We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location that's hard to beat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I defy anyone to visit the Hokianga and not be struck by the sublime beauty of the area. Omapere is a great base for exploring the nearby attractions including the majestic kauri forests.
The Copthorne has a prime position on the waterfront and stunning views. We received a very warm welcome from the front desk and advice on dining options for the evening. Our sea facing room was large and well furnished. Fantastic terrace/balcony to relax and take in the views.The bed was comfortable and combined with the sounds of the beach we had a great nights rest here. Did not use the pool but the adjacent grounds looked very well kept. Unfortunately only there for one night but could easily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Kia ora Jetranger
Thanks for staying with us and for your fabulous review. Your opening sentence is very powerful and very true. We have an amazing location, something very precious. It is a great base for exploring our nearby attractions. Tane Mahuta, the amazing 2000 year old kauri tree is not to be missed. We run night encounters into the forest with local maori guides, from the hotel. This tour really is unique, spiritual, cultural and educational.
I hope that you enjoyed your stay in NZ and again thanks for visiting our little piece of paradise.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 564 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is not to be missed for persons in the north of New Zealand. The position is superb on the shores of the Hokianga harbour with views that are fantastic.
.Management and staff are to be congratulated on the great service they give and always with a friendly smile.
The meals are as good as you get anywhere and prices are reasonable.
Our room was large with comfortable seating and a kingsize bed .
We had a panic whilst there as a hand bag was left in the restaurant with Credit cards and money. In the morning when it was discovered missing a trip to the office and to much relief was advised that cleaning staff had found the item.
It is easy to fill in a full day or more in and around this area and a trip to the lookout is a must.

Thanks Copthorne for a great couple of days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairmont020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Kia ora Fairmont 020

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review.
Our Team here at the Copthorne are a real family and it is so important that our guests are well looked after. I will indeed share your feedback with everyone.
We are only a 3 hour drive from Auckland and would love to see you back in the Hokianga.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is ideally located right by the beach. Lovely terrace to enjoy the sunset, nice living room and well-equipped kitchen. The rooms are rather small but there is a good wardrobe for your clothes. Nice bathroom and independent toilets. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, nice food but small portions ans we had to wait for a looong time because of the arrival of a big group of cyclists!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie45720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise for the wait with your dinner. Although we had a large group, you are still very important and should have been served before the big group or offered something small just to help until your meal was served.
I do apologise for that.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for just one night. The room we were originally allocated had a limited sea view with a small outdoor seating area. There was so much noise coming from an adjacent property that we asked the management if they could do anything. Although the hotel was pretty full we were immediately moved to a room on the other side of the hotel with a stunning outlook across the harbour to the huge sand dunes on the far side of the inlet, and also had a bigger deck area; the manager also went to the 'noisy neighbours' and negotiated a dramatic reduction in the noise level which benefited many of the hotel's other guests.
Breakfast was good, staff were friendly and helpful and we would have happily stayed longer had our itinerary allowed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Kia ora TJT54,

Thanks for staying with us and experiencing our little piece of paradise.

Also thanks for sharing that you asked to be re located and that this in fact did happen. If there is a problem often there is a very easy solution.

Warm wishes
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in room 31 which has direct terrace access to the garden and wonderful sea views. There is also a lovely outdoor pool and decking areas which was very good. Breakfast was very good and staff very friendly and helpful. We only stayed for one night and room was perfectly adequate, but the bathroom was a bit basic though clean. Overall, a very relaxed stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank macvonsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Kia ora Macvonsunderland

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property. I am so pleased you had a relaxing time.
The Hokianga is a relaxing place and can be very healing.

We have had a wonderfully, warm summer.
Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

So beautiful. Thoroughly enjoyed the site and venue for our holiday. Had a wonderful view of the sea, with plenty of walking along the beach. The staff couldn't have done more....and where very polite and helpful. Breakfasts where very good. Good Kiwi tucker......cooked available....pastries...and cold breakfast food...and a good selection of dried and fresh fruits and plenty of breads for toasting. Restaurant also was very good, with prices fairly average, as you would expect a hotel would be. Lots of other options locally though, like the Schooner cafe, for coffee, lunches and dinner, etc.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view.......its worth it. Its beathtaking.....not to be missed, as it chang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Kia ora Marilyn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Hokianga is a wonderful place, steeped in history and just ideal for a relaxing get away. Not too far from Auckland, but just far enough.
There are a number of cafes in the Hokianga, all in fairly close proximity to the Copthorne, and all with amazing views. and great food.

Marilyn thanks for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our final night after a great month touring and seeing the amazing sights and experiencing the delights of NZ. We had hoped for something special. What we got was an uncleaned toilet - it took two hours to get this rectified;mould round a tired old bath; a strangely designed room which does not allow for ventilation while you sleep, unless you leave the sliding doors open; need for redecoration and repairs; views more of a wall than of the sea; a local youth begging for money as we tried to sunbathe; the worst steak I have had in NZ (the customer next to me also had to return his, saying his was inedible) and poor quality ingredients for an indifferent breakfast. Finally, much of the view of the ocean was obstructed by a wedding marquee. Also, a lack of concern and attentiveness from some staff. This place gets its trade too easily!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Kia ora Ted C

I am very sorry that your stay with us was so disappointing. I am quite disturbed by your comments and will endeavour to follow them through to ensure that this does not happen again.
We did spend a lot of money on refurbishments just prior to our Summer season. Unfortunately we did not complete all of our rooms. We will resume with the painting of our rooms very soon.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omapere
2.1 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
111 reviews
15.3 mi away
Waipoua Lodge
Waipoua Lodge
#1 of 1 in Waipoua Forest
429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
23.7 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 12 in Dargaville
62 reviews
22.0 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga

Address: State Highway 12 | Omapere, South Hokianga, Omapere, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
Price Range: $56 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Omapere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing