We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avalon Manor Motel
Nearby Hotels
Motueka Garden Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautilus Lodge Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Equestrian Lodge Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden's Edge Lodge(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waters(Motueka)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers(Motueka)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hat Trick Lodge(Motueka)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
70
56
8
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
56
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabel tasmanthe main roadlight sleeperminute walk to the townlovely balconycoin operatedkiwi orchardroad noisespent three nightsbbq arearoom was spaciousair conditioningfull kitchenwell equipped kitchensmall townbeach towelssmall kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 138 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Well placed for the Abel Tasman park, the motel provided us with a clean spacious room with all the facilites you would expect. The motel is just a short walk from town and as with most NZ motels, the staff were friendly and eager to assist.
The town was bigger than expected (but with good facilities) and the road much busier. The motel is on the main road and a little noisy.
Definitely a good base for the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had a ground floor family unit at the rear of the property which overlooked a kiwi fruit orchard. Due to the location our room was very peaceful and quite.
The room was well appointment with comfortable beds and lounge suite.
Kitchen was well equiped and clean, even a large oven and microwave.
Only down point was the overflow of water from the shower onto the bathroom floor. This was due to the missing shower trim on the base of the shower screen- annoying.
Staff were very helpful and even booked our Abel Tasman Tour for us.
The motel is in a great location. Not even a 5 minute walk to the town and large supermarket.
Good quality washing machines and even a clothes line (with pegs) to hang the washing!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNMWantirna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

After a difficult drive in heavy rain this was a great place to arrive at and walk in and feel at home.

We stayed in a studio apartment. It was bright, clean and well equipped with a good amount of work surface to cook. They also had a good DVD selection that we used.

Having travelled up the west coast this was a far better standard than where we had stayed on that journey and was cheaper.

Although we were here only one night this would be a pleasant place to stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenSan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

this was a great place and well situated for the Abel Tasman park. I stayed in a downstairs unit, they seemed to have a mixture of sizes and levels - very spacious and well designed, even had an ironing board that folded down from a cupboard. Laundry was just round the corner in a cupboard under the stairs.

There's not much to the town, but go further down the coast and you'll find some fantastic scenery!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_crunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We stayed in an "affordable luxury" room at the Avalon over christmas 2006. We booked one of these rooms because we knew we had a week of sleeping in hostels and boats leading up to christmas and wanted someplace nice for christmas day and we were very satisfied with our decision. We arrived on xmas eve and were greeted very pleasantly. The couple that owns/runs the property was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was great with an excellent bed, kitchen facilities, flatscreen TV, DVD player, etc. Nice big bathroom too. Motueka is a small place so no restaurants were open on Christmas day, but the hotel has a really nice bbq area and we made our own feast and ate on our balcony. There is a decent selection of DVDs on hand in reception available for guest use. All-in-all this was a really nice place for a few days of quality facilities and close to Abel Tasman and everything else this part of the south island has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djibrilduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews