must do!

Thank MarameoDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farout27, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks Mara, it was great to have you and Whitney on the trip! Go check out some canyons in in Italy too they are amazing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was the first I have ever heard of Canyoning. Essentially you hike to the top of a canyon and find your way down via zip lines, abseiling (repelling), rock slides and jumping off rocks into pools of water. We went on the Torrent Canyon trip led by Toine, Mark and Lee. All three guides were fun, knowledgeable, safe and professional. The scenery is breath taking and so is the cold canyon water. But rest assured, gear and lunch are provided along with snacks and hot drinks along the way. This is a must do for anyone seeking adventure or wanting to step outside there comfort zone. Pictures are taken by the guides, and will be sent to you after your trip. Don't miss out on one of New Zealand's hidden treasures!

Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farout27, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Good on ya Charlie! Fantastic job in there! We'll see you later this season for the big one!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Brilliant adventure, Amazing scenery, fantastic team.

We went in the Torrent Canyon led by Lee and Mark. The guides were great fun, got everyone involved and knew their stuff.

The canyon had plenty to keep us busy with slides, abseiling, jumps and loads more. I had such an amazing day and the location couldn't be more stunning.

A must do whilst in New Zealand, I can't wait wait to go again!

Thank Gibber85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farout27, Owner at Abel Tasman Canyons, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks mate! Good to hear you had such a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abel Tasman Canyons also viewed

Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Abel Tasman Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing