We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of my best experiences in NZ!”

The Sea Kayak Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.93*
and up
Full-Day Abel Tasman Kayak and Walk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sea Kayak Company is a family owned business that operates guided and freedom rental kayak trips in the Abel Tasman National Park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of my best experiences in NZ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I went on a day kayaking tour and my guide, Kyle, was awesome (: It was nearing the Christmas season and he was wearing his Santa hat, even while he was kayaking. How cool was that! He even brought along his pirate flag, all in the name of good fun (:

When we first paddled out to the sea, we gathered together and Kyle led us through a ritual. He took out his shell-horn and said some maori words before blowing on it. And then we all had a piece of brownie for teabreak. Haha

Throughout the entire trip, Kyle was telling us stories of the maori people, the history of the places. It was really very fascinating. To top it all off, we all "sailed" back to anchorage, holding onto one another's kayaks tightly and the big sail.

It has definitely been one of the highlights of my trip here in New Zealand. (: Thanks for the great experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank flounder138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your kind words and review with us for your one day Tonga Island Marine Reserve tour you took with Kyle. He is a great guide and makes sure that every trip he does is just as special for everyone that goes with him. We are lucky to have him as our guide.
Regards
The Sea Kayak Company team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    31
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great 3 day mission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Our family did the 3 day kayak from Awaroa to Marahau for dads 50th. There were 7 of us including our 81 year old grandad and we had the most fantastic time. It was a long challenging kayak considering we were pretty unfit but we loved every moment and our guide Mary was rad.

Helpful?
Thank Jenha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review about your 3 day tour you had with Mary. It must have been a great trip as even Mary is still raving about it. Really happy to hear that your enjoyed your trip and had a great time despite the weather being a bit dodgy.
Regards
The Sea Kayak Company team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trim milk and lots of laughs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our 3 day trip was fantastic made extra special by the group we were with and Harley our guide. A superb 3 days of sun, rain and laughter. We felt very safe and well looked after with heaps of amazing food and wonderfuls sights. Thank you Harley you rock.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chope66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi, So glad to hear you had a great 3 days out with us and with Harley. Harley is one of this companies longest serving guides starting work with us when he was in school and now been here for 8 years. If you want to come back for more kayaking let us know and if you would like Harley again then just let us know.
Cheers
The Sea Kayak Company team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding way to see Abel Tasman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

First things first, I have now walked and kayaked Abel Tasman, both over 3 days starting with a water taxi up the park. Given the choice of doing either again (and I would love to do both again) I would opt for the kayaking and I would do it with the the Sea Kayak Company.

We went on the 'Enchanted Coast' trip, 3 days of paddling (and swimming and walking at leisure) with two nights of camping.

There are a few things that the sea Kayak Company can't manage - the weather, the mix of people on each trip and the wildlife (worth managing your expectations on this). Fortunately we got lucky with all of the above; the sun mostly shone and the wind behaved; we were paired with a lovely Swedish couple, a cracking English gent and an adventurous German girl who were all great fun and we saw seals, oyster catchers, shags, ducks, herons and more. Worth also noting that this is a guided trip, not one staffed like a historic safari and you will need to muck in sensibly to make it a pleasant experience all round (anyone with any outdoors experience at all will appreciate this).

On to what the company can manage and are paid to do; the logistics, the gear, the catering and the guiding.

The logistics were impeccable; the base at Motueka is easy to find and our camper van was fine in their car park, transport to and from Abel Tasman was easy and all things like DOC camp passes (and a cup of tea for the ranger) were taken care of.

The gear was excellent - very good quality fibreglass kayaks were backed up with excellent spray skirts and life jackets and the camping equipment was decent too.

The catering was a revelation (and we have high standards for food) put simply it was the best camp cooking we've ever had and plentiful to boot. Our group had a particularly high coffee consumption rate (5 serious caffeine addicts out of 6 trippers) and we even had a drop off of extra ground beans. There were the 3 main meals plus morning and afternoon teas - all with fresh and interesting cuisine. The cheeseboard on day one and the veggie curry with freshly cooked poppadums on day two were notable highlights a among many.

Of course, the cuisine would have been nothing without the chef who also happened to be our guide.

Harley was quite simply a brilliant guide, chef and trip leader. He balanced his responsibilities brilliantly with informative and fascinating tales about the park and a clear love for the environment he was working in. He found time for everyone in the group, showed us so much we wouldn't have seen without him and maintained a great sense of fun with a fine blend of humour and the classic kiwi friendly charm. The little things were crucial in this - he got to know everyone individually, was always setting up the next meal or coffee but never eating unless every guest was sated and generally being genuinely considerate. If I owned a rival firm I would be looking to poach Harley as I can't imagine a finer ambassador for a tourism business.

The whole experience was worth every penny and if (hopefully when) I return to Abel Tasman I would do it with this firm. Only maybe for 5 days next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank danmonkey1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Hi, Thank you very much for that very thorough and thoughtful write up about the tour went on with us and Harley. We do very much appreciate the reviews we get and the feedback is invaluable to keep our standards at the highest level we can. Harley has been with us for 8 years and we hope another 8 years will follow as he is such an incredible guide and the understanding he has for the park is 2nd to none. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us and that everything meant as it was all planned. Please do come back for a 5 day tour with us (i promise you wont be disappointed). (feel free to request Harley also).
Kind regards
The Sea Kayak Company team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrawang, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paddle into Te Maori world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Yes, our 5 day 'trup" with Kiwi Kyle was just fantastic... Kyle welcomed us into his world of salt water and secluded beaches, and also shared with us his Maori heritage, culture and history... There's nothing quite like mucking around in boats.. Catching 'fush' watching birds, meeting seals, as well as meeting fellow kayakers and walkers...Food was great, entertainment non-stop, and weather good too! ( this is New Zealand!)... Thoroughly recommend a paddle around the Abel Tasman NP with this crew (tramping is for the birds....)...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimothyH167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaKayakCompany, Manager at The Sea Kayak Company, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and everyone, we really do appreciate it. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed the 5 day guided tour (we believe the best tour in the park and not just of our tours). Kyle is an amazing guide and that is why we love having him work for us and he has done so for the past 11 years and hopefully will for many more to come. His stories and passion for the new zealand culture amazes even us after 11 years so we are happy hear that you enjoyed it also. Please do come back for another tour with us.
Regards
The Sea Kayak Company team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sea Kayak Company also viewed

Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Sea Kayak Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing