We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in New Zealand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awatea Tasman Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Awatea Tasman Bay
Ranked #1 of 26 Motueka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Best place in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying for a few days at this wonderful place. The Awatea Tasman Bay setting and inventive sight lines and building design helped to bring into focus the beauty of the surrounding area and made the stay comfortable. Scott and John were the perfect hosts, engaging, accommodating, mindful of privacy, generous, and providers of superb fare. The attention to detail was remarkable. It is as if Scott and John kept a notebook when traveling to record features they could incorporate when creating their own place for visitors. The room was very clean, and kept fresh with special touches each day.

The location, just a step away from the busier sections of the Motueka area, was serene and provided easy access to all the attractions of the region – wineries, Abel Tasman Park and the sea, art as well as craft studios and galleries, restaurants, etc. John and Scott are very knowledgeable about the region and can provide very helpful suggestions.

We stayed in a number of very good places in our 3 week stay in New Zealand on both the north and south islands. This was by far the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are so glad to hear that your stay with us was memorable and it was our pleasure to host you. Our aim is to give our guests privacy and the sort of comfort they expect at home, so it’s good to know we are achieving that.

And thank you for pointing out how convenient our location is to all the attractions in our beautiful area, such as the Nelson region wineries and Abel Tasman National Park, which we hope you’ll come back and explore some more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
101
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My partner and I have just returned home after spending a relaxing weekend celebrating my partner's birthday at Awatea, in the charming cottage. We found the accommodations, hospitality and views to be absolutely perfect - Impeccably clean and well appointed with every detail attended to - including high-end cookware, utensils and appliances.

As Americans, working and living in NZ, we have found many B&B's here to be something akin to staying in a spare bedroom in a relative's home. We were pleasantly delighted to discover that this is indeed not the case at Awatea. Our hosts, John and Scott were extremely hospitable and yet, comfortably unobtrusive - while being attentive and completely available to any and all needs. Among other surprising delights, we enjoyed homemade freshly baked bread and a delicious, hot breakfast each morning - to order!

On Saturday evening, after spending a day touring the surrounding area and wineries, we relaxed in privacy in the hot tub overlooking the valley below under the moon and stars. Sunday, our check-out day was spent fly fishing with a guide - when we returned to Awatea to fetch our car - we were again surprised to find coffee, tea, and homemade cookies waiting to send us off.

We can't say enough good things about this place and the hosts - exceeds expectations! Thanks to John and Scott for a spectacular birthday weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drkdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJHutton, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments about Awatea. Indeed, the spa (hot tub) is a very relaxing ‘activity’ after a long day touring the vineyards! ☺ And, we’re happy that you had some great scenery to use for your photography.

We hope you enjoy the next stage of your time in NZ and perhaps you’ll drop in to see us again when you next make your way down south; we'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerbusch, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Sounds cheezy, but I couldn't find a better header to describe our stay and make you read on through this review. There is actually not much to write, as we only stayed for two nights and there was nothing to complain about.

The Cottage is in a great location up on a hill with spectacular views. Do not close the curtains over night, instead let the first daylight wake you up and enjoy the beautiful sunrise.

The place is tastefully furnished and you get all the conveniences you are used to from home including free & fast WiFi - plus homemade welcome cookies (yummy!) and handwritten thank you notes, making you instantly feel at home.

This was clearly one of the big highlights on our 4-week NZ roundtrip and if we ever get the chance to come back, we will plan in more time for Awatea. Thanks to John & Scott - we really had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettinaGie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJHutton, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments, Bettina. We certainly agree that a winter sunrise at Awatea is very much worth watching – and it’s different every day!

We’d love to have you back some time; you can explore more of our beautiful Abel Tasman region then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent a week staying at Awatea Tasman Bay in the detached cottage. Everything about this property, and John and Scott who own and run it (+ Molly the dog), are simply FIRST CLASS. The accommodations are beautifully appointed, and the views from the deck(s) and room windows are spectacular. It is within easy reach of Motueka town, and just a short drive to amazing countryside and numerous walks in either Abel Tasman or Kahurangi National Parks. We would heartily recommend this to anyone looking for outstanding, well-run, and well-appointed accommodation in an truly spectacular part of NZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ&JLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJHutton, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your very kind review of your experience at Awatea Tasman Bay. It’s hard not to appreciate the fantastic views from the Cottage, isn’t it, and we were pleased that you were able to do so many of the fine walks we have in the area; it looks like you made good use of the “Walk Tasman” book we provided you to get ideas of where to walk. Molly says ‘hi’ and would like to see you again, too, on your next visit to New Zealand! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Awatea Tasman Bay has stunning views all around, in compassing Motueka river & beyond to Tasman Bay. Situated near to Abel Tasman national park where you can easily kayak around the golden beaches.The accommodation is like something from 'Grand Designs' with an impeccable finish. We stayed in the Cottage which was comfortable & spotless. There is both privacy or easy conversation & drinks, with great hosts John & Scott just when you want it.
Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and highlighting how easy it is to get out into the Abel Tasman National Park when staying in our Cottage. The National Park is certainly a great place for a day kayaking, walking, or just relaxing on one of the many golden beaches.

And thank you also for your thoughtful comment about the finish and design of our accommodation buildings – it is very much appreciated (though fortunately we did not have any dramas of the kind you may have seen on 'Grand Designs'!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our stay in Awatea cottage was everything we could have wished for for the celebration of our wedding anniversary. In a beautiful, tranquil spot overlooking Tasman Bay, Scott & John have turned hosting into a new art form. Their perfect eye for detail in making guests feel at home in every way is mind-blowing. At the same time we were made to feel totally at home and nothing was too much for our hosts. Our stay in Awatea Tasman Bay was unforgettable: thank you so much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It was fun to be part of your wedding anniversary celebration while you here, and we’re very happy to know you felt at home. Both of us thank you for the engaging breakfast conversation and insights into Hokitika (which we will have to visit again), and the lovely photos you took – especially of everyone enjoying breakfast in the sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We must say that New Zealand is not all about beautiful nature, but instead about the amazing people. The highlight of that experience was our stay at Awatea and getting to know John and Scott - the most wonderful hosts you can imagine. The accommodation, located on a hillside, is very modern and you feel they have a great attention to detail. We even got Christmas gifts that were spot on!

The accommodation is not far from the entrance to Abel Tasman national park with kayak trips and hikes. A drive over the hills to Golden Bay is definitely recommended.

Thank you for an amazing time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enresande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
What a great compliment! Thank you. We had a great time talking with you and the other guests at breakfast time, and also sharing our Christmas Eve dinner under the stars – it is that kind of experience that makes hosting so fulfilling. And we really liked the great photos you took and shared with us (and thanks for sharing one on TripAdvisor). We hope to see you both again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
19.4 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
17.7 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 26 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.3 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatea Tasman Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Tasman Bay

Property: Awatea Tasman Bay
Address: 204 Motueka River West Bank Road | Brooklyn, Motueka 7196, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Awatea Tasman Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A slice of heaven atop a hill overlooking the beautiful Motueka River Valley and Tasman Bay with views to die for, Awatea Tasman Bay offers a peaceful, private, relaxing getaway in comfortable, stylish, welcoming surroundings. There are two boutique Bed & Breakfast rooms in the main house, plus a separate, one-bedroom self catering luxurious Cottage apartment (just next door to the main house); outdoor spa pool, breakfasts, views, close to Abel Tasman National Park, restaurants in Motueka, cafes, Nelson vineyards, and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Awatea Tasman Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatea Tasman Bay Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing