We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful Location, Especially at Night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Pearl Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Cat Ba
Concord
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location, Especially at Night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A very nice location and at night Cat Ba explodes and has lots to see and do. The staff was very friendly and helpful... Room was basic but clean. Breakfast was average but did what it needed to do and filled our stomach. We reserved and paid for a room with view and didnt get it, SO quickly pointed that out and got a nicer room. View as great We only stayed one night

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    25
    16
    7
See reviews for
22
55
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Oct 2012. Large hotel, centrally located along the sea front in Cat Ba. $50 per night for a deluxe twin. Good size room and bathroom. Buffet breakfast is served in the 11th floor restaurant which has excellent views over the bay. Close to Asia Outdoors who should be your first point of contact for Kayaking and Rock Climbing on the island.

Hotel Manager - Jimmy - was very helpful in arranging our transfer back to Hanoi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seapearlhotel, Chủ sở hữu at Sea Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Thank you very much for review. Have a good time and see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in Sea Pearl hotel for two days during our stay in Vietnam.

Our stay didn't start too pleasantly, because the reception staff had some major problems finding our reservation. They didn't seem to know at all what they were doing and the whole situation made us feel like they didn't even believe that we had a pre-paid reservation... Kind of weird because in this huge hotel we saw only 4 other guests during our stay and the hotel seemed empty. At last, after asking the same questions a hundred times over and seeing our receipt five times they "found" our reservation on we got the room key.

The room was ok. Big, with a nice bed and tv. The room wasn't too clean. Especially the bathroom seemed like it hadn't been cleaned properly and that it hadn't been used for moths. Our first day there it rained very hard, but the cleaning ladies came to the room at ten o'clock anyway. I tried to ask them if they could come a little bit later because of the heavy rain. They seemed to understand and said ok, but never came.

Sea Peal has a disco that plays "pounding tecno music" as someone mentioned earlier. NO-ONE goes to the disco but the music is still on 'till midnight and makes the rooms shake. We were on the 5th floor, I don't know where the disco is located but if the music comes from the first floor bar I pity the people staying in the lower floors.

The breakfast wasn't anything special. It's located in the 11th floor, so the view is stunning, but it was kind of sad to eat there, because it's a huge dining room but there were only us two. We ordered from the menu, they have mostly western breakfast. In addition to the food you can choose juice OR coffee/tea. We chose juice and got the smallest orange juices on earth. The whole breakfast experience was kind of funny though.

All and all the hotel was ok, but considering it's price it wasn't a smart choice in Cat Ba Town. The coast line is filled with hotels, we heard from other travelers that many of the hotels were nice and the prices are soooo much cheaper than in Sea Pearl. We stayed our last night in Cat Ba in an other hotel for 8 dollars and the hotel was almost the same as Sea Pearl, maybe even cleaner. I recommend to people traveling to Cat Ba to consider the option of just going there, walking in to a nice-looking cheap hotel and asking to see the room before making choices. Sea Pearl stands out from the other hotels because of it's try to be something better with it's disco's and decorative lights but I'm pretty sure you'll spend your money paying for the essentials in a hotel, not for Christmas lights over the main entrance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel is pretty nice as you would expect for the money. Real pluses are the staff and the location. Its right in the middle of Cat Ba harbour, bang opposite the hydrofoil to hai phong. I bought the wrong ticket for the hydrofoil and the staff at reception came out in the rain to help me with the vietnamese translation and sorted it out in no time. Only minus is breakfast was very average and I wouldn't eat dinner there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mic_check12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a Halong Bay trip, I was originally due to stay at another hotel but was put here instead. I won't complain though as this hotel is newer and I had a very pleasant stay. The room was big, clean and had a great side view of the sea. My only criticism would be the noise level at night, even from the 9th floor I could hear the booming music from the hotel night club on the ground floor!

The breakfast selection was pretty impressive and they even have chefs cooking noodles or eggs of your choice. The staff were friendly and helpful too,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Echo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanhpham, Owner at Sea Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otrebusy, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were in Sea Pearl hotel during our 3 days trip on Ha Long. Hotel is new, clean, has big rooms and friendly, helpful stuff. Restaurant gives delicious food. Thay realy care about theirs customers. We recomend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dentart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanhpham, Owner at Sea Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I think we were the only guests. The staff was great. They charged us $55.00 and we didn't haggle. Nice, fast elevator and a great view from our room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_T_92102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanhpham, Owner at Sea Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.2 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#2 of 17 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#5 of 17 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
25.5 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#1 of 17 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
0.2 mi away
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
#17 of 17 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pearl Hotel

Property: Sea Pearl Hotel
Address: 219 Duong 1/4 TT, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Pearl Hotel is the first 3 star international hotel in Cat Ba.Imagine a hotel where the most important thing is you. A dream location in which adults get their rewards. A location only for people who know what they really want. A place for lovers of life. Discover a new universe where anything can happen.Discover a new world at the Sea Pearl Hotel, located on the privileged Cat Ba island in Vietnam. The elements of nature blend on this stunning island to form one of the world’s unique natural paradises.In these heavenly surroundings, Sea Pearl Hotel offers all facilities and services proper to a Resort of its category.Guests will marvel at the perfect harmony and atmosphere of the hotelIn our SPA we are devoted to enhance the overall well- being through a variety of professional service that encourage the renewal of our customers mind, body and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing