We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay at Lakeside Lodge”
Review of MOT Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MOT Lodge
Ranked #6 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our holiday stay at Lakeside Lodge can only be described as excellent with Graeme and Lisa the perfect hosts. House and surrounding area quite stunning and peaceful it was difficult to leave when the time came. We had dinner on the first evening which was as good as any restaurant meal but with great company as an added bonus. Everything was spotless and the whole experience as good as it gets. Many thanks to our hosts and their lovely family for making us so welcome it would not be possible to rank them highly enough.
Best wishes from Paul and Margaret (England)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 76 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

From the moment of our arrival Lisa and Graeme made us feel part of the family. They brought a very welcome cup of tea and scones to the Deck and took time to sit and chat with us while we enjoyed the view and unwound after a long drive from Hokitika.

We stayed in the Garden Room which we found extermely peaceful, has a very comfortable bed and a terrific outlook. The Garden Room verandah has a table and chairs, but we only used them briefly, preferring to sit over at the Lodge before joining Lisa and Graeme at dinner, an option well worth taking.

A very comprehensive ante-pasto plate and glasses of wine were bought to us on the Deck by Lisa: we then went indoors where we had a home-smoked salmon main course and delicious dessert (a bit of over-indulgence), all taken at a leisurely pace with much conversation.

Breakfast next morning offered a wide choice and more conversation with the family and two other guests who had arrived late the previous evening.

The whole experience was extremely relaxing and our only regret was that we had not been able to stay longer with this charming family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyOldhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I finished our month long vacation in New Zealand at Lakeside Lodge and I must say it was a highlight of the whole trip. This place is truly something special, from the fantastic views and tranquility to the warmth of our hosts and the food. Graeme and Lisa are wonderful people with a lovely family and a great sense of how to run a B+B (Although B+B isn't the best description of what Lakeside Lodge is). It felt more like a home away from home to us, spent with close friends...we had so many laughs and good talks. They have 2 dogs, both are sweet and good fun to play around with. We were close to some awesome hiking and of course Abel Tasman. so after a long hard day hiking or kayaking this was just simply the best!!!! Thanks Lisa for the home made treats and your friendly smile every day , Thanks Graeme for your wonderful fresh Salmon dinner, breakfasts and not forgetting your great sense of humor. We truly hope our paths will cross again in this magical place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelStubbs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Everything the other reviews say is true, the views are wonderful, the family is charming, the property is gorgeous. We stayed in the Garden room which is off of the main house and provides a good level of privacy. The kids are extremely well behaved and the family very welcoming. They are all really good about picking up cues on how much or little to engage with their guests. The breakfasts are delicious and hearty and sourced locally. There are even a couple of friendly pups who will accompany you on a hike through the forest located on their property. All in all it was a great stay and we highly recommend it here.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RuchDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at the Kahurangi Suite for 2 nights in December. Great family-run farmstay with friendly dogs and plenty of space for kids to burn energy. Log cabin overlooks a lake and a pine forest, with views to die for. We were even given a chance to get involved in harvesting new potatoes and feeding of their farm animals. Would definitely stay again if we were to go to Motueka next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikaomarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My fiance and I recently traveled to New Zealand for the first time and were stunned by it's beauty. A large part of our sentiment comes from the time we spent at Lakeside Lodge in Motueka Valley. Lisa, Graeme and their children couldn't be more lovely and generous and their property is amazing. We stayed in the garden room which was quiet and clean and very comfortably decorated. We woke up to a view of nearly 70 acres of beautiful land. Our room looked across the garden to a calm lake in front of a forrest which is part of their property. It is accessible for hiking if you like. Lisa and Graeme gave us full access to their land and even invited us to meet their animals. The icing on the cake was the superb breakfasts that Lisa and Graeme cooked for us each morning. Everything was fresh and delicious and right from their farm. I highly recommend staying here if you find yourself in New Zealand. We can't wait to return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in the garden room. This room has a balcony from which you have a view of the lake and the surrounding country and can hear all the sounds associated with it. The room is extremely comfortable. The main house is a delight as are all members of the family. I cannot recommend this homestay highly enough. It is deservedly number 1 in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Motueka hotels
8.5 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#3 of 24 in Motueka
106 reviews
8.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motueka River Lodge
Motueka River Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngatimoti
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
7.6 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
71 reviews
8.2 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOT Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOT Lodge

Address: 1243 Motueka Valley Highway | Ngatimoti RD1, Motueka 7196, New Zealand (Formerly Lakeside Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range: $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B accommodation set on 67 acres of picturesque farmland in the Motueka Valley. Fantastic mountain views from every room. Close to Abel Tasman National Park. Breakfast included. Mountain bike guiding and use of Yeti bikes available. A little piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MOT Lodge Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing