We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of McKenzies

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omapere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKenzies
Ranked #2 of 2 Omapere B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Lovely and very clean cottage with everything you need. Beautiful seaview and only 30 metres to the private beach. Very helpful hosts. We can really recommend this accommodation.
Thank you Dog & Leonie.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilviandClaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

A beautifully presented property in a beautiful location a minute from the sea. What a find! Very kind of owner to give us concession card for the ferry. Convenient for the Kauri forests as well as going north to Cape Reinga.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumandEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Lovely spot down a narrow road to the beach. As others have already said, you just step out of the house down the drive and you are on the beach!

Doug and Leonie were very pleasant hosts and we enjoyed chatting to them over breakfast. Especially about their UK travels and Coast to Coast walking experiences! Our room, with a fridge and the separate toilet and bathroom (in a private part of the house) were all well equipped, clean and spacious. Lovely sunny patio area too.

Good spot for walking the coast track with some lovely secluded bays for a picnic lunch and swim.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Sadly we were only here for one night, it is a beautiful area and another couple of nights would have done it more justice. Access to the beach was literally at the front door so we could walk along the beach and enjoy the view at sunset.
The guest area had its own entrance and a small seating area outside, the bedroom was large, well apponted and very comfortable with seperate toilet and bathroom. A bar fridge was useful as we were carrying food items for lunches with us and for cooling that bottle of wine! Access to wifi was also a bonus. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious selection of jams, fruits, yoghurt, cereal and toast. Just a great place to stay.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BethAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in the self-contained cottage at McKenzie's in March 2013 as part of a nine week trip round NZ. The cottage was spacious, comfortable and well-equipped and proved an ideal base from which to explore the Hokianga Harbour area. Excellent value for money and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this state- of- the- art- B&B on our way up from kauri forests to Cape Reinga. Excellent downstair Corriander room has it´s own entrance and veranda (perfect for relaxing in late afternoon sun, viewing the sand dunes and sipping a glass of wine) and is only about 20m away from private beach- amazing!.
But this was the only B&B during our NZ- trip serving continental breakfast only. And- to be honest- we missed our cooked breakfast a little bit............
But all in all definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We only had 1 night in the B&B room - not long enough! Very clean, spacious, well appointed, very friendly, great position, peaceful. Lovely breakfast. Would highly recommend. The beach is almost at the door! The free wifi was a big attraction for us. The Brierleys

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brierley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McKenzies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzies

Address: 4 Pioneers Walk, Omapere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Omapere
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront section on Hokianga Harbour, great views, peaceful location. Two bedroom self contained cottage or large B&B room with private bathroom. Friendly hosts can provide local information. Close to restaurant. 20 minutes drive to Waipoua Kauri Forest. Free Wi-fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing