We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap hotel with awesome view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Cat Ba
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel with awesome view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at one of their standard rooms for some nights during our stay in Cat Ba.

There is nothing too exciting about the room other than maybe the balcony with a beautiful view over the bay. It's clean and also spacious. Only downsides were the missing shower tub (bathroom is more of a wet cell), the missing insolation (very cold nights in December) and the really really hard beds.

Staff is super friendly and they also showed us different rooms before we booked them.

So it maybe wasn't the creme de la creme but for US$50/night for two people this was a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms and categories above have a shower tub if you should wish for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nik_getmygrubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
15
63
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived looking forward to a hot shower but the shower just didn't work and there was no hot water. Room was ok, floor had hair and dust on it. Nice view but we have spent two days cruising already so the view is not that important. Had dinner at a local restaurant. There was noisy karaoke going until reasonably late from a function downstairs. Was not worth the price but had no choice as it was included as part of the tour. There was no heating in the room and it was winter so I had to put three quilts on the bed to be warm and make a hot water bottle from an empty water container.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cat Ba hotels

Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Our Check in was after a hiking tour. Shower was not possible hot water was missing power for heating wasn't available. After taking a shower your hole bathroom is like a lake. Light in the room is not comfortable. Breakfast was poor. Wifi was available but slow. At the evening there was a Samsung party which was very noisy. City center and beach is not far away. View to the city and harbour is ok. Bad englisch skills.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smalltowncruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night as part of the Grey Line tour of Ha Long Bay.
Clean, and comfortable rooms apart from the very hard beds. Good views from balcony.
Easy walk into town...good photography at the end of town water front.
Very kind and courteous staff.
Food was very good.
Well recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Try to avoid this place, however, you may not be able to, because it comes as an extra night when you book a Halong Bay cruise. The other reviews are correct...the rooms are big, but everything is run down to being worn out. Having said that I had a bad experience with the Management over the taking of my passport. They said they needed a photocopy. I said I would give them a copy because I carry spares. That wasn't good enough. My passport was thrown into a heap with about 20 others on the Reception desk. I asked when I could have it back and was told I would get it back when I checked out. About 2 hours later I went past the Reception desk to find it unattended, but guess what?...all the passports were still sitting on the desk in a pile. The Receptionist finally returned and that's when the trouble started. After a lot of demanding I finally got my passport back. The tour guide and Manager tried every excuse under the sun; together with threatening me, and advising me to not go out onto the street at night. This would have to be one of the worste hotels I have ever come across.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobartmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Room- very spacious with balcony overlooking the harbour. Room comes with wifi, tv, air on and ensuite with freebies.
Location- 20 min walk from centre, 15 min walk to the beach, 15 min taxi to ferry. Located in a quiet area.
Staff- friendly and helpful.
Food- we stayed here on the 2nd night of our Halong bay tour. The dinner was not great, not enough for 6 people. Buffet breakfast had a lot of options from western food to Vietnamese food.
Hotel- very clean and big with great views over the harbour. Very safe
Cat Ba- boat cruise along Halong bay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This three star hotel should be two stars at best. Elevator didn't work properly, no hot water (only lukewarm), breakfast food that should have been hot was cold.  Limited food available. Breakfast was supposed to be until 9:00, but they started taking food away at 8:45.  Not a good value.   It did have a nice view of harbor. 

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank csinger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.4 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#5 of 18 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#2 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
25.7 mi away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#6 of 18 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
0.4 mi away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#9 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island

Property: Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
Address: 268, 1-4 Street | Cat Ba Town, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing