We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite”
Review of Avalon Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Manor Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A favourite”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Avalon has been a favourite of ours for many years whenever holidaying in Motueka. Always clean and tidy, well serviced, handy to town, and with Brett and Jane always very welcoming. A feature is the excellent big and comfortable beds that frankly give us a better sleep than when at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Casey567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    51
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Quebec
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed a three night stay recently while we visited the area and walked the Abel Tasman Track returning each evening to the comfort of ur motel room.

Well designed and operated to a high standard of cleanliness and hospitality, we felt at home and could relax after our time on the trail.

It was easy to shop for food and find local restaurants. We also enjoyed a walk around the tidal areas and swimming in the restored salt water pool.

Free internet is not offered and would be apprec

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front to minimize noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank residentdeChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivebridge, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This motel was spotless, enjoyed a good location a short walk from the main drag, and the folks at the front desk were helpful. The beds were comfortable for the three of us. We had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent one night at the Avalon - were upgraded to a room with spa. The room was spacious, room was clean and beds comfortable. Locality was walking distance to town. What more could you ask. Thanks - it was great!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Braeviewteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We really enjoyed Motueka, charming village and close to Abel Tasman. This motel is impressively clean, modern, spacious, extremely friendly host who helped us with our next day Tasman visit, DVDs available, calm at night. Wonderful motel to stay!

Room Tip: Take the executive spa room, big bathroom and huge TV screen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Quick 1 night stay in a quality room for a reasonable price. Very helpful owners were glad to point us in the right direction for a good steak meal and a J Beam but not before letting us know about the outstanding beach 15min up the road (very nice!). Would recommend to all as a great stay, thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Max I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

we stayed just two nights and were more than satisfied with the cleanliness, location, and service. The hotel is just prior to the main strip of Motueka restaurants, shops, etc -- about a 10 min walk.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have no covered entrance for when it rains, I'd recommend a first-floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank carl0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
0.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nautilus Lodge Motel
Nautilus Lodge Motel
#3 of 24 in Motueka
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#4 of 24 in Motueka
54 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Manor Motel

Property: Avalon Manor Motel
Address: 314 - 316 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avalon Manor Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Manor Motels offers a range of affordable high quality accommodation, from spacious studio’s through to one & two bedroom apartments and two access units. We also have a guest laundry and a delightful garden with BBQ area. Its only a 5 minute walk to Motueka’s restaurants, supermarkets and shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Manor Hotel Motueka
Avalon Manor Motel Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing