We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Motueka”
Review of The Captains Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Captains Rose
Ranked #9 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B in Motueka”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Captains Rose last November and we had a wonderful time. Evelyn and Nick made us feel very welcome and were wonderful hosts. They know their town very well and were therefore full of helpful advice on how to get around and who to talk to if you want to book a tour to the Abel Tasman.

The B&B is located on a side road in Motueky, and therefore it's nicely quiet - nothing to disturb a good night's sleep. The seaside is less than a 5-minutes walk away.

The room we had was very clean, comfy, and had everything we needed for our stay. It did not have an en-suite toilet, but a private toilet down the corridor, which was more than alright for us. We didn't make use of the swimming pool as it was still quite chilly when we were there.

In the morning Evelyn made us a sensational breakfast, with the obligatory coffee/tea and toast, but also with home-made mueslis, self-made jam, fresh fruit and yoghurt, and more.

We enjoyed our stay very much and can highly recommend the Captain's Rose for a stay in Motueka. Thanks loads, Evelyn and Nick!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello Gerhard, so nice of you to remember us. We enjoyed having you both to stay! Motueka certainly has a lot to offer, and we are very happy to share what we know of the area. Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor! Kind regards and cheers from the 'Captain' and his 'Rose' (:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ziqim, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nick and Evelyn made this place feel like home. It's perfect for couples looking a silent, romantic place with the comforts of a 5-star hotel combined with the warm feeling of a small boutique hotel.

The place offers bikes that you can ride in a nice bike route along the coast. The bikes are free, and stored in a garage along with a special, beautiful eye-candy.

The rooms are clean, cozy, and have nice luxuries like sponges, silk-soft bathrobes and great sheets.

The NZ breakfast - home-made bread, coffee, muffins, home-made jams, a variety of fresh fruit, cereals and yogurt - was exquisite.

Note that this is B&B, not a backpacker's lodge. There is a barbecue outside, and making tea and coffee is OK, but you can't use the kitchen for cooking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamMatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn S, Owner at The Captains Rose, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Adam,
thank you so much for that rather special review! What a lovely surprise for me this morning, it makes all the hard work worthwhile. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I feel it is important to help all our guests have nice memories of their stay in our little part of the world.. Nick says 'hello' and he'd be happy for you to go for a spin in the 'eye candy' if you're over this way again!
Very best wishes, from Evelyn and NIck in Motueka NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Evelyn and Nick gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived on a rainy day in mid February. We were pleasantly surprised that the room we had booked had been recently renovated. We were booked into one of their two rooms which was the smaller one of both. The room was indeed quite small but it was exactly what we had been expecting as the pictures on their website are accurately taken. It should also be said that everything is extremely clean and well-kept. The next day we were greeted with sunshine and very warm weather and we immediately started enjoying their swimming pool which is a very extra. Evelyn greeted us with a home-made breakfast which included freshly made bread and an excellent selection of fruit and jam. There is a cooked breakfast available upon request but we did not try it. For us it felt like home and Evelyn and Nick did everything to make us feel welcome. They also had very handy tips for the area. For example, we went to the organic food hall and had an excellent lunch, please ask Evelyn for directions, this one is not to be missed. As the larger room was already booked we had to remain in the small room for two nights but for our third night Evelyn was so kind to move as to the suite. This was a very pleasant surprise as the larger room is very spacious and has its own little sitting area and bathroom. After three nights we really regretted that we had to move our trip around the South Island. Thank you Evelyn and Nick for the pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Motueka hotels
0.9 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#3 of 24 in Motueka
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nautilus Lodge Motel
Nautilus Lodge Motel
#4 of 24 in Motueka
118 reviews
8.4 mi away
Motueka River Lodge
Motueka River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngatimoti
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captains Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captains Rose

Property: The Captains Rose
Address: 16 Trewavas Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captains Rose is a lovely property near the foreshore only a couple of minutes from Motueka township by car. Abel Tasman National Park and the famous Kaiteriteri Beach are only 20 mins away. We have a suite comprising a bedroom, lounge (with sm kitchenette) and bathroom, offering you total privacy. Also a bedroom with en-suite shower and basin, with your own toilet just along the hall. Continental breakfast with all homemade goodies. Swimming pool and gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Captains Rose Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing