We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gothic Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Gothic Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
180 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was one of, if not the, best eating experiences of our trip. The atmosphere and decor was amazing and the service fantastic. The food was absolutely sensational - the fish of the dsy and lamb rack were divine! We also appreciated that we could order salad or veges with the kids meals instead of chips and the chef was wonderfully gracious about accommodating our son's fussy palate. We were most impressed with the selection of local wines on the wine list. An awesome experience we would love to repeat. Definitely recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JasMelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Stone Grilling....Cook Your Own”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I was seated in the patio area which was very nice. I ordered the stone grill mixed plate of lamb, steak, and chicken. I was advised I did the cooking on the stone. The hot stone comes with a salad on one side plate and chips on the other side plate. The only problem is there is no plate to move the meat, just the hot stone. I tried to eat the lamb while the steak and chicken were still cooking and then the steak while the chicken was still cooking and then finally the chicken. This is just an odd way of doing things.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonoluluGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Have had dinner here with friends and it was wonderful food, good service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD PUB STYLE FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

The menu is fairly basic however, the food is exactly as described and quite reasonably priced. A nice outdoor patio and ice cold beer make for a very enjoyable experience.
Staff are friendly and accommodating and its nice to view some of the local "funkier" types chilling out here. Not a fine dining establishment but then again, they don't claim to be......
Overall VERY GOOD!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“These guys can cook fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Overnighting in Motueka, we decided to try this place, while the teens headed to McDonalds. Telephoned to make a reservation, to be told that there weren't any other bookings so would probably close early! Not a good start! Phone was then clearly ripped from the speaker, to be replaced by a friendly voice declaring we could book any time that was convenient! And so glad we did!
Arrived at 7.30pm to find 4 other groups already dining. Phew - not the only ones! Fabulously cool decor inside an old methodist church - and you can't miss this from the street either! Service was prompt and friendly as was the arrival of our first course. Old fashioned shrimp (prawn) cocktail and seafood chowder were delightful, with the chowder particularly creamy and full of different fruits of the sea, not just chunks of white fish. But it was our mains that were the surprise - FOTD was Gurnard and my choice was the Anatoki Salmon (we'd caught salmon ourselves at Anatoki earlier in the holiday). AMAZING!!! Himself couldn't stop talking about the gurnard, while the salmon melted in the mouth. Delicate and cooked to perfection and a wonderful evening to finish our Golden Bay holiday! It seems from other reviews that this restaurant can be a mixed bag, but we cannot fault it! Thank you for a lovely meal!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boxbobspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gothic Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
Ngatimoti, Motueka
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing