We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden's Edge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden's Edge Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in one of the double ensuite rooms that had a king bed, great shower, small table and chairs. The kitchen in the main building was well appointed with the adjoining lounge and tv rooms. The place had more of a B & B feel with the excellent facilities but still had that good hostel vive with meeting interesting people from different countries. Good value and recommended - best place we stayed on a 2 week trip from Australia.

Room Tip: Roooms 7 and 8 are great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisandLizSalt, Owner at Eden's Edge Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2016
Many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in a four bed dorm at 'Eden's Edge' for several nights. Everything was very clean and the kitchen was amazingly well equipped with a bunch of flowers on the table every day! The garden is huge with a BBQ and some nice places to sit and enjoy the surrounding nature.
Liz and Chris were very welcoming and helpful - they had some nice tips for our trip to Abel Tasman National Park and made us feel like coming home when we arrived after a long journey.
This was definitely one of the nicest places we stayed at during our four week- road trip in New Zealand!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doerte2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisandLizSalt, Owner at Eden's Edge Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2016
It's a good feeling when you can help someone really enjoy their hard earned holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a very cosy, clean and well kept backpacker. Staying there feels like staying at somebody's home, somewhere you are very welcome. We had an ensuite twin room, it was very nice and quiet (even though the walls seem to be quite thin). It is located a bit outside of Motueka town center, so it is best if you come in your own car. The Abel Tasman National park is just 20-30 minutes drive away.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked another night for later. There is also possibility to sleep in your own tent in the grass yard. I would definitely recommend this to everybody, no matter if you are backpacking or looking for some more comfortable accommodation. This responds to every need.

Room Tip: Twin ensuite room is quite affordable, $78, so if you want some more privacy I recommend this
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IiIjankukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisandLizSalt, Owner at Eden's Edge Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay. I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed here two separate nights on our way to and from Abel Tasman National Park. They also allowed us to leave our car there while we were visiting the park. Booking was super easy and all done online. It is probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. We stayed in two different ensuite rooms and both were super clean, and nicely furnished. The communal areas were also quite large and spacious. The kitchen was well equipped, clean, and dishes looked quite new. The pool was drained and not open, which was very disappointing because it was one of the reasons why I booked the place. The property is quite large and our rooms had a nice view of the area around us. It's a bit out of Motueka, so if you don't have a car and want to eat in town, it would be a bit of a trek.

I've read the other reviews of the hostel and it seems we were not given the same friendly treatment as everyone else, which is disappointing. Liz and Chris did not make us feel very welcome. We had our BBH cards inspected thoroughly and we were scolded because the ink had faded (we had been traveling around NZ for 6 months). We were hastily given a tour of the property then shown to our rooms. Overall, they made us feel like an inconvenience to them and it left a very sour taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisandLizSalt, Owner at Eden's Edge Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2016
Many thanks for your thoughtful feedback. iI's good to see BBH that has now made their cards easier to write on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in a private room with en suite. It's a beautiful, well maintained and spotless lodge. Liz was very friendly and informative. I prefer to have access to wifi in our room, not just the lounge, but it was really no big deal as there was plenty of room in the lounge and it was a sociable place. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernGirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Beautiful affordable rooms with ensuites. Great location ie close to all local attractions. Abel Tasman National Park, wineries, oh yeah must'nt forget the wineries no need to drive there are wine tours with pickup at your accommodation, so you can drink. Exceptional hosts in Chris and Liz who are a mine of local information not to mention just plain nice people.
The savoury muffins from Up the Garden Path cafe were to die for Chris.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The lodge is nicely located close to Abel Tasman National Park. They can also store your valuables if you go on a hike for multiple days. The kitchen, the garden and the living room are wonderful.
I preferred the main building to the cottages as the cottages don't have plugs.

Room Tip: Main building has plugs - the cottages don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz S, Owner at Eden's Edge Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2015
Thanks for the lovely feedback about our gardens and facilities. We're not quite sure what you meant about cottages as we don't have any - and all our eight guest rooms have plugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
2.6 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
2.5 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.8 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden's Edge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden's Edge Lodge

Property: Eden's Edge Lodge
Address: 137 Lodder Lane | Riwaka, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Motueka
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden's Edge Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden's Edge Lodge is a boutique, self-catering large with excellent reviews. It's small, purpose-built and on a large and peaceful rural property, just minutes from the local town of Motueka. Our guests rave about our local scenery and all the local trips and activities they can enjoy. When they come home to us, they know they can rest, relax and re-fresh in a beautiful setting, with well-designed facilities and peaceful atmosphere. We do not cater for large bus groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden's Edge Lodge Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing