We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Slice of Paradise.”
Review of Eden's Edge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden's Edge Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke On Trent, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Slice of Paradise.”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

You've probably already got the message from other reviews, but this place is so good, I had to add my voice as a "senior" 60+ travellor who likes a bit of comfort in old age. Lovely grounds with good planting and modern buildings. The hosts Chris and Liz Chris are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Our room was a good sized double en-suite - all v. new and spotless with lovely artistic touches to the decor. Good shower and we had all linen provided. Kitchen is well appointed but not much room for dining inside although there is space on the deck with more tables to eat. Outside is a BBQ and pool. Apple orchards all around and v. tranquil. Great laundry facilities as well. The best we have yet encountered and I can’t think how it could be bettered..We liked it so much we came back for another night after our Abel Tasman trek. We wish them luck with their continuing development of this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

positioned in the middle of orchards, out of the city. well maintained, friendly owners. the kitchen is a bit too small if the hostel is full.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urskakrajnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband, nephew (age 24) and I stayed at Eden's Edge in mid-December, 2011. My husband and I are both 50+. I had stayed in European hostels but Eden's Edge was my husband's first experience with hostel travel. After reading the highly regarded reviews of this hostel we decided to make our reservations. This was also our first stop on our 3 week driving trip through the south island. I must say that we made 100% the right decision to stay at Eden's Edge. Having just made a very long trip from Florida to the South Island our reservations were for 3 nights with plans to get a little relaxation, rejuvination and to see Abel Tasman. All three nights and 2 full days propelled us into our vacation of a lifetime. We had reserved an ensuite room for 3 adults. Upon arrival after picking up our rental car at Nelson airport (drive was about 45 minutes and this was our first time driving on the other side of the road) we found our room ready for check in. The room was very clean and well appointed considering it is a hostel. We had 3 single beds with very comfortable mattresses and pillows. Our bathroom was spacious and clean. My husband was extremely happy since he was worried about staying in a "hippies" place. Eden's Edge is hip but not "Hippyish". After giving our room a total thumbs up, we went to check out the common area and were once again very pleased and delighted. The lounge area has 2 computers (pay by the time spent), big comfy chairs, sofas, games, and a book exchange. Next to the lounge area is a complete modern kitchen with plenty of storage for all your pantry and refrigerated items. We enjoyed our breakfasts on the outside area over looking the swaying apple orchard and meandering gardens. For lunch we made sandwiches for our hiking and kayaking trips into Abel Tasman and returned to a fully equiped kitchen for our dinners. If you prefer eating out, there are some nice small cafes in town (about 5 minute drive) along with a couple of fast food places and a grocery store. Eden's Edge owners are a husband and wife who are extremely of the Abel Tasman area including hiking trails and kayak ideas. They are also super friendly making their guests feel at home. Being middle aged travelers my husband and I highly recommend Eden's Edge. Our 20'ish nephew also enjoyed his time here since he was able to meet many people who were his age. This hostel is not only Eden's Edge...it's Heaven's Edge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulligan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

First, this is not your typical backpackers, and it certainly is no hostel. As the other reviews indicate. this is a relatively small, very well appointed, backpackers. In fact, in my opinion it is a bit too upscale to be considered a typical backpackers. You could hang out here for a few days (and people were since it was raining) like it was your house, and maybe even better.

So why a four instead of a five for a rating? First, the rooms are separated from the kitchens and sitting area, and we prefer them together (others may not). As noted above, it is actually a bit too "nice" for what we look for, though we do not hang out at the places we stay as we look to be out and about. Third, they did not provide towels. It is also a bit out of town. Thus, as you can tell, the negatives are relatively minor, and others might might have the other preferences. If you can get in here, you will not be disappointed, and I can recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Top welcome and fab facilities. Loads of space and a great policy on limiting numbers to avoid over crowding. We were very. Impressed

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnWalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Beautiful hostel surrounded by apple orchards and vineyards. Rooms and bathrooms were large and clean - felt like we were in a hotel. Kitchen is good size and well equipped with lots of seating in the living/dining area. Lovely separate tv room with big flat screen tv and leather sofas. Grounds are beautiful - lovely outside decking areas. Location is just outside the town of motueka (5min drive). Easy to access by car - free parking. Owners are lovely - so friendly and helpful - giving us chocolate and biscuits and having nice chats. They make you feel instantly at home. One of our nights we had the entire hostel to ourselves which was lovely and peaceful after a days kayaking Abel Tasman. Motueka is pretty much the gateway to Abel Tasman NP - so this is a great place to stay if your planning on kayaking or hiking or skydiving (Abel Tasman skydive is wonderful). A truly beautiful hostel and definitely the nicest we stayed in in the whole of nz (month travel).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Eden's Edge is the most charming hostel that we visited on a recent trip to the South Island. Owners are so nice and helpful, property is absolutely BEAUTIFUL and the rooms and common areas are cozy and modern. It is a few miles outside of Motueka so it's very quiet and peaceful and the prices are very reasonable.

We only got to stay for two nights during our visit to Abel Tasman but we really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
2.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.6 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.8 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden's Edge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden's Edge Lodge

Property: Eden's Edge Lodge
Address: 137 Lodder Lane | Riwaka, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden's Edge Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden's Edge Lodge is a boutique, self-catering large with excellent reviews. It's small, purpose-built and on a large and peaceful rural property, just minutes from the local town of Motueka. Our guests rave about our local scenery and all the local trips and activities they can enjoy. When they come home to us, they know they can rest, relax and re-fresh in a beautiful setting, with well-designed facilities and peaceful atmosphere. We do not cater for large bus groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eden's Edge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden's Edge Lodge Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing