We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hostel nice staff”
Review of Cat Ba Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cat Ba Hostel
Ranked #1 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Cat Ba
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap hostel nice staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staff vey friendly and helpful people , I stayed in this hostel for 3 night room is nice and clean but no sea view they not in front he sea but window with mountain view it is ok 3 minute to he sea front from hotel , many backpacker closed this one . I would recommend this one to other one come to cat ba island

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    41
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
5
49
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed there in a few days ago. It is located in the peace place, not so good location and a little poor room condition but service was excellent. Hotel is always full though I know that most of hotels there close awaiting summer comes. Manager can speak English very well and really excited to stay. Good recommendation to other tourists.

Room Tip: Call or Email them how to get there before
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigseaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Firstly we have paid much more in other hostels and not received the same standard of quality as this place. It is excellent value for money, great location and very friendly staff. They don't speak the best English but try so hard and even have Google translate on hand! The owner however does speak very good English and is always eager to help. The rooms were fairly small but very clean and comfortable and I loved the blankets on the bed, super cosy. They had films on tv which is a welcome luxury and the shower s were always hot. We never booked any tours mainly because we were there to climb but saw their price list and they seemed to be the same as everywhere else which is nice to see as we have been overcharged by many hotels before.
If you want somewhere affordable to stay then this is your place. I'll definitely be staying here again when I return, which I'm sure I will because I'm hooked on Cat ba :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xiciex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

me and a freind are travelling south east asia and we have been to serval hotel on our travels throughout vietnam and this is bay far the most welcome, comforrtable and at ease we have felt. the staff are very freindly, fair and generous. rooms were cleaned every day and food was great.

we stayed here over the chinese new year 2013 and we never had to pay for a single drink or food and they took us right in to there culture and celebration.

i would advise anyone going to cat ba island to definately stay here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rees c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had booked at this hotel some weeks before arriving to Cat ba island. The day prior I emailed this hostel to check in and confirm that all was set since I was traveling with my family. The owner emailed me back saying that he was sorry but he had to cancel my reservation because he decided to do some renovations and needed the rooms. He then proceeded to invite me to his hotel to have some tea and see his renovations. I was irate! How can someone do that to a family, just cancel the day prior arrival? I then asked him to help us find accommodations at other hotels, but never heard back. I was very disappointed having read such positive reviews about this hotel. I felt that he did not consider his customers at all and did not try to either inform in advance to give me time to find something else or to help find other accommodations. This demonstrates very poor judgement and care about customers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank developer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Cat Ba Hostel, private room for $10 is exceptionally good value. The owner was friendly and incredibly helpful; he even drove around the town looking for me when I left my passport behind! I was very relieved to have been spared a significant inconvenience.

The room was clean, comfortable and had all the services you might expect from a hotel. He even gave us a free ride to the kayak hire place, which turned out to be one of our highlights in Vietnam.

Could not recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: The twin rooms are actually small doubles (4ft beds) - much more comfortable than an actual single b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Value for money, double room for $10! Can't ask for much better. As you will be spending most of your time on a boat, beach or trekking. It's all you will need, friendly and helpful staff as well. With added bonus of sorting out trips and transport at the hostel...couldn't be easier!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedwards321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.0 mi away
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
#13 of 19 in Cat Ba
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#8 of 19 in Cat Ba
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#4 of 19 in Cat Ba
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
CatBa Central Hostel
CatBa Central Hostel
#2 of 69 in Cat Ba
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phuong Mai Family Hotel
Phuong Mai Family Hotel
#11 of 65 in Cat Ba
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Pont Bungalow Hostel
Le Pont Bungalow Hostel
#21 of 69 in Cat Ba
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Ba Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Ba Hostel

Property: Cat Ba Hostel
Address: 160 Nui Ngoc street, Cat Ba 35000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cat Ba, the most beautiful and the largest one in the archipelago of 1969 islands, is a natural world heritage amid the Ha Long Bay and was recognized by UNESCO as a World Biosphere Reserve on April 1, 2005. Lying about 60km northeast of Hai Phong city, Catba is awarded by nature primeval beauty with mountains, hills, seashore, forest and caves. All of them create wonderful and charming scenery.Standing in the tourist center of Cat Ba, the catbahostel , thanks to its favourable location, has a magnificent architecture with a leading diversified system of service of the island that always attracts tourists. With 15 standard , equipped with up-to-date facilities (such as a system of international telephone, a TV network with more than 20 channels transmitted via satellite, air conditioners, free Wi-Fi and comfortable bathrooms, the Catbahostel is always a reliable address for tourists when they come and stay in Catba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cat Ba Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing