We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hostel - more of a hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden's Edge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden's Edge Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
bedfont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful hostel - more of a hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Beautiful hostel surrounded by apple orchards and vineyards. Rooms and bathrooms were large and clean - felt like we were in a hotel. Kitchen is good size and well equipped with lots of seating in the living/dining area. Lovely separate tv room with big flat screen tv and leather sofas. Grounds are beautiful - lovely outside decking areas. Location is just outside the town of motueka (5min drive). Easy to access by car - free parking. Owners are lovely - so friendly and helpful - giving us chocolate and biscuits and having nice chats. They make you feel instantly at home. One of our nights we had the entire hostel to ourselves which was lovely and peaceful after a days kayaking Abel Tasman. Motueka is pretty much the gateway to Abel Tasman NP - so this is a great place to stay if your planning on kayaking or hiking or skydiving (Abel Tasman skydive is wonderful). A truly beautiful hostel and definitely the nicest we stayed in in the whole of nz (month travel).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Eden's Edge is the most charming hostel that we visited on a recent trip to the South Island. Owners are so nice and helpful, property is absolutely BEAUTIFUL and the rooms and common areas are cozy and modern. It is a few miles outside of Motueka so it's very quiet and peaceful and the prices are very reasonable.

We only got to stay for two nights during our visit to Abel Tasman but we really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Had such a nice time here. Beautiful setting and fantastic rainwater pool. Owners were so nice and helpful. Perfect for before setting off for Abel Tasman and we could leave bags behind at the hotel. Our room was lovely and clean and even had artwork made by the owners. Communal spaces were very clean and cosy. Definately much more for your money than a normal backbackera

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

That's it. This backpacker was until now (many years travelling around and in backpackers) the best that we've been into. It's like a hotel, but without tv on the room (why do you want one). We saw this backpacker on lonely planet and on the BBH book and no doubts is just great. Everyting is perfect, clean andquiet, a perfect place to be if you'll be going to Abel tasman or just passing by like we did. Don't miss it, it's worth it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carvalhorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

This is a backpacker lodge that stands out from the crowd. We had a double en suite room which was spotless and a fair size. The lodge comes complete with everything you could ever need, clean shared facilitiesm and well located for exploring Abel Tasman (which is beautiful). It also comes with a pool. Recommend you have a car, but for what you get this is a bargain. Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_CB_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed in Eden's Edge for 3 nights and really liked it. It is a cut above the other hostels in NZ, definitely worth the detour. It is brand new, and the owners go through great lengths to keep the place absolutely spotless. We had an ensuite, 3-bed room, which was big & airy. NIce shower, hot water. Only thing they should add is hooks in the bedroom to hang your clothes on and soaptray in the bathroom. The kitchen is big, very well equipped, super clean and light. There's a nice living area and a lovely verandah (perfect for a bbq!). There's also a tv room that is seperated from the living, so your not bothered by the noise. The owners can help you plan your excursions and give loads of information. The 2 only defaults that I can find is that it is a little out of the way, and the owners can be overbearing. If you're not the young backpacer type, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Eden's Edge lodge was recommended to me during my trip around the NZ south island - and it was an excellent advice! From my arrival with a very warm welcome to the end of my stay I did not miss anything.
The hostel is run by a very friendly and helpful couple, who know the region well and can give hints about nice walks, places to visit and to buy fresh fruits. All buildings are completely new or perfectly renovated, the central building has a modern and well equipped kitchen, a very comfortable living room, a separate TV-room and some internet computers. A beautiful swimming pool as well as the nice garden and terraces complete the comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. If you want to find a small minus this could only be if you intend to go out late at night in the town centre of Motueka, which is a 45 minutes walk from the hostel. Apart from that it was the best hostel I've stayed on my various trips - thanks a lot for this experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil_travel_europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
2.6 mi away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
2.5 mi away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.8 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden's Edge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden's Edge Lodge

Property: Eden's Edge Lodge
Address: 137 Lodder Lane | Riwaka, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Motueka
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden's Edge Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden's Edge Lodge is a boutique, self-catering large with excellent reviews. It's small, purpose-built and on a large and peaceful rural property, just minutes from the local town of Motueka. Our guests rave about our local scenery and all the local trips and activities they can enjoy. When they come home to us, they know they can rest, relax and re-fresh in a beautiful setting, with well-designed facilities and peaceful atmosphere. We do not cater for large bus groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden's Edge Lodge Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing