We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Nearby Hotels
$72
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Waipoua Lodge(Waipoua Forest)
$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay of Islands Country Lodge Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerikeri Park Lodge(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauri Park Motel(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets(Kerikeri)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveler rating
222
243
110
33
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
243
110
33
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dunesnew zealandstunning locationsuperior roomharbour entrancewine listan upgradeoverlooking the waterno air condinner menuamazing viewslittle thingslarge roomkauri foresta great place to staygreat roomlovely spot
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 617 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A lovely outlook across the harbour.

Bed in room 33 needs to be replaced to improve the sleep. Some extra cleaning in the bathrooms would help first impressions.

Restaurant was good.

Sun umbrellas around the pool would have been a good idea on the hot days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

PJC 18 Thanks for your recommendations. Umbrellas around the pool area are a very good idea and a small task.
Also how timely, new beds arrived on Friday.

Thanks for staying with us and I hope that you enjoyed Northland.

Regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel must be good, just try booking there, you might just be lucky! The setting of the hotel is almost unparalleled in New Zealand. Plonked abolutely on the shore of the magnificent Hokianga harbour, the hotel layout maximises the views across to the giant sand dunes at the harbour entrance. The beach in front of the hotel is "stony" at the waterline, but wearing your jandals/thongs/flip flops sorts that out, and into that beautiful clean water, or walk along to the sandy beach say 100m away. The hotel facilities are well maintained,and we found our room to be quiet with a balcony area. The bar/pool/dining areas are fantastic, all with THOSE views. The food quality was without fault, and the staff must go through quite a selection/training process, as nothing was too much trouble, all done with a smile. Plenty of local sights, the Kauri forest is a bit of a stretch away, but doable, trouble is you wont want to leave the hotel (best to do this on the way up or back - mind boggling)! Rawene has the ferry, no need to take your car over, Northland hospitality ensures a ride with a willing random passenger up to Kohukohu (great food, coffee, art galleries), and the cafe owner at the pub will give you a lift back! Opononi is 5mins away from the hotel, no Opo the dolphin any more unfortunately, but worth a peek. All in all, recommended without hesitation

Room Tip: Ground floor, to the right of the pool when looking towards the harbour
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stumpy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Kia ora Stumpy 79

Thanks so much for staying with us. The Hokianga is a a unique place, with loads of natural beauty, quite untouched and a little rugged. I am so pleased that you experienced, Rawene, Kohukohu and Opononi too. Our staff are hugely important to us, so thanks for your comments.

We would love to see you back at the Copthorne one day and now that our summer is coming to end, availability does lighten up..

Regards Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had unit right on beach. The view is magnificent. Out to sea and the sand hills.
Don't expect opulence. The units were clean and functional. The staff were good.
We were there for a wedding, which was beautiful. The wedding breakfast was very good and served very well.
Dinner the previous night was very good too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Kia ora Teela 1

Our hotel is great for weddings. The location is stunning and not too far from the main centres. We are often compared to Rarotonga or Fiji.

We would love to see you back again Teela 1.

Cheers
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our 4th visit and first in a hotel room as we had previously stayed in one of the beachfront motel type 2 bedroom units. The rooms were perfect, opening directly onto a patio and lawn with the beach only a few metres from our door. Our overseas friends were overawed by the location and facilities of the hotel. The dinner and breakfast we enjoyed were very good. The staff all very efficient and friendly. Be sure we shall return

Room Tip: Request ground floor hotel rooms. Can park car at your door.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Kia ora LorRog,

Thank you for returning to our hotel and for bringing your friends. It most certainly is a place to unwind.
We take great pride in our staff, so thank you for sharing your comments.

We do look forward to your return to the Hokianga in the future.

Warm regards
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

There is definitely only one Hokianga on this planet and this hotel helps you to enjoy every moment of being there. The location is stunning with great views across to the enormous sand dunes and between the harbour entrance.... where 2 taniwha keep watch. The staff are friendly and go about their work with purpose. The owners mix with their guests which include locals and visitors alike. The food is tasty with a great menu showcasing local produce. There are a few really good attractions and activities to enjoy nearby especially Footprints Waipoua, a must do experience in Aotearoa. Don't take my word for it go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korimako10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Kia ora Korimako 10,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. I am so pleased that you experienced our little piece of paradise and that you did one of our night tours into the Waipoua Forest. The Footprints Waipoua Guides really do offer a true cultural experience.
We would love to see you back in the Hokianga again one day.
Nga mihi nui
Pip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews