We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Spot! Breathtaking views :)”
Review of The Waters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waters
Ranked #3 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This location is priceless. The views are am amazing! We ended our honeymoon at The Waters and we couldn't have chose a better place. Waking up to the ocean in your back yard is very relaxing and the breakfast was great as well. The host's were fabulous too. I could say 100 things great about this place and nothing negative. "Piece of Heaven" describes it well. LOVE!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 108 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at "the Waters". We were impressed about the impressive scenery of Kina beach and the fabulous and very stylish suites right to the sea.
My wife and me used the opportunity for a one day trip to Abel Tasman National Park (boat, kayak, walk). During that time our fantastic hosts Claire and Phil cared so warm and friendly about our daughter and grandma. We got a delicious breakfast with Claires homemade Muesli.
We really felt very welcome at this nice place. During our 4 week trip through New Zealand - "the Waters" was our No. 1 B&B accomodation! Thanks a lot

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed at The Waters with some friends and we were blown away by this amazing spot. Stunning sea views right over Tasman Bay, good standard of apartments and warm and friendly hosts. Having been lucky enough to have stayed at some pretty amazing hotels and lodges through out the world, we loved the waters because of it's informal ability to give us a chance to unwind and relax. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for our hosts. Great location, weather usually great but we had a few cloudy days which was disappointing. Recommended for a totally chill out break so we look forward ed getting back there for a de stress and vino. Thanks Phil and Clare - you were great hosts.

Room Tip: all good rooms but I think the room at the end of the block is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

As frequent international travellers, we have stayed in luxury hotels world-wide, but these newly built boutique studios with their cutting edge design and stunning setting easily rank alongside the best and most beautiful accommodation we have ever experienced. They are located within an olive grove on a peaceful peninsula close to the Abel Tasman national park and there are only three studios, so the grounds will never be crowded. Each has glass walls front and rear leading on to private decks; the front faces the sea and catches the morning sun and the rear is built over the small lake, where we sat with evening drinks, listening to the croaking of the frogs and watching the sun set.

The interiors are outstanding; modern design at its very best, meticulously co-ordinated in subtle off white, taupe and blue-grey shades that echo and integrate the sea and the lake visible through the glass walls. The furnishings, from the Eileen Grey side tables and the skin rugs on the off white floors to a huge and luxurious bed are of a quality rarely found even in high-rating boutique hotels. Every need is anticipated – a Sony dream machine sits by the bed, leather-cased binoculars on the bookshelves, fruit and chocolates on the table. Add to all this warm but discreet hosts, Claire and Phil, who are keen to adapt their service to your personal requirements (in our case this meant having breakfast put into our fridge the night before rather than having it served to us so that we could rise and eat without regard for time), and you really have a piece of heaven. Our trip to New Zealand was intended to be a one-off but, despite the distance, the Waters will draw us back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnandJenny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: cualquiera de ella es fantastica
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle sehr gut
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lolaluna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire G, Manager at The Waters, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Achim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire G, Manager at The Waters, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
12.2 mi away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
259 reviews
21.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
366 reviews
11 mi away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Awatea Tasman Bay
Awatea Tasman Bay
#1 of 24 in Motueka
134 reviews
4.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
533 reviews
9.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waters

Address: 182 Kina Peninsula Road | Tasman, Motueka 7173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range: $247 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waters 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters is part of the 10 ha Erinaceus Estate with over 400 m beachfront and it's award winning olive oil from the own olive orchard and vineyard.The Waters is a luxurious boutique bed & breakfast dramatically set above the turquoise Tasman Bay, in the heart of the Nelson Wine region, New Zealand. Three private, beautifully appointed accommodation suites offer spectacular unspoilt panoramic views over the Tasman bay to the east (Nelson) D'Urville Island,Abel Tasman N.P. and snow-capped Mount Arthur to the west. Our guests can enjoy our luxurious retreat while having superb access to some of the most beautiful landscapes in New Zealand with it's vineyards and artists abound. We offer relaxation, comfort and all the amenities you could want in a sumptuous environment. With a flexible range of services on offer to cater for your every need we strive to make your stay with us an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waters Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing