We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Happy Apple Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Motueka Garden Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nautilus Lodge Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Equestrian Lodge Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$41
$40
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$47
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hat Trick Lodge(Motueka)(Great Value!)
$42
$35
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waters(Motueka)
$178
$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon Manor Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Abbey Court Motel(Motueka)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden's Edge Lodge(Motueka)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
24
23
14
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
23
14
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tablecommon areastwin roomminute showerfree bikesvolleyball courtlarge kitchennational parkvideo gamesnew zealandbig gardenhot tubnice place to stayfriendly atmospheregreat facilitiesthank you so muchcomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 74 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I can say this is the worst ever backpackers that I stayed in NZ..

Small kitchen for 30-40 people sharing; 5 mins hot water shower, if you want more hot water, please wait for 2 mins and it will be reset for another 5mins, bathroom light will blackout! laundry 3 dollar, wifi connection is poor..

Actually this is a hostel for seasonal worker that work in the packhouse, at the morning about 6am and evening after work is the peak period in kitchen, please Q if you want to wash your stuffs, and there got no enough space to fit 20-30 people at the same time, book your table before start cooking!

Location is far from town centre about 3 km, still walking distance but you have to spend 30mins to reach there, for return you need to spend at least 1 hour.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

We are sorry to hear your experience here was not good, but thank you for your candid response.
During late summer, when fruit ripens, Motueka is a very busy town. Every backpacker in town is full as travellers come here and earn extra money while enjoying life in this beautiful region. At this time we are doing our best to support the local orchardists' need to get the fruit picked, while providing a pleasant, happy short term home for everyone. And during February, March and April the Happy Apple is a very busy place. We generally inform travellers of the situation ie best times to use the kitchen, short showers etc, and totally understand if they decide to upgrade to a private room. We apologise for not explaining the situation more clearly.
The good news is for the other nine months of the year Happy Apple Backpackers is quiet, warm and peaceful.
We are an eco hostel and advocate for the great outdoors. We promote energy saving practices so that future generations may live happily on a healthy planet. Hence the a 5 minute restriction on showers and timers on lights. We also provide free push bikes for guests.
Once again thanks for your comments.
"Whatungarongaro te tangata toi tu whenua". As man disappears from sight, the land remains. Janet and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had a bumpy start to our night's stay as I had been quite ill on the way to the hostel. When we got there, there was some confusion at reception as to whether we had confirmed the double room, even though we had emails stating the room was confirmed. The lady at the front desk was flustered, and implied it was our fault that the room had been given away, and offered us a three person bunk room instead. She then told me we weren't going to be charged for three persons (!!!) and said quite strictly that there was only 5 minutes of hot water in the shower. Not a particularly welcoming start. To be fair, we were only passing through and did not have time to stay to use the other facilities, but even if we were to return to the area, I'd be somewhat reluctant to try this again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27thstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Happy Apple Backpackers for two nights in December and really enjoyed our stay. The owners were very friendly and the facilities were all good. Nice big kitchen plus a really nice outside area (although it was raining when we were there so we did not use it but it would be great in the sunshine). We had a private double with our own bathroom which was pretty standard but nice and clean. They had two lovely little kittens when we were there who were very cute!
Motueka is a pretty small, quiet town but just a stones throw away from Abel Tasman National Park so a good place to stay for exploring the National Park or doing a bit of Sea Kayaking!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flicky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hostel is very good, kitchen, room and bathroom facilities are very well kept and maintained, the staff are superb and keep the hostel in tip top condition, the lounge area is in a covered outdoor area which is brilliant for when it's raining.

The showers can be a tad quirky as they are solar powered, so you need to press a button, then turn on the shower or else you'll be in for a shock, once you get round this you won't even know the difference although there is a five minute limit on it's use. I also found the rooms to be very cold overnight but I requested a second duvet which solved the problem.

Located about 5 minutes walk for Motueka and you're only 20 minutes away from a very accessible Abel Tasman National Park then it's the place to stay.

The only thing that lets down this hostel is the very bizarre atmosphere it seems to foster, everyone keeps themselves to themselves and there seems to be no social atmosphere which took the sparkle out of staying there, but this is a minor point and could be put down to the people who were staying there at the time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

What can I say other than this is a brilliant hostel. Hamish and Lisa are lovely and extremely friendly and helpful and the hostel itself has excellent facilities, good rooms and is very clean. We originally came for 2 nights and ended up spending the week in this great place, enjoying the amazing surrounding countryside and beaches (Kaiteriteri is awesome). Our room (double) was comfortable and had its own tv which was nice. The dorm rooms also looked very nice and spacious. We loved the outside space, with hot tub and room to kick a ball about. There are excellent indoor communal areas as well, with comfy sofas and a good selection of dvds for a quiet night in. It is a really friendly and relaxed place, and a great hostel from which to explore Abel Tasman. In fact, after we left to go to the west coast we strongly considered coming back even after driving for 4 hours (and we would have done had we not been tight for money for petrol!!).

All in all an brilliant place. Thank you so much to Lisa and Hamish; you are great hosts! Highly recommended. Great people, great atmosphere, great place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangeybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews