We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!”
Review of Thien Hai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thien Hai Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Lao Cai
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We booked this hotel (due to recommendation) for just the afternoon, so that we could shower and rest before catching the overnight train back to Ha Noi. I am so thankful we didn't have to spend the night!

The hotel room and corridor could be described at best as filthy. The room was large, the hotel is in an excellent location, but did not look as though it had been cleaned in months. The smell that hit us when the door opened had me gagging.

The bed linen appeared somewhat cleaner, although a few stains. The carpet was incredibly dirty and had not had a vacuum run over it for some time. Other guests had similar complaints and the floor in the corridors were much the same so we know it wasn't just our room.

The bath doubles as the shower and is a free standing style pushes up against the wall, without any form of sealing around the edges. There is no shower screen, so I imagine the smell comes from the large amounts of water that would travel down the side of the wall and under the bath.

There were small cockroaches in the bathroom as well.

There was a large patch of black mould on the ceiling above the beds. Curtains could do with a clean.

After the state of the room, we did not chance eating in the restaurant so could not comment on this.

It's a real shame, because the location is perfect, the staff were lovely, the price was great, the rooms a good size but the cleanliness of the rooms are a huge let down.

Room Tip: If you value cleanliness, then this is NOT the hotel for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
1
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed for one night on business. Location is convenient for the railway station or bus stand both of which are right in front. Chose the largest room they had. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Free internet was fast. However, the room was in need of refurbishment - carpets had many stains. Breakfast is limited and not very good - service is poor. Overall though it was a good stay at a reasonable rate for one night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schueyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

With little time left, we were desperate for something to eat before boarding the overnight train to Hanoi. This hotel is on the square in front of the station. It was a '4 star' according to the sign out front. What a travesty! The staff were rude and miserable. The tablecloth was dirty as was the cutlery.

I had a pizza (crap) and my wife had a club sandwich (also rubbish). The restaurant toilets were foul - with only one disgusting towel shared between ladies and gents, and the toilets themselves were filthy.

During the night, on the train, my wife was seriously ill and did not get over this food poisoning for several days.

4 star - they have to be kidding. Don't go near this place if you value your health.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stavros45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lao Cai hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We were coming by night train from Hanoi. Of course it is our own fault that we weren't prepared. I thought hey, Lao Cai is the terminal to China, there ought to be some decent Hotels. We kept on stumbling from one shabby place to the next until we arrived back at the train station and found Thien Hai Hotel. They have nice rooms, good bathrooms and the TV even had Star Movies. We guess a little renovation couldn't hurt but then again, which Hotel in Vietnam doesn't. However it is definitely OK for one night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
332 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed in the Thien Hai Hotel on a recent business trip to northern Vietnam. I just wanted a nice comfortable place for a transit, waiting for the train to Hanoi, and this place was sufficient. The location is pretty good if you are catching or coming off a train, only about 50m away. There are plenty of shops, restaurants, and tourist info around, as this is the jumping off point for trips to Sapa and into China.

However, being next to the train station does have its drawbacks, namely the noise of the trains going by. The hotel is fairly poorly sound insulated, but fortunately there aren’t too many trains through the night. The 5am arrivals are the ones that will get you. The room was quite nice, average size, with 2 single beds, computer desk, chairs, fridge, and flat screen TV with English language programming. The wood furniture was nice enough, the walls and carpet were clean and tidy, but there was a slight musty odor upon check-in. The AC worked great, which you’ll be thankful for in the 36 degree heat. The bathroom was OK, but the shower stall and door were poorly designed, allowing half of the shower water to seep out and cover the bathroom floor. Fortunately there was another drain out there. Also no soap holders or shelves in the shower stall. I found quite a few long black hairs around the bathroom as well.

The free breakfast was adequate, with a range of western or Vietnamese choices. All rooms have free WiFi internet (a bit slow) which is a nice bonus. Check-in and check-out went very smoothly and quickly and the hotel service was acceptable though not outstanding. Very little English is spoken.

Overall I thought that this was a decent, comfortable place to stay, especially if you are just transiting through and plan on catching the train. It represents good value for a mid-range hotel (US$30), though don’t expect luxury. Yes, I would recommend it to other travellers and I would stay here again given the opportunity. Likes: good AC, good location for train station, free WiFi. Dislikes: trains at 5am, shower water all over the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lao Cai hotels
1.0 mi away
Lao Cai Star Hotel
Lao Cai Star Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lao Cai
7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sapaly Hotel Lao Cai
Sapaly Hotel Lao Cai
#2 of 12 in Lao Cai
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kim Cuong Hotel
Kim Cuong Hotel
#1 of 21 in Lao Cai
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muong Thanh Grand Lao Cai Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lao Cai Galaxy Hotel
Lao Cai Galaxy Hotel
#6 of 12 in Lao Cai
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aristo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Hai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Hai Hotel

Property: Thien Hai Hotel
Address: 306 Khanh Yen Street | Pho Moi Ward, Lao Cai, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Lao Cai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Lao Cai
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thien Hai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing