We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a rest after walking through Bac Ha”
Review of Ngan Nga Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lao Cai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngan Nga Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Lao Cai B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for a rest after walking through Bac Ha”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We did not stay at this hotel but our guide took us here for a cool drink and meal. Six of us sat under the fans and cooled off. There was no Airconditioning but the fans were okay. The food is really good and along with a heap of bottled water, cokes and beer we were shocked when along with six meals the total came to just over $20. Well worth stopping for a rest. The owner is also a bit of a character. The pancakes and honey are also very very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kippa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just about the only hotel in Bac Ha, it is central, with friendly staff. It has recently gone under new management.
Rooms are big though of varying qualities. Some of our group had huge rooms with fancy furniture while ours was fairly standard. TV didn't work, though that wasn't a problem for us as we weren't interested in watching it anyway. We had to ask for a remote for the air-conditioner though.
Bathroom is very basic with no bath or enclosure around the shower, so be careful of a wet slippery floor after showering.
There is no lift, so if you don't like walking up many stairs, ask for a room on one of the lower levels.
Food was average. We had dinner, breakfast and a banquet lunch here.

Room Tip: Lower level if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of Bac Ha. The rooms are big and clean. The bathroom is basic, with a shower on the wall. During winter time, it is so humid that the bathroom is always wet. But it is common in this area. The staff is friendly enough. There is a decent restaurant downstairs, always crowded so the food is fresh. There is a heater/AC in the room, a big TV (with barely 1-2 English channels). Rooms are quiet and some have a small balcony. If you don't mind the stairs (no elevator), I recommend a room on a high floor(5th++) for the view.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliekodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We had expected a dowdy guesthouse in a one-horse town. Ngan Nga was a pleasant surprise. The room was massive, clean and had air-conditioners (with heating functions to ward off the winter chill!) The firm mattress was a plus for us.

We had great hot showers. OK it was an "open shower space" i.e. no enclosed shower stall. But the bathroom is so big....and it was well-designed enough that the water did not flow all over the bathroom. The toilet area remained dry. We loved the alien-green toothpaste which came with the free toothbrushes.

The hotel is right on the main square. On market days (the only reason you should come to Bac Ha) grab a coffee + sit on the outside tables. You get a moving visual display of Flower Hmong, bringing produce to sell or going home with their purchases. Of course walking through the markets are more spectacular but the Ngan Nga's location is really good.

There is free WIFI in the rooms, at least we got it in our room.

For all that we paid USD20. How can you complain?

Room Tip: In winter, switch on the a/con. Flip the remote to 'heating' and push the temperature up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank springmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were quite pleased with the huge, clean room we stayed in for only $20, but as the previous reviewer noted, the beds are pretty hard (not unusual in Vietnam). My biggest complaint is a result of the comforters smelling extremely mildewy, to the point that we tossed them back into the closet and made do with the thin bedspreads provided. If I were to come back, I'd probably just buy a blanket in town, since the $20 rate is way better than the $50 I was quoted at the Sao Mai. Staff was very friendly and helped with transfers to Can Cau market and then to Sapa. But for the mildew issues, I would have given them a higher rating. Hopefully someone associated with the hotel will read this and fix the problem.

Room Tip: Just about every room is off the street, but the loudspeakers are still broadcasting early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce3404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The Ngan Nga is insane on Sunday lunch times as hundreds of tourists have their lunch there on package tours from Sapa. The staff are so taken up with the lunch time rush that they have no time to pay any attention to any guests in their rooms.

After fighting though the crowds the room is a relatively pleasant surprise as it was quite big, light and cleanish for US$20.

However the first impression did not last. Despite the staff swearing they had 24hr hot water, it was freezing cold. The bed felt like it was made of reinforced concrete and the sheets were more like duvet covers. The hotel is right underneath the town radio loudspeaker which blasts out propaganda three times a day starting at 6am (they also appear to give the English football results as I'm sure I made out the words Manchester City - but I couldn't understand the score!).

We left after one night and moved to another Bac Ha hotel (not much better but with hot water).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joaozinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lao Cai hotels

costa blanca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

After looking around in town at last we found a soft bed in a very nice room in Ngan Nga. The large and very clean room was a bit away from the main road and silent, but the accomodation is just in the center in best location. (We are an elderly couple and a bit sensitive about loudness.) And: high quality mattress which we were looking for. The service was very personal and we enjoyed our stay. In our mind top cost effectiveness. Myself, I had (first time) fun with a karaoke machine in the basement.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ville-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lao Cai
0.0 mi away
Ngan Nga Bac Ha Hotel
Ngan Nga Bac Ha Hotel
#1 of 11 in Bac Ha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cong Fu Hotel
Cong Fu Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bac Ha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sa House
Sa House
#2 of 11 in Bac Ha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Muong Thanh Grand Lao Cai Hotel
20.6 mi away
Sapaly Hotel Lao Cai
Sapaly Hotel Lao Cai
#2 of 12 in Lao Cai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
20.4 mi away
Aristo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngan Nga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngan Nga Hotel

Property: Ngan Nga Hotel
Address: 133, Ngoc Uyen St | Bac Ha, Lao Cai 19000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Lao Cai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Lao Cai
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing