We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Views, OK accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Cat Ba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Views, OK accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had one night here. I guess it's OK by a 3 star standard in Vietnam. Don't expect at lot though, beds are rock hard, room very basic, but view looking over the harbour are to die for.
Breakfast is limited and very lacking, they really need to update this service as having a breakfast coupon reminds me of school dinner tickets.

The staff however are extremely polite and friendly. Credit to the mgt team.

Overall Cat Ba is well worth the trek.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8ith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    51
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
50
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel came with a tour package. The superior rooms have a small balcony, the larger deluxe rooms have a better bathroom but no balcony. All have great sea views to the fishing port. The beds are very firm, like a board. Breakfast was included and was reasonable ordering from a menu. Bars and restaurants are walking distance. Very little traffic to contend with.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel stay was included in our Halong Bay Tour so pricing was not an issue. The hotel seems new so it was very clean & modern with an amazing view of the Bay from our room balcony. The beds however, were less than comfortable - kinda hard ...
We thought the front desk staff were a bit rude upon checkout. I had stained a face towel ( from a small nosebleed ) & they announced this to the lobby filled with our tour group, then charged us 40,000 Dong for it ; didn't mind paying it...( if they had only taken us aside.....quite embarrassing)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reane617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was included in our trip to halong bay, so im unaware of the price. We found the hotel very nice and clean, with a lovely view over the bay from our balcony. Well situated away from the bars so it's nice and quiet at night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcusmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hung Long Harbour Hotel for two nights as part of a tour package. The price was very reasonable.

The room itself was fine, seemed clean and well-kept. There is no shower enclosure in the bathroom, just a drain in the floor -- we didn't have a problem with this, but just so you know to expect a wet floor in there after showering.

The location is great, overlooking the bay; it was quiet, as there is essentially no vehicle traffic. Our room had a small balcony. It was a five-minute walk to the Cat Ba restaurants, or five minutes the other direction to the Cat Co beach.

Oh, but the beds were awful... the hardest beds I've ever encountered, not much different from sleeping on the floor. Fortunately we carry our backpacker air mattresses with us as insurance against uncomfortable hotel beds, and we really needed them here.

The continental breakfast was adequate -- one morning it was a buffet-style with a selection of hot and cold items, another morning it was items ordered from the menu because the hotel was not busy enough to justify setting a buffet. We were satisfied with both breakfasts. We did not eat dinner at the hotel.

Other than the beds, it was an okay place. If it weren't for the beds I might even give it a very good. But those beds were brutal -- better take an air mattress!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RangeviewRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Whilst the facilities of the hotel were adequate - we were with a large group of students - when one of them reported the shower head broken due to a cheap/dodgy fitting, the hotel staff charged us for its replacement refusing to reissue our passports until we paid. Our bus was waiting so we had little choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We came upon this hotel as part of a package and it provided us with a very clean, spacious room with an amazing view of the harbour. The bed was stunningly hard. and did not suit some of our party at all. I found it ok but a hard bed doesn't particularly worry me. It was quite a shock to sit down on it though - no give at all! The staff were rather off hand. All of them needed to take a course in the Virgin Airline school of customer service. What a difference a cheerful face at the Reception Desk can make. The included breakfast was ok but nother spectacular and once again, the demeanour of the staff needed some attention. I have found most hotel staff in Vietnam to be very friendly and accommodating so this was definitely a bit of an exception. A potentially very nice hotel needing a staff makeover and a bit of character added.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.4 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#2 of 17 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#6 of 17 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
25.7 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#1 of 17 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#4 of 17 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#13 of 17 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island

Property: Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
Address: 268 , 1/4 Street | Hai Phong City, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing