We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax at a fantastic hotel in a wonderful location ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Relax at a fantastic hotel in a wonderful location ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

What a wonderful location! Thoroughly enjoyed drive to Omapere and arriving at this relaxing gem. Plenty of room for children. Great activities in the area. Looking forward to being able to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie4043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    204
    91
    28
    6
See reviews for
97
308
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Having stayed at the Copthorne, Omapare in March 2010 self and spouse ventured back to stay 3-nights over Christmas 2010. By either a too-late booking, or something adverse written my earlier review, we ended up in a unit at precisely the other end of the buildings from previously. We know the older units have been in place since way back when there was only a restaurant with a few units added on the site. Things have greatly changed for the better. But!!
Our (older) ground-floor unit on this stay was not brilliant though certainly comfortable and spacious enough and gave ready access to the grass and water-front.
Hot tap on the vanity and the kitchenette cold tap urgently needed a plumber. The under-sink cupboard was so stained with old rust that we would put none of our goods in it.
We give 8/10 for the $80 Christmas Buffet Dinner which we found a little disappointing with certain food left to dry-out while on display. Our second stay supported our earlier view that the staff make the place for they are tops, ever helpful and ever there when needed. Our thanks to all for a relaxed holiday-stay.
We liked the idea of optional room service and hope this expands to other hotels as we are mostly happy with a towel change only

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

This is a pleasant place to stay while touring the "Bay of Islands" loop north of Auckland. Our meal in the restaurant was the best we had during a three week tour of NZ. Scallops, venison and lamb all cooked to perfection ( our experience of NZ cooking is that good food is overdone ). There is a great view across the bay to huge sand dunes. Our room was disappointing. There are rooms with uninterrupted views of the sand dunes and we understand that these are more spacious and better equipped. it was too cool to use the pool but it looked good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

This hotel is based around a beautifully maintained historic building, with modern sections that are sympathetic in design to the original architecture. The location is fantastic, right on the Hokianga Harbour, and the view from the terrace at sunset is spectacular. Our room was tastefully furnished, and had its own balcony, overlooking the water. We really enjoyed the restaurant food at dinner (especially the desserts). The prices were reasonable by NZ standards, given the quality of the food. Breakfast was also great, with individual orders taken at the table for hot food. The service was excellent at all times. We wished we had booked in for longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wfmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We got married at the Copthorne in Feb 09 and the service was amazing they bent the rules to our every request. Brownie on the bar was awesome. We have been back on several occasions as a couple and with the kids. The meals in the bar are fantastic value for money.

I would suggest the new rooms on the southern side of the hotel are lovely.

The hotel also has the ability to hire out a lovely self-contained unit that sleeps 7 (ish) for about $160 per night. It is just off the boundary above the gas station next door. Was awesome for our wedding as we put all the kids up there and got great value for money!

All in all I love this place and it transports me to holiday mode whenever I get there even though it is only half an hour drive from home.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbie3054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponsonby, Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Terrible storms lashing the country, 1200 skiers trapped on Mt Hutt for the night and we leave Auckland for the Jazz and Blues Festival www.jazz-blues.co.nz in Paihia and Russell.

Because we will be in the Far North we decide to have the first night at the Copthorne in Omapere so we can go on a Footprints Twilight Encounter www.footprintswaipoua.co.nz into the kauri forest that night.

We normally dawdle on road trips following any “historic site” road sign we see however this time we belted along all the way and surprised ourselves by getting there in two and half hours from Auckland so had time to visit Oranga Whenua, the Reforestation Project in the middle of the Waipou Forest.

From there we meandered slowly through what is probably the most beautiful road in the country, to Omapere. I am not normally a Copthorne kind of gal but it was gorgeous. Right on the water and I suspect every dining room and bedroom has a sea view. Wooden shutters separated a patio area where we sat reading the paper with a glass in our hand overlooking an expanse of grass across to the Hokianga Harbour. The ferries were still running although in that storm it was more pleasing to watch the water being churned up than venture out on it. The view alone would have been enough to get me back there but the place had all sorts of plusses.

From the bar area, the view was across the gorgeous harbour to the sand dunes beyond. The staff are all so friendly and helpful in an unpretentious way, so surprising for a hotel chain, as they normally have fawning, impersonal doormen. Although it is not really the local pub it was nice to see a woman come in and get her peter filled with beer by the barperson. This would be far too infradig for a big, city bar. When we returned tired and starving after our trip in the forest it was no trouble at all to get a wonderful meal in the dining room. We are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatPonsTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel has a beautiful location on Hokianga harbour. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the harbour, as well as an inner sitting area. Staff were friendly and helpful, and food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner. Would have loved to stay longer, but we were on a tight touring schedule.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omapere
1.3 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
2.1 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 13 in Dargaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.4 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
19.5 mi away
Pupu Rangi Nature Sanctuary
Pupu Rangi Nature Sanctuary
#12 of 13 in Dargaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Address: State Highway 12 | Omapere, South Hokianga, Omapere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Omapere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing