We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy Room”
Review of Cat Ba Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cat Ba Hostel
Ranked #10 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cat Ba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Staff was pretty friendly and helpful with questions about the local area however the room was absolutely terrible. Mold all over the place, bathroom shower was broken, AC didn't work. Had to wash all of our clothes after leaving here because the smell of mold/dampness had permeated anything. Definitely check out room before checking in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

That place is a good value for money. 2 minutes walk to the pier and 15 minutes walk to the beach. Quiet place.

Rooms are really nicely furnished with a TV set with a great choice of English channels.
The owners are very helpful and speak v. good English.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madelaine_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a basic hotel rather than a hostel...I don't think that it has dorms but at $6 or so per person in clean private rooms with attached bathroom it represents good value. The room and the bathroom were of a good size and there is breakfast available (not included) and also one computer for general use. The owner and his wife (I think) were extremely obliging. At this price, rooms are often not "made up" every morning but they were here.The only slight downside is that it is several minutes walk from the waterfront up a road that is a slight incline...keep going and, just as you think you have missed it, it will be there on your left side about 300 metres from the waterfront, surrounded, unfortunately, by a lot of barking dogs which seem harmless enough. If you ask local people for the Catba Hostel they will direct you to the Catba Hotel...I understand that it is changing its name to the Huong Ly Hotel but I don't suppose that the people of Cat Ba will know that either. I had prebooked 3 nights and when I wanted, at the last minute, to extend by one night I could not as they were fully booked even though it is the "off season" and places on the waterfront, more expensive, had plenty of vacancies. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was here for two nights, staying alone. Big room with bathroom, good value for money (5$ per night in March 2012), friendly staff not trying to oversell you tours if you are not interested. Not sea view but only a few minutes away from the harbour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DreySweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staff vey friendly and helpful people , I stayed in this hostel for 3 night room is nice and clean but no sea view they not in front he sea but window with mountain view it is ok 3 minute to he sea front from hotel , many backpacker closed this one . I would recommend this one to other one come to cat ba island

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed there in a few days ago. It is located in the peace place, not so good location and a little poor room condition but service was excellent. Hotel is always full though I know that most of hotels there close awaiting summer comes. Manager can speak English very well and really excited to stay. Good recommendation to other tourists.

Room Tip: Call or Email them how to get there before
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigseaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Firstly we have paid much more in other hostels and not received the same standard of quality as this place. It is excellent value for money, great location and very friendly staff. They don't speak the best English but try so hard and even have Google translate on hand! The owner however does speak very good English and is always eager to help. The rooms were fairly small but very clean and comfortable and I loved the blankets on the bed, super cosy. They had films on tv which is a welcome luxury and the shower s were always hot. We never booked any tours mainly because we were there to climb but saw their price list and they seemed to be the same as everywhere else which is nice to see as we have been overcharged by many hotels before.
If you want somewhere affordable to stay then this is your place. I'll definitely be staying here again when I return, which I'm sure I will because I'm hooked on Cat ba :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xiciex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.4 mi away
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
0.2 mi away
CatBa Central Hostel
CatBa Central Hostel
#3 of 85 in Cat Ba
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cannon Fort Cat Ba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Catba
0.1 mi away
Catba Central Hotel
Catba Central Hotel
#6 of 85 in Cat Ba
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Pont Bungalow Hostel
Le Pont Bungalow Hostel
#27 of 85 in Cat Ba
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Ba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Ba Hostel

Address: 160 Nui Ngoc street, Cat Ba 35000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cat Ba
Price Range: $10 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cat Ba, the most beautiful and the largest one in the archipelago of 1969 islands, is a natural world heritage amid the Ha Long Bay and was recognized by UNESCO as a World Biosphere Reserve on April 1, 2005. Lying about 60km northeast of Hai Phong city, Catba is awarded by nature primeval beauty with mountains, hills, seashore, forest and caves. All of them create wonderful and charming scenery.Standing in the tourist center of Cat Ba, the catbahostel , thanks to its favourable location, has a magnificent architecture with a leading diversified system of service of the island that always attracts tourists. With 15 standard , equipped with up-to-date facilities (such as a system of international telephone, a TV network with more than 20 channels transmitted via satellite, air conditioners, free Wi-Fi and comfortable bathrooms, the Catbahostel is always a reliable address for tourists when they come and stay in Catba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Cat Ba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing