We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful.....you must stay here”
Review of Awatea Tasman Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Awatea Tasman Bay
Ranked #1 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful.....you must stay here”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

You really absolutely must if you are going to go to the Abel Tasman or Golden Bay Area - I would thoroughly recommend spending a little more and having the cottage - we loved it and the views are spectacular. Scott and John are good hosts and if you get the chance join in puppy Molly's playtime ball throwing - it certainly wore my husband out chasing about the garden !! The cottage is beautifully decorated and everything is impeccably clean and well laid out - everything is here that you may need including CDs and a television ( though it's tough to tear your eyes away from the views over the property) - we did not see much of the main house but I fully suspect that the standard continues throughout the property. If you are lucky then strawberries ( homegrown ) or baked goods will be left for you to sample when you arrive back after a day out.
I cannot think of any reason not to stay here if you get the chance - please just book it - you will not be disappointed.
Sure the wooden construction makes a few creaky noises at times but it's all part of the charm - only thing I would say guys is that us ladies would like a decent sized hair towel to wrap around after a shower - other then that completely perfect ! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Definitely book the cottage - a perfect place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footballhells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for the suggestion of an extra towel or two (they will be in the bathroom cabinet the next time you visit!) and for your resounding endorsement of our Cottage with spectacular views. And also for pointing out that our location is ideal for exploring Abel Tasman National Park and Golden Bay.

Our evening ball throwing on the lawn next to our Cottage is certainly all the more fun when Molly (our small dog) gets to play with guests – she certainly enjoyed your participation when she was running circles around us, playing hard to catch, and we were all laughing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you want to enjoy a dream holiday in this region then you need to book here immediately. Stop reading this review now and just book your stay.
John and Scott together with their trusty furry side kick Molly were brilliant hosts.
The house itself is divine, spotless and perfectly situated to make the most of the expansive views.
Scott went out of his way to welcome us and our motorcycle. When we got caught in the rain Scott called and invited us to park and unload the bike in the garage to avoid getting even more wet. We were also able to hang our wet weather gear in there so it was dry and ready to pack the next day. (the little things really do make a huge difference).
We loved hearing about the journey John & Scott went on to find the location for and to create 'Awatea'.
Scott was informative and thorough in suggesting ideas for our two days in Motueka and he gave us great tips on dining out also.
We enjoyed a soak in the spa, we watched a great movie from their extensive collection in the media room (thanks for the popcorn), catching sight of the families of quail, walking around the gardens (beautiful plantings that compliment the house perfectly) and we very much enjoyed soaking in the view.
Thank you, thank you, thank you to you Scott and John for making the last 2 days of our Honey-versary (a honeymoon and first wedding anniversary) memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thanks Sally-ann for the lovely review, and Molly (our trusty furry side kick) says so, too ☺

Although we are one of the sunniest parts of NZ, we do get our rainy days – that’s why it’s so green in NZ (as you know). Still, we seem to recall you had a good day out visiting your friends in Golden Bay and even when wet, you nonetheless looked stylish in your leathers!

We enjoyed chatting & relaxing with you both in our lounge and we’re pleased you took the time to wander around the site, especially enjoying a glass of wine while taking in the view from our ‘picnic point’ overlooking the Motueka River Valley and Tasman Bay – we agree with you, the view is almost hypnotic, isn’t it? Hopefully, you can make it back some day and take in some more of the sights and activities around Abel Tasman National Park.

Thanks again. John and Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The 'event' that is the winding driveway of Awatea Tasman Bay telegraphs what you will find at the summit! Smooth surfaced, with a considerate passing bay, professional signage and then, when you go to park, the spaces of the gravel car park are divided with tufts of native grass. This sort of considered attention to detail is amplified threefold when you enter the front door of John and Scott's B&B. For anyone into art &architecture, eclectic collections & craftsmanship, there is much to be admired. Dare i say coveted. Then there is the view!

They have thought of everything. The 'Bayside Room' we stayed in was so well laid out, with a fantastic dressing room through which you access the hotel quality en suite. This detail ensures insulation from the noise of the bathroom. The dressing room has room for bags and plenty of cupboard space, even robes for the spa - for which we discovered hooks outside - told you they think of everything! The bed is very plush, the room full of homey additives and we found a personal note of welcome as well.

Be ready to add Scott and John to your list of friends, because unlike other B&Bs, you will find yourselves 'at home' and chatting casually. They'll also be spoiling you with freshly grown fruit or home made baked goods and you'll play with Molly, their gorgeous dog.. Don't be shy, Just ask because nothing's a problem, whether it's the spa, closing the outside blinds (you will need them because that sunrise - wow), or maps, restaurants, directions. Scott even gave us fuel discount dockets. It these personal touches that set them apart from even the best hotels.

Awatea Tasman Bay, as they say, you do get what you pay for. And it is the best.

Room Tip: The Bayside Room has the view :D !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedana111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for such an eloquent review, especially how you have captured the build-up to our amazing view!

We endeavour to share our home generously and openly with all who come & stay at our boutique Bed & Breakfast. Plus we love to hear about your travels and especially experiences with activities in our area and dining options we might recommend, so that our local knowledge is kept up-to-date.

Our hosting is all the more rewarding for meeting interesting & lovely people such as you both – we hope to see you again when you next visit New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

John and Scott really did a fabulous job of looking after us. Everything was immaculately laid
out with great attention to detail. We had the benefit of staying in the cottage with fabulous
views extending over the river and across the valley to the sea. Armed with cold ale or glass
of wine at the end of the day we truly unwound in this wonderful location. The cottage had
everything which is a reflection of the insights that both John and Scott have accumulated
throughout their professional careers and travelling experiences. Located in a glorious part
of NZ we will definitely return to sample the delights of the Abel Tasman area and the truly
wonderful hospitality we experienced.

Room Tip: The Cottage is really a mini sanctuary. Don't miss out
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review and great room tip! We definitely agree that our Cottage is a great place to unwind and also conveniently located so you can easily get out into the Abel Tasman National Park. And we very much look forward to hosting you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Where to start... we had a fantastic time at the Awatea Tasman Bay and cannot recommend it highly enough. We stayed in the cottage for 5 days, enjoying every minute of it. The Awatea is a 10-15 minutes drive from Motueka and an excellent base for trips into the Abel Tasman National Park. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful - well kept and a pleasure to the eye. The cottage is beautifully decorated with a lovely bedroom and an adjoining living room with state-of-the-art electronic devices and a great kitchenette. Hosts John and Scott have a huge DVD collection which we were welcome to take advantage of. Moreover there was a proper barista-style espresso machine and all the necessary kitchen equipment. If anything was lacking (I asked for an extra dish-drying towel) John and Scott were sure to provide it within seconds.
The cottage was cleaned every day and we were surprised with little things like freshly baked cookies left on the kitchentable or a bottle of bubbly (when our hosts learned that we were on our honeymoon). These little details and the chats to John and Scott during playtime with their adorable little dog Molly on the lawn (which we were welcome to join but by no means obliged to, of course) were what made our stay extra special. John and Scott manage very well to make you feel welcome without being intrusive. A little piece of paradise, really.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review and we are very happy that you enjoyed staying in our Cottage. We try to make everyone feel warmly welcomed at Awatea and we do that in different ways for different guest situations. And as you stayed with us for five nights on your honeymoon, we thought you might enjoy some bubbles!

We’re also pleased you took advantage of our proximity to Abel Tasman National Park; you don’t have to rush through breakfast to make it in time to your kayak or water taxi departure point (a 15 to 25 minute drive).

Molly also really appreciated the paparazzi style photo shoot that you did of her chasing the tennis ball – we think she tried extra hard to show off for your camera ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

John and Scott provide what most luxury hotels struggle to deliver and fail to appreciate: considerate, charming, relaxed accommodation, in a peaceful and unassuming (although effortlessly chic) atmosphere, full of the detail that matters. Whether it is the chocolates in the origami boat secretly deposited in your room, the extra power points just where you need them, changing the deflated tyre on your 4WD pronto to get you to that all important tour in Abel Tasman National Park in time (and offering to drive you there and pick you up as a plan B), conjuring up a back pack, water bottle and insect repellant last minute for your Abel Tasman track, ensuring a tastefully matched wine is at your hot tub almost before you are, having available a DVD collection to make MGM's movie catalogue pale into insignificance, or just remembering exactly how you take your coffee in the mornings (to go with the rather moreish bacon and eggs), John and Scott are consistently professional and thoroughly attentive hosts with a home you are jealous not to own yourself.

Room Tip: Take time to enjoy the hot tub with a glass of wine and the panoramic view of the plain below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJHutton, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
My goodness, Matthew, what a glowing review – we’re blushing! Your kind, thoughtful words remind us of why we chose this hilltop vantage point to build our B&B and self-contained cottage in 2009.

As for the service and little ‘extras’, well… we imagine what we would like when we stay somewhere special and then relate it to our own accommodation – it just comes naturally – if it didn’t, we wouldn’t be in this business.

In any case, we’re pleased you made it to your kayaking trip on time and enjoyed your day out in the Abel Tasman National Park, one of New Zealand’s very special wonderlands, which we’re very fortunate to be quite close to.

It is said that a joy shared is twice a joy, and we very much enjoyed sharing our special view and boutique accommodation with you both. And we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Warm and welcoming hosts that have created a very high quality property. Top views and well appointed cottage with everything you need to make an enjoyable stay. I get a sense that Scott and John are perfectionists, it shows through their fantastic accommodation. Highly recommend

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AJM92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
So glad you both liked staying in our Cottage (and running in the beautiful Abel Tasman National Park). We certainly try to make sure everything is as perfect as it can be! And please come back another time and stay for a bit longer so you can experience some of Golden Bay and maybe the Kahurangi National Park too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
20.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 24 in Motueka
102 reviews
3.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Nautilus Lodge Motel
Nautilus Lodge Motel
#4 of 24 in Motueka
118 reviews
3.2 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#3 of 24 in Motueka
57 reviews
3.1 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatea Tasman Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Tasman Bay

Property: Awatea Tasman Bay
Address: 204 Motueka River West Bank Road | Brooklyn, Motueka 7196, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Awatea Tasman Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A slice of heaven atop a hill overlooking the beautiful Motueka River Valley and Tasman Bay with views to die for, Awatea Tasman Bay offers a peaceful, private, relaxing getaway in comfortable, stylish, welcoming surroundings. There is one boutique Bed & Breakfast suite in the main house, plus a separate, one-bedroom self catering luxurious Cottage apartment (just next door to the main house); outdoor spa pool, breakfasts, views, close to Abel Tasman National Park, restaurants in Motueka, cafes, Nelson vineyards, and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Awatea Tasman Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatea Tasman Bay Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing