We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of all our stays in NZ”
Review of Awatea Tasman Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Awatea Tasman Bay
Ranked #1 of 24 Motueka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

An absolutely perfect accommodation, with the most majestic view, run by gracious hosts.
Everything about the design and aesthetic of Awatea fits the needs of the modern traveler. We really appreciated the attention to detail and cleanliness. The location could not be any more ideal. Perched on top of a mount ovelooking the Tasman bay and the rich valley that borders Abel Tasman. Just minutes drive away from the national park, abundant cherry and apple orchards, the wineries and the beaches.
Scott and John were wonderful hosts that catered to our every need. Months before we arrived they provided us with all the information we required, even helping us book our christmas lunch. And they could not have been any kinder in person. They even got us christmas gifts! They truly love what they do, and we felt as though we were with friends.
It was the perfect spot to rest and regain our strength on a whirlwind NZ adventure. We had an absolutely perfect stay. Thanks guys
Sasha

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you Sasha for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are really glad that we made you both feel special while you were staying with us and we thoroughly enjoyed preparing and sharing our Christmas Eve dinner with you (and the other couple who were also staying with us). The evening was so lovely dining out under the stars along with great company and conversation, which made it very memorable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Scott and John gave us a holiday to remember. Having recently opened, they were extremely excited about their new venture and full of enthusiasm for their beautiful B&B. Simply stunning inside, the interior was modern and vibrant with a fantastic homely feel. The magnificent views cannot be overstated, and we wasted hours staring out over Motueka. Scott is a great cook, while John couldn't do enough for us. For that extra special getaway, the private cottage is an absolute must. The perfect location and the perfect hosts. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Awatea Tasman Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

It was great to see you both again in December (2012) – your second time staying here! For us, it was like friends coming to visit again, especially when we had time over breakfasts to chat, while sitting out in the sunshine on our east deck, overlooking the Motueka River each morning. We look forward to seeing you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

New Zealand is the land of the lodge, many of which can be over-priced for what they offer. In the Awatea Lodge near Motueka, we found not only excellent value for money but a level of personal service that would put many a 5 star hotel to shame. John and Scott have created a little piece of paradise on a ridge which provides outstanding views of the Tasman Sea and Abel Tasman National Park. Waking up to this view and fuelled by their excellent breakfasts provides the best possible start to a day on holiday. This is a wonderful part of the world and our hosts were able to provide great recommendations on where to go - be it walking in Abel Tasman park or something a bit more challenging in Kahurangi Park, visiting the sandy expanses of Farewell Spit right at the top of the South Island or ideas for local places to eat - although with the excellent the meals that John and Scott can provide on request, there is little need to venture out! Thoroughly recommended for the idyllic location and the quality of the welcome and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jokamo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

A bit out of the way to get to but well worth the effort. Scott and John - and not forgetting Molly -are wonderfull hosts. The house and cottage are very stylish and comfortable. Great location to tour the Abel Tasmin area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Kiwis are renowned for not staying in bed and breakfast accommodation but we were extremely pleased that we broke our own rule of thumb and treated ourselves to a couple of nights with John and Scott in Awatea Tasman Bay. The scenery is breathtaking and the accommodation is outstanding, but the generosity and graciousness of the hosts that make the experience so memorable. As other reviewers have noted, it is their kindness and attention to the needs of their guests that stands out. Their home is a delightful space to be in and you cannot but relax and enjoy your surroundings while there. A fabulous way to finish a holiday in the south island.

Room Tip: The cottage is self contained and if you are staying for a few nights it would be worth the extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

John and Scott are amazing hosts and built an amazing place overlooking the river and Motueka town. We are lucky to be here!

Outside of town center. Serene, clean, library, dvd's to watch, close to Abel Tasman park, offer breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keg123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Two couples just spent two nights at Awatea with John and Scott. We were humbled by the effort that they put into our stay. They were kind,thoughtful and generous hosts without being intrusive. The beds were amazing,and their local knowledge was wonderful. We had a meal at Riverside lodge thanks to Johns insight that Rita Angus had once lived there. Their attention to detail and marvellous interesting things that they are exploring with their property were keenly shared.
It is not every day you get to have such a fantastic experience in such exqusie accomodation.

Room Tip: Any room is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motueka
8 mi away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
254 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
691 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#3 of 24 in Motueka
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
428 reviews
6.6 mi away
Split Apple Lodge - Boutique Ecotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Motueka
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatea Tasman Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Tasman Bay

Address: 204 Motueka River West Bank Road | Brooklyn, Motueka 7196, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Motueka
Price Range: $242 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Awatea Tasman Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A slice of heaven atop a hill overlooking the beautiful Motueka River Valley and Tasman Bay with views to die for, Awatea Tasman Bay offers a peaceful, private, relaxing getaway in comfortable, stylish, welcoming surroundings. There is one boutique Bed & Breakfast suite in the main house, plus a separate, one-bedroom self catering luxurious Cottage apartment (just next door to the main house); outdoor spa pool, breakfasts, views, close to Abel Tasman National Park, restaurants in Motueka, cafes, Nelson vineyards, and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Awatea Tasman Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awatea Tasman Bay Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing