We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis! Highly recommend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motueka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Moon B & B
Ranked #11 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Oasis! Highly recommend!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Moon for 3 nights in Feb 2013. We were so impressed! The Blue Moon is incredibly relaxing, romantic, well styled and comfortable! The owners took great care selecting the layout and decor for the bungalow and it really showed! My husband and I loved out time at the Blue Moon--cooking out in the backyard, enjoying the gardens, watching movies after a long hike! An added bonus is the continental breakfast that Jane serves--maybe it was the NZ air but I have never tasted bread, jam, butter, fruit and yogurt that were so delicious! Lastly, you can't go wrong with the location--a short drive to Able Tasman, beaches and downtown, it is very central if you have a car! Wish I was back there...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 484AshleyT484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks Ashley for your lovely review, so glad you and Jason had a wonderful time relaxing here in sunny Riwaka. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, tasting all the fine wine we have to offer, but of course Oyster Bay is the best ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a wonderful three night stay. Everything was better than excellent and the accommodation is a magical setting.....a place where dreams are fulfilled.
Jane our host was charming and helpful in every way......we couldn't have asked for anything more.
Judith and Tony ...Norwich UK

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithChater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Judith & Tony, thanks very much for your lovely review, so glad you had a great stay here at The Blue Moon, it was nice to meet you and talk about the 'old country' ;-) Hope the transition back to snow isn't too painful! Enjoy the rest of your stay in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our experience with B&Bs during three weeks in New Zealand was brilliant and Blue Moon was no exception. We based ourselves here for a couple of days to explore Abel Tasman and it is ideal for that. Friendly and helpful host Jane coupled with excellent accommodation. You cannot ask for more and we would have no hesitation in recommending Blue Moon to anybody. All B&Bs are different and that actually makes the experience interesting. At Blue Moon there is the opportunity to do some self catering which isn't always possible.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks Stephen for taking the time to review The Blue Moon. So glad you enjoyed your stay here and in the area. I hope you and Anita enjoyed the rest of your trip :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We found the Blue Moon through airbnb, an experience which worked out great for both ourselves as well as our host Jane (we were both first time users of the site). The room is huge and gorgeous - the photos are quite accurate. This is the sort of place where you could just stay in and read a book all day long. The location is on a side street and opposite a berry(?) farm, so it is really quiet. The room itself feels very cosy despite being very spacious. There is not much going on in the immediate vicinity, but it is a short drive to Kaiteriteri beach and Marahau, where most tours to the Abel Tasman national park depart from. In short, plan to stay here as long as you possibly can - you will not regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks very much for your wonderful review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you both again one day should you return to Motueka and choose The Blue Moon :-) I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Though it's been too long since we were there, the Blue Moon is near and dear in our hearts and memories. We immediately felt at home in the delightful, spacious, quiet, beautiful and imaginative Blue Moon surroundings. If we hadn't had so many miles to cover, we'd have gladly stayed here for our entire 3+ weeks in NZ!

Breakfasts were fresh, delicious and filling, and Jane is the most thoughtful, kindest soul -- and a wealth of knowledge, should you need to know ANYthing about the area. Easy access to Abel Tasman Park, where we spent many happy hours kayaking and exploring. And we slept deeply and peacefully every night in the tranquil Blue Moon. Wholeheartedly recommended to anyone lucky enough to be traveling to glorious New Zealand!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi Kris, lovely to hear from you and read your glowing review, thanks so much. It was a pleasure having you stay and talking to you and Paul in the garden over a glass of vino. I hope our paths will cross again one day. All the best to you both. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We recently returned home after two and a half weeks in the northern part of the South Island of NZ. The Blue Moon was one of the best B&Bs we stayed in. It is very spacious, quiet and private. Jane is a great host. Riwaka is not the most exciting place but it is a great base from which to explore the region.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlooDoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thanks very much for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes Riwaka's not "exciting", which is exactly why it's quiet and relaxing and a lovely place to stay whilst exploring the area :-) Hope to see you again one day if you come back to the area. All the best. Jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is one of the best B&B we stayed in during our 3 weeks trip across the 2 islands. The place is amazingly peaceful, decorated with a lot of taste and creativity, full of light (although we stayed in Oct and it was raining all day). Jane a wonderful host, very discrete and cares a lot about your well being. We loved the very big room with huge windows, the bed (high quality, best sleep we had), the bathroom, and the welcome message written in the garden when we arrived :-). HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kombigrrl, Owner at The Blue Moon B & B, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thanks very much, I'm glad you finally had sunshine whilst you were here and enjoyed your stay and visit to the Abel Tasman National Park :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
2.7 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
505 reviews
3.3 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chalets @ Terraced Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#3 of 4 in Motueka
125 reviews
3.6 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
186 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 24 in Motueka
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Moon B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Moon B & B

Property: The Blue Moon B & B
Address: 57 School Road | Riwaka, Motueka 7198, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once in a blue moon you find somewhere different... luxuriously spacious and sunny guest room with king size bed, en-suite including large, circular sunken bath with overhead shower, kitchen/dining area with microwave, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities etc, wood burning stove, peaceful garden setting, separate entrance and off street parking. A continental breakfast tray is provided to your room the night before, allowing you to wake and eat at your leisure, or choose our room only option and self cater or eat at the many cafes in town nearby. Enjoy a complimentary glass of wine and relax. A great place to base yourself to visit the local sights. Only 5mins drive from Motueka, 10mins from Kaiteriteri beach, 20mins to the start of the Abel Tasman National Park, 45mins from Nelson and 1hr from Golden Bay. Walk to the nearby estuary and sea for sunsets and birdlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Moon B & B Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing