We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and would love to stay forever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
2 reviews
“Stunning location and would love to stay forever”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tranquil setting and a hidden gem I had no idea about being from the South Island, defiantly taking my family back here.
Comfortable bed, modern bathroom with hot and strong shower, felt like luxury to me.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovenewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Kia Ora

Thank you very much for your recent comments on tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky up here in our slice of paradise.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the North Island.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Brownie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    212
    98
    28
    6
See reviews for
103
323
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived on a windy day but our room was prtected from the wind and we were still able to enjoy the sensational view from our balcony. The room was clean and had a sensational view from bed. It felt so peaceful. We could even hear the waves at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs rooms and found them private and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Kia Ora

Thank you for your recent comments.

Sorry about the wind but I am pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself.

We are only just up the road from Auckland so when you get a chance dont hesitate to pop on back.

Unitl next time.

Regards

Brownie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our sea view room was a large airy room with a very high ceiling. The bed was also very large and comfortable. The coast view was through a palm tree in the garden and so not entirely unobstructed. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate. The kitchen area was also small but well equipped with a 2 ring electric hob and all the crockery and cutlery you could expect in such a place. The room had a small veranda equipped with a table and two chairs but was very close to the service road that passed between the rooms set in groups in the grounds. The veranda had adequate views of the estuary and garden.

Breakfast was of a continental type and as usual self service. The range of items on offer was wide and I particularly liked the variety of muesli on offer at this hotel. Dinner in the evening had a wonderfully wide choice of New Zealand wines and food. The food was prepared to perfection. The staff were very efficient, friendly and very helpful. As it is a touring hotel there are facilities to wash and dry clothes in a separate wash room in the grounds. This is very useful when on a multi week touring holiday as we were.

The hotel is well situated and has extremely good views of the estuary and when we stayed there the area was very quiet. What it would be like in high season is another matter BUT I doubt it would get noisy.

Payment for meals involved a credit card for which there was a $4 surcharge for the use of the said card. This was not advertised publicly at this hotel BUT was at another Copthorne at which we stayed later on in our holiday.

I feel this hotel was a good and value for money place at which to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Kia Ora makesholiday,

Thank you very much for your recent comments on tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear what we had on offer for you was suffient. We do pride our selfs on our local selcetion of food and wines, and friendly staff also.

I do apologise for the fact that you were not aware of the credit card surcharge. We did have a little sign at reception that we have changed now to make it more significant. Thank you for yor comments.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around NZ and made it home safely.

Hopefully you will be back one day and dont be a stranger call in for a cup of tea or a nights stay.

Regards

Brownie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here, in the older section of the resort, the beachfront cottages. This part has an air of faded luxury and some of the decor and fittings were in need of renovation but it was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a view to die for right up Hokianga Harbour and out to the Heads. The staff were uniformly friendly and courteous and nothing was too much trouble.
From our room, we could stroll round the beach front at low tide right to Hokianga heads, which was one of the best short walks in the area. It was also well located to visit the Kauri forests at Waipoua and the Koutu boulders (although the latter we found not as interesting at the Waiwere boulders, a little further east). Overall, this was a very pleasant place to stay and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjerkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora Bjerkana,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff. We are a little untouched paradise and very happy you had a chance to experience that.

With regards to the room I would agree with you and we are in the process of a few changes to bring them back up to the "luxury'standard.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Until next time...

Regards

Brownie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

the superior room had 2 king singles zipped together ... unevenly . Dreadful night ! and a 9 hour drive to be had the next day.
Advised of this at reception and rate was reduced by $20.00, which was the standard Wotif rate for the day anyway. Our thoughts were that a superior room should have had a decent bed.
Everything else couldnt be faulted ... apart from the dirty walls .
Tops for location and food was great
Lwmc Rotorua

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Kia Ora Iwmc,

Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.

I am truly sorry for your dreadful night and with a drive like that the next day must of been tough.

I hope you give us a chacne to restore your faith on your next visit to the Hokianga.

We do have other beachfront rooms with different beds.

Hope the weather is fine in Rotorua.

Regards

Brownie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a lovely day in the Hokianga. I booked well in advance after hearing about what a great place it was. Trouble was it was school holidays and there was a wedding on close by so it was quite full however we had a lovely unit. Not on the beachfront but still with a view. Although we had people in the unit next door it was very quiet. There were a number of people coming back to their units rather loudly late at night, but that was OK. The kitchen was rather tired and not very well equipped but on the whole a lovely stay. Food was great too.

Room Tip: I think they will all be good., We were on a corner and didnt have to face anyone else and only had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Kia Ora SadeWellington,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback.
I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and surroundings. Next time you come back you will have to try one of our beachfront rooms.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Brownie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September and would've loved to stay longer. We had a beach front room and the view is spectacular. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the dinner was superb, the bread and butter pudding was to die for!!! I would definitely recommend this to everyone travelling in this part of Northland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle B, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Kia Ora CazzNZ,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback.

I am glad ot hear you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed our specialty the bread and butter pudding. Next time you will have to stay longer.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and until next time...

Regards

Brownie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omapere
2.1 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
22.0 mi away
Kauri Coast Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
23.7 mi away
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
#3 of 12 in Dargaville
61 reviews
18.3 mi away
Birdsnest Holiday Home
Birdsnest Holiday Home
#7 of 12 in Dargaville
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga

Property: Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
Address: State Highway 12 | Omapere, South Hokianga, Omapere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omapere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Hokianga
Copthorne Hotel Omapere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing